We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lives up to its reputation...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caffe Alma - CLOSED

Caffe Alma
Price range: US$2 - US$31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating
Description: Caffe Alma was created in March 2013 and set out to provide excellent food and service on site. In August 2013, following 5 months of excellent reviews we decided to become mobile and spread our tastes and shared them with a wider community. Now we provide, several cooking courses for individuals and organisations, we cater for your event and cook dinner for you and your guests at a location of your choice as well as operating on a pop up basis. For updates please check our website to be aired very soon. watch out for the Caffe Alma team popping up near you!The original location remains a food business with no affiliation or association to Caffe Alma whatsoever! See you soon! Shanda
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lives up to its reputation...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

After seeing the positive reviews on here I decided to pop in and give lunch a try with my husband and a couple of our friends. I must say, it was very good! My husband had the sticky ribs and dumplings which he thoroughly enjoyed and I had the Jerk Chicken Burger which was very delicious... fresh breast of chicken coated in jerk spices which was nice and hot but not overpowering. This was served with sweet potato fries which were equally tasty. Portions are very generous and the pricing is also very reasonable. A must if you visit Margate.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Orla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must if you are in Margate!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We went here on a Friday evening to see a live band and were extremely pleasantly surprised!

Caffe Alma is difficult to pidgeon-hole... It is a cafe,bar and music venue all rolled in to one. The surroundings are relaxed and very comfortable, the staff are lovely and couldnt do enough for us and the food was outstanding! I had what could possibly be one of the best sandwiches I have ever eaten, and the rest of our party had the Carribean tapas which was fantastic. Very good value for money and cooked to perfection.

The place also worked well as a music venue as the sound was great and you could see whever you sat. However, the room was sound-proofed so if you didn't want to listen to the band you could sit in the bar/restaurant upstairs and not be disturbed.

If you are ever in Margate, for whatever reason, I would highly recommend this place to have a drink and somewhere to eat. Definitely worth staying for the music too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Amazing food, the most pleasant staff, also very helpful. Made very welcome. Wouls highly recommend !!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dribblydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margate kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great as always!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

As always, great food, great service, and a great atmosphere. Spotlessly clean, and the staff are very happy to cater for our every need.
I would recommend Alma's to everyone!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Goz9t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“new management are great!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Due to unseen circumstances, Caffe Alma, as it was known, has new management.
The new management are the nicest, most courteous, customer orientated couple you will ever meet. The premises are always spotlessly clean, and the food is amazing!
If ever you are in Margate, I highly recommend giving it a try. You wont be disappointed!
TOP QUALITY.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gozzy_Allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe Alma also viewed

Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 
Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 
Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing