We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent overall service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent overall service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

A Birthday treat made extra special by the excellent service provided by the friendly staff, in a lovely hotel on par with some of the best hotels I have visited in Las Vegas. The Super Sunday deal is excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Choose any of the rooms overlooking the seafront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    122
    33
    15
    5
See reviews for
95
367
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at the sands hotel margate for my husbands birthday .the hotel is in an excellent position over looking the beautiful sands of Margate. The decor of the hotel was beautiful even little details with a very relaxed and comfortable feel about the place. The staff were very friendly and attentive we would defiantly go back.

Room Tip: Sea view room would be recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Locky05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I must say my wife and I have stayed in some lovely hotels and this is right up there with the best , the staff , food and rooms deserve 5 stars the girl on reception also deserves a special mention for going out her way to organise my booking at such short notice, would I stay again , can't wait !!!! Steve

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberlydiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We have Just stayed here
Best place to stay margate
Recommend room with sea view fantastic
Had a nice meal and really enjoyed our weekend lots of local places to vist broadstairs , Canterbury , westgate well worth a vist

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnjohn212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was our 2nd trip to the Sands. The first bring the August Bank Holiday 2012. This time we booked a Valentines Package for just my husband and myself. We had a deal, where we stayed two nights but ending up staying another night on the Sunday special deal. Every meal, breakfast and afternoon was delicious. We had the attic room with sea view, and it really was stunning. We will certainly be back. Margate has improved just a little since our last visit. But even if you just want to chill out and venture outside then this hotel has it all.

Room Tip: They do special deals on one thursday in the month and on a sunday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nwmeredith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Hotel is situated on the edge of the old town which has some great 'Brighton'esq' shops and cafes. The rest of Margate is less appealing. Handily situated for visiting other places such as Broadstairs, Whitstable and Canterbury. Hotel stunning, no expense spared and food excellent too. Only critiscism is around lack of available parking despite having booked several weeks out. We were directed to the local Morrisons car park which we were not comfortable leaving our car in overnight, plus would have had to have returned to put an extra ticket on very early on the Sunday morning. Staff all friendly but service could have been better. Plates not cleared before coffee brought out after dinner or breakfast. All in all, beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a seaview. Stunning views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

I booked the Valentine's package as a surprise for my husband and was so pleased I did. We both had a great time. Don't be put off by the fact it's in Margate - it's definitely on the up! We thoroughly enjoyed a long walk along the seafront after being coupled up indoors with all the rain.The room was amazing (we were in a classic sea view); beautifully designed with gorgeous mirrors, lamps etc and a stunning bathroom. We had breakfast, dinner and afternoon tea and all of them were beautiful and served by friendly staff.

We're sure this is a hotel to watch and look forward to seeing Margate lose it's image if being 'a bit seedy' as my friends referred to it.

Tip: Don't forget to write down the address as we missed it 3 times driving along the seafront!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
0.4 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
4.3 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#3 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
16.3 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Hotel

Property: Sands Hotel
Address: 16 Marine Drive, Margate CT9 1DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing