We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best thing in Margate by far”
Review of Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

My wife's mother booked us a surprise stay and half a mile away I was worried. The hotel is great, however, with friendly staff and decent food. The rooms are the best part. We had a sea view with balcony and the bathroom is superb. Margate is abysmal at best but the Sands is an oasis of quality in a sea of decay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank njod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

706 - 712 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

At last a bit of class comes to Margate. Excellent hotel with great views over Margate main sands & out to sea. Rooms and hotel have been finished to a very high standard with very helpful staff. Location gives excellent access to Margate old town and the Turner Gallery, great for exploring the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

What a beautiful Hotel in a great setting in the bay. My room was excellent, with everything you need. The food was tasty and of a very high standard. A jewel in Margate and we are definately going back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flairlovesit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

a lovely place indeed. all round quality - thoroughly recommend to all.
We found the restaurant excellent and good value.
Margate needs a little TLC hopefully this will help a tad!
Great little hotel that I will definitely return to!

Room Tip: go out of season and get the best rooms overlooking the sea at a great price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shazhalKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

What a gem of a Hotel. The whole Hotel is a testimony to style and comfort. The staff are welcoming and attentive. The food was exceptional and our one night stay was a complete pleasure. Come on Margate - let everything else be brought up to the same standard as Sands Hotel.

Room Tip: We chose a sea view room which was beautiful, I imagine the other rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gangy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Been meaning to go since opening, finally made it for the first (hopefully of many) JazzNights..was one of the worse days weatherwise,but The Sands was so delightful we didn't care, staff, ambience, room was all excellent...music was fabulous...and all only 15mins from home, but will still stay there, as so lovely...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynsturges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed over night using the hotel for afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast. All three exceeded my expectation. The staff were all very helpful and cheerful. The owner who I met at reception was very amiable and has clearly created the sands to put something better into the area which I think he has done. The rooms were nice with a lovely en-suite bathroom. I think in todays market it was good value considering the restaurant has a spectacular view, along with a roof dec which allows you to see for miles. I noticed a poor review posted yesterday. All i can say is, I cannot imagine what they expected but the hotel try very hard to make your stay a welcome one. I would recommend it, and will stay again. We met a couple who are having their wedding there in august. Exceptionally low rates to take over the whole place. IF YOU ARE GETTING MARRIED, EXPLORE THIS AS YOUR VENUE.

Room Tip: book early and if you have a car, ask for a permit early as they are limited
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
0.4 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
385 reviews
1.1 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
548 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
16.3 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
427 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Hotel

Address: 16 Marine Drive, Margate CT9 1DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Margate
Price Range: £99 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing