We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit .. booked again”
Review of Walpole Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Walpole Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great visit .. booked again”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as all budget hotels where full for a certain weekend in margate ... booked then realised that the hotel had been on the hotel inspector tv programme !

No probs though ... plenty of free parking outside , room spotless and breakfast was great .

We have booked again

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brasero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    154
    34
    18
    10
See reviews for
120
235
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Another trip to Kent, so of course another stay at the Walpole Bay, this time with my wife.

Nothing has changed apart from refurbishment of the bedrooms!
The staff - still wonderful! The food - still lovely! The hotel as beautiful and unique is ever!

I have heard that some people visiting the area stay at Premier Inns and the like!

Why would they do that??

A lovely stay - thank you to Jayne and her staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MapManEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night as a prezzie. I had room 302 on the top floor, four poster suite with a balcony, I loved it!

The staff here are really friendly & helpful but not at all 'in your face', which I really liked.

I found the food perfectly cooked & piping hot. I tried a Walpole cream tea, three course evening meal & fantastic breakfast, all excellent!

Thank you to the Walpole Bay Hotel for a lovely relaxing stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

we arrive at the hotel first of all for a talk on the hotel by jane a very good talk
i saw the hotel inspector on tv
after my visit i enjoy the whole place it good to be able to go back in time of the good old day to see our things have changed the staff were all very friendly
every one on the coach from enfield enjoy the event
it was kind also for me th have picture take with the great jane and her son
tony mbe

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is a hotel; far from the ordinary, quirky; there are shades of Torquay in the service, but in an endearing way. I believe this hotel only has two stars; so it does not have a lot to prove. The breakfast is excellent, evening meals are Wetherspoon quality but for Weatherspoon prices, so good value for money (with inexpensive wine). There is an exhibition of napkin art that is worth seeing and a collection of local objects on the first floor that has some interesting exhibits, but has outgrown the available space and pervades the floor with a rather decrepit smell. An elegant old building that needs at lot of work; or beautiful anachronism that is moment in time, but like all moments it is fleeting so go and stay.

Room Tip: Go for a balcony that should come with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julianeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed tremendously meeting our hostess recently , many thanks for room 302,wow,and with a lovely four poster,sitting room and balcony.We danced at the Winter Gardens, previously researching the Walpole Bay Hotel for its tremendous history and ambience.
Your efforts are impressive.

Regards Geoff and Janina

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geoff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing West Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My wife and I spent an excellent wednesday evening at The Walpole Bay Hotel attending a family wedding (18th September). Justin and Jane could not have done more for the bride and groom, Jessica and Phil. Justin and Jane tailored the experience to exactly what the couple wanted. It was certainly not "here is one we prepared earlier" This was a bespoke wedding in the truest sense of the term.The quality of the food was out of this world, and the portions were excellent. From my experience of other weddings this is often the part that lets down the Bride and Groom by spoiling the day. Not so at THe Walpole Bay The management were outstanding in terms of quality, eye for detail and boundless enthusiasm, I cannot imagine future wedding couples in Thanet going anywhere else. When you add to the whole package the uniqueness of the venue then it is a truly winning combination. Add to that the "Turner Sunset" bursting in to the dining room just as the proceedings were finishing and we witnessed and experienced a truly unique moment. Thanet is soon to boast a plush 5* Boutique Hotel so I understand. All I can say is that it is going to have to pull out all the stops if it is to knock over this "Jewel in the Crown" Well done to all concerned you really put together a winning combination and sustained the performance over 48 hours but I suspect it is always like that. An extremely satisfied customer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maljb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
1.1 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
710 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
360 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
623 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,085 reviews
1.5 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#8 of 12 in Margate
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walpole Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walpole Bay Hotel

Property: Walpole Bay Hotel
Address: Fifth Avenue | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Margate
#1 Best Value Hotel in Margate
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Walpole Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you enter the Walpole Bay Hotel and Museum, you step back in time to the ambiance of a bygone era. This historic Margate hotel was built for discerning guests in 1914, extended in 1927 and is now being lovingly restored to her former glory by the Bishop family. The Walpole is a family run hotel that strives to achieve a friendly home from home atmosphere combined with a warmth and timeless elegance. From the relaxing flower decked terrace with sea views, to the Edwardian style restaurant, you will rediscover a passion for the finer things in life. And to make your visit complete enjoy a ride in our 1927 Otis trellis gated lift, that services every floor. So if you are looking for hotels in Margate, you will not find a more welcoming, warm, charming experience anywhere else, so come and enjoy your time in Margate, Kent and reserve your room at the Walpole Bay Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your Walpole Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walpole Bay Cliftonville
Hotel Walpole Bay
Walpole Bay Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing