We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for business & pleasure!”
Review of Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

A lovely hotel - the décor is stunning and we recommend it highly. We stayed in a superior sea view room and were truly delighted with the surroundings and helpful staff. Grace was very helpful with queries over the 'phone, and Amy from the restaurant was fun & made us feel special. The restaurant provided delicious food and wine at value-for-money prices. My husband was thrilled to have real coffee sachets in the room and the brand of English Breakfast tea bags was streets ahead of the usual stale & cheap versions provided by other hotels.

As we travel quite a lot and are of "a certain age" (oldish!!) we could make suggestions for additional items, such as:- the bathroom was very glamorous but would benefit from a hand rail in the shower plus a non-slip tray or textured mat (they don't have to look oap style if you shop around), the offer of a choice of pillows would be great such as soft-feather, medium-synthetic, and sculpted tempur-memory foam. The bed was a little hard for us (again this relates to age as mature customers prefer softer beds) but the addition of a tempur pillow would have resolved this for me!

The outlook over the sands was beautiful and the option of having a business meeting in the bar/reception area was very useful. Shame the road outside is scruffy & dirty as it doesn't live up to the elegance and high standard of the hotel. The hotel had been recommended to us by friends and we were not disappointed. We hope to return & would recommend it for romance or business!!

Room Tip: Recommend the superior sea view rooms - definitely worth the extra outlay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferocity01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

688 - 694 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

we saw this hotel advertised in the sun and had a great write up, and when we arrived we were not disappointed this hotel has got the lot. luxury, comfort, style, spotlessly clean, great food and staff. by far the best hotel in margate. the view out over the beech and the sun set stunning. well done.

Room Tip: attic rooms have a great outlook and a cosy little balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave_annMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I came to the Sands Hotel in Margate for a bank holiday weekend. Despite disappointing weather, we had a wonderful stay. The room was wonderfully clean and exquisitely decorated with the smallest attention to detail. I loved the enormous bath and the lovely balcony overlooking the sea. The linen and soft furnishings are of very high quality (amazing bath robes), adding a feeling of luxury to our stay. We enjoyed drinks in the bar and then had a fabulous three course dinner in the restaurant, watching the sun go down. I have to recommend the scallops and the lamb which could have been from a Michelin starred restaurant. I was very pleased with the quality of the staff who bent over backwards to accommodate my dietary preferences, always with a smile! In the morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast of eggs benedict and then some gelato from the ice cream parlour! We found, again, that everything was of the highest quality in the ice cream parlour. The lovely member of staff there told us about how they use very fresh ingredients and make the gelato on site! We also had a cream tea in the restaurant before leaving which was amazing! The scones were freshly made and still warm.
I thought the hotel was very reasonably priced for the quality of staff, room and experience. It felt as though we got excellent value for money.
I cannot fault this hotel and cannot wait until my next stay! Thank you so much for a wonderful time!

Room Tip: Get a sea view room as the view is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank evelyntinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel is like a special little diamond from a different universe compared to rest of Margate which we found depressing and rough. All the facilities in and outside the room are beautiful and luxurious, and the staff is very friendly and helpful.
The room gets its minus points from some of its unpractical design solution, for example no hooks for coats by the entrance, or for towels in the bathroom. Also there is no table space for making the lovely complimentary coffees and teas they provide, and very limited floor space.
We had the attic terrace room with a lovely sea view but especially in the mornings when opening the terrace door, there was a strong smell of burnt rubber in the air. Also the terrace cannot be considered private since in practice it is shared by three rooms. Only a waist high 'wall' separates you from your neighbors.
Breakfast was lovely!
Parking in the designated parking area works well and is very close to the hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the midweek offers, otherwise very expensive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights while exploring the area, and doing some work related business.

Location, Margate is a couple of hours by train or car South East from central London. Hotel is located in the main town overlooking the Beach and seafront.

Hotel itself is a modern makeover of a stylist Victorian built Hotel. Entrance is set on the High Street ( which like most of Margate is a little in need of a face lift), in the general terrace of the street. The ground floor of the Hotel is one large room split between the Restaurant and a lounge/Bar area. The Frontage majestically overlooks the main Beach, and is perfectly situated for enjoying legendary "Turner" sunsets from this restaurant and bar area.

The Hotel is totally modern, recently rebuilt completely, and everything about this Hotel is spot on. The bedrooms perfect, well fitted, bathrooms with shower and Bath! The bar and lounge area on the roof serve as a topping crown for this establishment.

Likes

Hotel is a perfect Town style premises, small but very well filled. Decor is lovely.
View from the Front is amazing.
Staff very good, and on the ball.
Loved the Restaurant, Bar area, good local beers, and very comfortable relaxing area.
Good location for exploring this part of the UK.
Internet worked 100%, no glitches or other Hotel type restrictions/costs. Perfect for business working.
Car Parking just around the corner , didn't see this as an issues as other reviews mentioned

Concerns

We were a bit unlucky with our room, and it faced onto the Town ( over the High Street). This was very noisy, mainly gangs of drunk youths making a lot of noise in the middle of the night, our sleep was effected on all our nights.The High Street is pretty noisy, 24/7 is seems. I'd be very careful booking these Town View rooms if your a light/medium sleeper. Hotel needs triple glazing methinks.
Front entrance feels a bit out of sync with the rest of the building, single glass front on a pretty desolate high street. Makes part of the bar/lobby area feel a bit cold.

Tips

Margate is very interesting to walk around, old buildings, smart terraces ( now seemingly turned into 100's of bedsits), the Russell Diplock Associates 1964 Arlington House on the Seafront (50 Years Old!), the faded glory of the main shopping street Northdown Road, all worth strolling around and exploring.
The Shell Grotto is worth checking out, very intriguing. Historic oddity.
Walks - we walked along the coast to Joss Bay, a beautiful walk, and the beach (Joss) is amazing, + has a decent Surf ( Board hire available on the beach as well). Have tea at the Walpole bay Hotel on the way back (this also has a museum)
The Turner Museum - its free, beautiful building.
Harbour Wall beyond the Turner Museum is a nice evening stroll for a drink, has a nice bar at the end, The Lighthouse

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toolbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel was amazing, we had a superior sea view room and had a one night stopover with dinner. The service was great and the food was lovely, what a pleasant change to get everything that we were hoping for. The hotel clearly has been architect designed with no expense spared and the staff and the hotel certainly backed that up. We will definately be back well done to all
Special mention to James Railton the restaurant manager who accomodated our changing requests due to volume of traffice coming from Hertfordshire and the M25 with a happy smile and a friendly and professional disposition.

Room Tip: If you can afford it book a superior sea view room, excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEENIStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

On arrival at Margate with rain and grey skies it was the most amazing feeling to walk into Sands Hotel. The furnishings, detail and view from the restaurant were unbelievable and then the room. Despite looking over the town it was of such a high standard but next time would love the view. The only small issue was that we couldn't get a light lunch before attending a wedding as there was no such menu which is something they need to think about as everybody doesn't want a large lunch. Had an evening meal at the hotel and of course breakfast and the food was excellent, beautifully cooked and of a very high standard. If I ever go to Margate again or know somebody who is I would highly recommend this Gem of a place.

Room Tip: Sea view any floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
0.4 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
389 reviews
1.1 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
16.3 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
432 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Hotel

Address: 16 Marine Drive, Margate CT9 1DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Margate
Price Range: £89 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing