We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our stay special”
Review of Walpole Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Walpole Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Made our stay special”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight for my wife's birthday with our 18 mnth daughter. They upgraded our room to a 4 poster suite, a travel cot for our daughter with her own towel bale laid out on the bed :) arranged a baby listening even though this is not a regular service so we could enjoy dinner together in the restaurant. A delicious breakfast finished off by the proprietor coming down to the dining room to personally wish my wife a happy birthday. To say they went out of their way to make us welcome would clearly be an understatement. Thank you to all the staff, every one of whom made it a delightful stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    146
    32
    15
    7
See reviews for
110
217
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Great night here ... stayed by chance last time .. this time it was the first place we booked ; just a brisk walk from the winter gardens (fratellis gig)

Northern soul night was great too

Breakfast as always was superb

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank brasero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I spent a weekend at the Walpole Bay Hotel in Oct. and had a wonderful time. It was like stepping into the past in the best of ways--cream teas, Sunday lunch in a beautiful seaside dining room, and a lovely proprietor, Jane Bishop, who made everyone feel at home. My room was was a light-filled suite with a sitting room and balcony with a view of the sea. The canopy bed was comfortable, but what impressed me the most was the large, renovated bathroom that gave me modern comforts in an otherwise Victorian setting. After a hectic week in London, it was wonderful to come to Margate to relax--and the hotel let me do just that. Travelers who expect modern decor and a fitness center should stay elsewhere, but those in search of atmosphere couldn't do better. There's even a museum of Victorian and Edwardian memorabilia and a gallery of guests' artwork done on hotel napkins. (Disclosure: a painting by me will soon join the collection.)

Room Tip: I was up on the top floor, which I preferred because of the light and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hopeanderson09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This is a truly wonderful hotel/museum. We thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality and were charmed but the incredible collection of 1920/30/40s paraphernalia ranging from old radios, to jewellery, to sewing machines, to frocks, to cameras, to you name it! There are a fabulous selection of decorated napkins upon the walls and some slightly naughty Tracy Emin sketches. The evening meal and breakfasts are very good. The bedroom was fine with real furniture made of wood - not plastic and the bathroom was quite adequate. We enjoyed the view of the sea and at night the lights of the wind turbines on the horizon.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedbergh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Lovely attentive service meant we could both simply put our feet up. Breakfast was lovely, they even met my wifes special order.

Staff were friendly and professional at breakfast, check in and check out. The housekeeper seemed lovely too.

Location was ideal for the sea and as a base for getting to London too.

We will be back

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank proff d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed at the Walpole for 2 nights and had a great time. Pretty certain this hotel is not for everyone but we thoroughly enjoyed the unique décor and ambience of the hotel. Our room was excellent - in keeping with the style of the rest of the hotel but very clean and newly refurbished. Breakfast , afternoon tea and dinner were all delicious and beautifully presented and staff really friendly and relaxed. There is even a snooker room if you fancy a game during your stay. Would recommend to anyone looking for a slightly different hotel experience.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hammerette77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Me and my family stayed here this summer as we have recently bought a family home in the area. We noticed that this hotel was on TV with hotel Inspector , she implemented some great ideas so we decided to book our stay.

First impressions outside we're good but we went in side and I thought I was in a musty museum. Staff were friendly but the manager lady was to old fashioned and Sturn !! We never made to feel welcome. The food was good and breakfast was amazing. The decor and the rooms are far to dated !!!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
1.1 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Smiths Court Hotel
Smiths Court Hotel
#6 of 12 in Margate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#4 of 10 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
1.5 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#8 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walpole Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walpole Bay Hotel

Property: Walpole Bay Hotel
Address: Fifth Avenue | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Margate
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margate
#1 Best Value Hotel in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Walpole Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you enter the Walpole Bay Hotel and Museum, you step back in time to the ambiance of a bygone era. This historic Margate hotel was built for discerning guests in 1914, extended in 1927 and is now being lovingly restored to her former glory by the Bishop family. The Walpole is a family run hotel that strives to achieve a friendly home from home atmosphere combined with a warmth and timeless elegance. From the relaxing flower decked terrace with sea views, to the Edwardian style restaurant, you will rediscover a passion for the finer things in life. And to make your visit complete enjoy a ride in our 1927 Otis trellis gated lift, that services every floor. So if you are looking for hotels in Margate, you will not find a more welcoming, warm, charming experience anywhere else, so come and enjoy your time in Margate, Kent and reserve your room at the Walpole Bay Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Walpole Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walpole Bay Cliftonville
Hotel Walpole Bay
Walpole Bay Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing