We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of hotel”
Review of Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gem of hotel”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

On arrival at Margate with rain and grey skies it was the most amazing feeling to walk into Sands Hotel. The furnishings, detail and view from the restaurant were unbelievable and then the room. Despite looking over the town it was of such a high standard but next time would love the view. The only small issue was that we couldn't get a light lunch before attending a wedding as there was no such menu which is something they need to think about as everybody doesn't want a large lunch. Had an evening meal at the hotel and of course breakfast and the food was excellent, beautifully cooked and of a very high standard. If I ever go to Margate again or know somebody who is I would highly recommend this Gem of a place.

Room Tip: Sea view any floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    130
    38
    19
    5
See reviews for
102
395
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was our second visit to the Sands Hotel. We were lucky to be in a sea view room - would definitely recommend this as the best option, especially in good weather. It was a glorious evening and sitting out on the balcony was just gorgeous. Dinner in the restaurant was lovely. I had delicious sea bass followed by a lovely panna cotta. Wonderful night's sleep in very comfy bed and great breakfast to follow. A really very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridget55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Very friendly staff - super helpful and accommodating - we needed to find some food for our toddlers, Grace and Leanne whipped up a very nice supper for our kids, delivered straight to our room with the barest of requests! They supplied a baby monitor so that we could eat in relaxation, as opposed to our original plan of each of us dining separately. Thanks again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NYLONGRRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

As other reviewers have noted, Sands Hotel occupies a splendid position and the general appointments and décor are of an exceptionally high standard (note the beautiful plaster cornices on all the ceilings, for example, and the many pieces of thoughtfully-chosen art work). The room we occupied was spacious, quiet and well laid out, and the bed was quite the most comfortable we’ve ever slept in in a hotel. The restaurant offers imaginative menus (with one proviso – see below), and an interesting, reasonably priced wine list. Our three course dinner with wine for two came to about £80.00.
We felt that the relative newness of the establishment and the comparative youth and inexperience of its staff made for a somewhat amateur and unpolished presentation; so the following reservations aren’t so much criticisms as well-disposed and, hopefully, helpful observations.

WEBSITE
The hotel’s website is attractive and comprehensive, but (at least on our computers) doesn’t display properly: the bottoms of menus are out of sight and can’t be accesssd.

STAFF
We booked online and received a phone call a few days later. To my surprise, the young woman caller addressed me by my first name, and then identified herself. She wanted to know if we’d like to reserve a table for dinner on our first evening. Having confirmed that we should, I asked her if she usually addressed prospective guests so familiarly, and suggested that a formal approach would be more courteous.
On our arrival the receptionist asked if, among other things, we’d like our curtains drawn and our bed turned down in the evening – we said we should, please. When she showed us up to our room she commented on one of our suitcases and asked where we’d bought it. We noticed that a light fitting under the mirror had become detached, and, when she was unable to replace it herself, said she’d arrange for it to be fixed. Until we left, after three nights, however, it hadn’t been attended to, nor were our curtains ever drawn or the bed turned down.
All the staff members we encountered were young and apparently inadequatly trained. They were friendly but often over familiar. None of them wore a name badge and there was no managerial presence: it looked as if there was nobody in charge.
As we left to go out one evening, a young woman who’d been staffing reception stepped into the lift with an uncovered tray of food. She wanted to go up but chose to ride down with us first. To our suggestion that the plates should be covered, she explained that it didn’t matter: they were for herself. Then she asked us what our plans were for the evening…

ACCOMMODATION
There were no drawers in the room – a serious and inconveniencing omission.
The bedside lamps were set on short oval-topped plinths, too small for anything more than a tumbler and a watch. Why wasn’t there a drawer unit on each side of the bed? Must convenience be sacrificed to style?
The handsome bathroom was equipped not only with a shower but also with a bath – surely an unnecessary extravagance these days when water conservation is so high on the agenda.
There was no bidet – but perhaps that wasn’t surprising.
The floor of the shower was finely textured but still treacherously slippery when wet.
There were no grab handles on the bath – indeed, we overheard an elderly man complaining that he’d been stuck in his bath and had difficulty getting out.

AMBIENCE
The hotel’s atmosphere of chic sophistication is compromised by the use of muzak, much of it inappropriate and ill-considered. During our second breakfast, we had to endure a unison female chorus accompanied by flute performing a meditational Chinese eight bar chant which was endlessly repeated – for over half an hour! It was followed by an equally interminable male voice Gregorian chant. Neither was suited to the style and period of the hotel, nor to the time of day – and certainly not to the tastes of the guests. The hotel management might ask itself whether canned background music is desirable.

RESTAURANT
There are too few vegetarian options on the menus. One day the lunch menu offered the same vegetarian dish among the starters and main courses. When we pointed this out, the waitress said the chef probably hadn’t noticed!
There seemed to be no logical method of table organisation. Our empty plates were routinely left in front of us until the next course was brought, when it became necessary for one of us to stack them and put them to one side so that the waitress could serve the next dish.

DEPARTURE
Our final account included £15 for three parking permits, which we hadn’t ordered as we didn’t need them. The mistake was rectified as soon as we pointed it out.

Despite these reservations, we very much enjoyed the three nights we spent at Sands Hotel, and shall certainly look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Why would you stay at the seaside if you didn't have a room overlooking the sea?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands_NC, Owner at Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your detailed feedback and constructive criticism. It highlights many areas we can address, some quickly, and some (particularly the design issues) which will naturally take longer, but all feedback helps us improve and we are confident that you (and other guests) will notice a difference when you visit next. We therefore hope very much that we will be welcoming you back to Sands in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for you. They got us a jug of soya milk for tea and coffee in our room and when we asked for directions to the theatre Royal, they gave us a map there from a folder of routes to different attractions.

The bed was comfy and warm and had a pile of pillows and cushions, most of which we didn't need. Nice armchair and real coffee with coffee plunger.

Breakfast was nice but not too large. I had kippers, partner had full English and all good quality stuff.

Very relaxing, big two person bath in a well designed and turned out bathroom, except for one broken spotlight. We had a town view room, which was fine except roadworks started before 10 in the morning.

We stayed for one night and visited the Turner gallery, old town, sea front, theatre and Sundown (gay bar), Tudor house and shell grotto. Margate is a fascinating town.

Room Tip: Sea view room would probably have been worth it. Also worth asking for a late checkout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

If you like piped music, leather-padded doors and a sterile atmosphere, then this is the place for you. We stayed for one night as there was nowhere else to find. It did the job but I wouldn't recommend it if you are looking for somewhere with character.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank georgegreenhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevenoaks
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Its hard to know where to start with this review.

This hotel has the most amazingly beautiful interior I've ever seen - truly stunning and no expense spared. Everything oozes quality. It looks like something out of a design magazine. The roof terrace is like something from Miami - big sofas to lounge around on whilst you sip a G&T and take in the sunset!

The staff were quite young, but very, very friendly, helpful and efficient. Smiles all around, very personable young staff who genuinely seemed to want to help. Very refreshing.

The food in the restaurant was really excellent - first class cooking that was hard to fault. The menu choices were about right to provide sufficient variety, were very tasty and well cooked. Lamb was pink, fish flaky - as it should be. This was a restaurant I'd go to, even if I wasn't staying at the hotel. The view from the picture windows over the Margate sands is hard to fault.

The only thing to consider is the car parking. The hotel have a small number of reserved spaces in the car park opposite the hotel. You need to make sure you book a space when you book the room to ensure you get one allocated. This is a public car park, so unsecured and in the town centre. We didn't have any problems, but its something to consider.

Although the standard rates are quite pricey for Margate, there's nothing even remotely close to compare against. This is a truly unique hotel that is very special. If you want that experience, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: It has to be a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duncsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
1.1 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
357 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
16.3 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
386 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Hotel

Property: Sands Hotel
Address: 16 Marine Drive, Margate CT9 1DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing