We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding anniversary gone bad...”
Review of Walpole Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Walpole Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wedding anniversary gone bad...”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have booked this hotel for our 10th wedding anniversary. We did email hotel before hand about this special occasion , but no one mentioned anything when we arrived. For a small family run hotel I think it is quite important to recognise such a things, as it makes guests feel special. Hotel itself is quite charming, like an old English hotel: a bit dated though, but still nice.
The room has a wonderful sea view, which was very nice.
The worst part- the bed and the mattress. It was such a poor quality. My husband is quite tall and big, so he could not sleep on the bed at all, as when he lay down, he almost felt the bed base, as the mattress is very old, used and just poor quality.
In the morning, still tired after sleepless night, we were looking forward to breakfast. But we were quite disappointed. It was less than average: no fresh orange juice, the bacon looked more boiled, rather than crispy. The scrambled eggs looked like they were made out of egg powder and not fresh eggs. We did asked for the fried eggs and got them, which was ok.
I am sure Walpole Bay can do much better, as it is a piece of living history.
And I hope we will be back one day, as we love Margate.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oxanal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    151
    33
    15
    9
See reviews for
117
225
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Walpole Bay is such a charming unique hotel. If you want super chic corporate, then go elsewhere. This is a lovely quirky 'Living museum' and we really appreciate its eccentricity and charm. It even has it's own napkin display of art!

Lovely location in pretty sea viewing spot about 15 minutes walk from the town centre - you get the best of Margate without the night noise.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

A shining example of top service and old fashioned charm. Every member of staff is helpful and friendly. Our room was spotless and very pretty.
It is in a great location and boasts some wonderful views. It was very, very busy on arrival for Sunday lunch which is always a great sign.
Breakfast was tasty and fresh.
Highly recommended for anyone who wishes to have a stay in a more unusual and charismatic hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valreyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed at the Walpole on 27th May 2014. It is quite an unusual hotel as it is also described as a museum. Unfortunately, this fact is not part of what is good about the hotel. The staff are very courteous, the breakfast was excellent and the room and everywhere generally was clean. The highlight for me was having a lovely accomplished pianist playing in the dining room at dinner. As for the downside If all the clutter and, I have to say quite a lot of junk, was not in the hotel it would look and feel much better. We were shown on a screen when having coffee after dinner a fairly long DVD of the owner telling us all her history, the hotel's history and the story of the museum pieces, etc., in a lot of detail. I think this should have been shown in a separate room and maybe at another time for those who wished to see it and then those who didn't could have carried on talking at the table.

I did not sleep well at all either due to door being shut noisily, maybe can't close them any other way, and a generator that kept me awake virtually all night until 4.30 am.

Room Tip: I was in room 106 which was fine except that I was kept awake by the sound of a generator which is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Violet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My Wife and I had a last min thought about getting away so I looked on the web and saw the reviews...... Quirky , yes...... one of the best nights sleep ever, the sea air knocked us out..... the walk along the cliffs beautiful, the sunny weather helped of course, the breakfast was self service, and top notch, the bedroom was on the third floor, sea view, small but the bed linnen was crisp and clean.
After at fist entering the room ( 310 ) and prior to that walking along the "living museum" coridoor it was clear that it was going to be an "experience" the wardrobe and chest of drawers in fact all the furniture in our room was 1950's I would guess, and on reflection was a part of the whole deal....... the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. looking around the rest of the floors was interesting to say the least and the lift was fun.....
if there was anything that could have been better was the walk in shower could do with some work as the pressure was poor.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and i have just returned from a three night stay at the Walpole bay. On arrival you feel like you've been taken back in time. Our room was clean and we had a lovely view out to sea.The food in the hotel was excellent ( couldn't fault it ). My only gripe is that it sometimes took a while to get served at the bar. But all in all it's worth going to visit to sample the food and wander round the hotels floors looking at the nostalgic pieces that have been collected.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antony g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

An old fashioned hotel with helpful staff. Our room was lovely with a view of the sea from the little balcony. Bed was comfortable but pillows less so. The shower water pressure was loe so we had baths instead, but maybe due to third floor. The hotel is also a museum so a bit cluttered for clumsy people. A very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandT_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
1.1 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
695 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
356 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
603 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,069 reviews
1.5 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#8 of 12 in Margate
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walpole Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walpole Bay Hotel

Property: Walpole Bay Hotel
Address: Fifth Avenue | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Margate
#1 Romantic Hotel in Margate
#1 Family Hotel in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Walpole Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you enter the Walpole Bay Hotel and Museum, you step back in time to the ambiance of a bygone era. This historic Margate hotel was built for discerning guests in 1914, extended in 1927 and is now being lovingly restored to her former glory by the Bishop family. The Walpole is a family run hotel that strives to achieve a friendly home from home atmosphere combined with a warmth and timeless elegance. From the relaxing flower decked terrace with sea views, to the Edwardian style restaurant, you will rediscover a passion for the finer things in life. And to make your visit complete enjoy a ride in our 1927 Otis trellis gated lift, that services every floor. So if you are looking for hotels in Margate, you will not find a more welcoming, warm, charming experience anywhere else, so come and enjoy your time in Margate, Kent and reserve your room at the Walpole Bay Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Walpole Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walpole Bay Cliftonville
Hotel Walpole Bay
Walpole Bay Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing