We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sands Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sherwood Hotel(Margate)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (801)
Filter reviews
801 results
Traveller rating
582
149
39
24
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
582
149
39
24
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terraceafternoon teasea viewjazz nightsuper sundaymargate sandsice cream parlourcontinental buffetlovely hotelkippersturner galleryhigh streetsmall balconyold townboutique hotelsconeshigh standard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
680 - 685 of 801 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The quality of Sands hotel was first class in every aspect. The staff were amazingly helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble, the bedroom was luxurious, and the food first rate, especially the dinners which were beautifully presented, appetising and healthy food. A sea facing room with balcony is particularly stunning, with sensational view of the beach and sea. I would commend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Sea facing with balcony, if you can get one.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardjHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I took the boyfriend away for his birthday to this hotel last Friday. We were upgraded instantly on arrival (they didn't know it was his birthday) to a sea-view superior room. The sun was shining so sitting outside on the balcony was lovely! We had dinner at the Bay Restaurant at a sea view table at 8:30. The food was delicious and the service was perfect, to finish up the evening we went to the hotel bar after for a few drinks. I Would highly recommend this hotel, please do not let the location put you off! The hotel has been beautifully done and I will definitely be returning in the near future for the Jazz evening.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Every attention is given by the staff at this hotel to make your stay enjoyable... Incredibly friendly and accomodating, they served us our afternoon tea in our room so we could enjoy it on our balcony and made us a packed breakfast as we had an early train back!

The real treat is the rooftop terrace with huge comfy sofa / chair loungers overlooking the beach, a fantastic and very peaceful place to sit and enjoy the sun.

The restaurant has the most lovely views and we enjoyed our dinner on the balcony watching sunset :) The hotel is on the beachfront and we even fit in an evening stroll before dessert, which again was kindly served in our room.

Very comfortable room with a big selection of complimentary snacks and tea/coffee (a bodum coffee cafetiere, not instant coffee!) and TV with lots of channels on offer. Overall, highly recommend a visit!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms with balcony are extra money but well worth it
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happygolucky2255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Returning to Margate for a 40 year reunion, I chose this hotel for the beach views and
stunning sunsets. What I found was an absolute gem. The hotel is tastefully decorated,
the staff are friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant
served up a tantilising menu including fresh fish caught that morning. A wonderful stay,

Patsy
Adelaide, South Australia

Room Tip: Room was light, spacious, well decorated with balcony overlooking golden sands and stunning sunsets. Spectacular.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gardners49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Having never visited Kent before I didn't quite know what to expect, but as we approached the seaside town of Margate I was pleasantly surprised. The town has clearly had a 'makeover' and is simply beautiful particularly with the superb Turner Gallery at the far side of the beach. The Sands Hotel epitomises this redevelopment, the attention to detail here is fantastic. We stayed in Room 1 with a balcony that overlooks the beach front. Spacious and comfortable with everything you could wish for. The bar and restaurant is modern and welcoming, again with a terrace facing the beach. On our second evening we watched the sun go down to a quite magnificent sunset the likes of which I've only seen in Florida or South Africa. There's a roof top terrace with some comfortable seating options and incredible views if the weather is nice. We stayed for 4 nights and decided to dine at the hotel. Plenty to choose from on the menu including a 'special' fish dish. Even a well stocked bar with bottled Real Ale and even some Belgian ales which were a welcome treat! Every member of staff was helpful and cheery, particularly Amy who served us our evening meals. If you are looking for a luxury hotel, well situated, in the Kent area you need look no further than here.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-3 are superior sea view rooms with a balcony equipped with 2 chairs and a table. Despite being on the front we were not disturbed at all by any noise outside
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackmetal41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews