We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
Iver, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I would highly recommend The Sands hotel. On arrival the staff were extremely helpful and cheerful. Our room was decorated beautifully and was very comfortable. The bathroom was amazing. It has made me want to re-decorate at home!! We were only staying for one night and did not have chance to sample the food in the restaurant however I can vouch for the breakfast, it was delicious. The hotel is very stylish and great care and attention to detail have not been spared.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6. We didn't have a sea view but that didn't matter as we were only stayi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iza W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    128
    37
    18
    4
See reviews for
100
387
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the new boutique, 21 bedroom Sands Hotel. The interior decoration is brilliant and thought out down to the last detail. The service was very good and very friendly. The food in the restaurant was very tasty. The rooms are a delight. The bathrooms have the very latest spec fittings I liked the idea of separate baths and showers.
We chose a sea view room. The views across the sands and bay were marvellous, with very Turneresque views at low tide. it would be a false economy to book a room at the back of the hotel without the sea view.
We booked a parking space at the front of the hotel roadside.
Two very small things: it would be nice to have an upper-level tray in the showers for shampoo, showergell etc and the bedside cabinets were a bit on the small side.
I thoroughly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickeylHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is fantastic. Stayed in room 2 which had the most amazing sea view. Very tastefully decorated but still keeping some of the original decor. The bathroom with fantastic walk in shower is top class. Snuggley bath robes and towels. Really nice small touches like the complimentary crisps and soft drinks in the room.turn down service at night with hot chocolate and a little note saying " sleep well"
Every member of staff were happy and helpfull . Excellent breakfast. Great location.
The only really small dislike was the public carpark at £5 a day. I didn't really like leaving my car there overnight but it was all ok when I collected it. It's not the hotels fault as there is nowhere for its own carpark as town location.
I was concerned there may be street noise at night as lots of small bars close by but there wasn't.
We only stayed 1 night but already working out when we can go back for a weeks stay.

Room Tip: Room 2 has wonderfull sea view rooms. Check when booking as I believe some rooms are below street le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonVirg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We decided on a last minute train journey to sunny margate, stayed for the evening at the Sands Hotel, it was fabulous , stayed in a room with sea view , completely beautiful views, the private roof terrace open only to guests is stunning, loved the whole experience , I usually don't leave feedback but this lot deserve it !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Sands exceeded our expectations in every way. The setting is perfect overlooking the golden sands and sweeping bay, offering a wonderful sun set on our first evening. The room was exceptionally comfortable. The food was exceptional - most delicious lobster I have ever had. The staff were attentive. And the glorious weather meant we could drink Pimms on the terrace in the evening. Most relaxing and enjoyable. Definitely recommend and definitely will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our friend lives in Margate and recommended Sands Hotel. What a gem. Tastefully decorated, every detail is just well thought out and quality products are used everywhere. We stayed overnight on a Sunday and took advantage of the offer of room, dinner, breakfast and afternoon tea. Everything was wonderful. Our room had a balcony which overlooked the sea/beach with comfortable soft chairs and a coffee table. As the weather was hot it was perfect. The bathroom had low lighting for a relaxing bath and a rainfall shower cubicle. Again understated decorating but very tasteful. Staff were very helpful and friendly on check-in (we were given a permit for parking right outside the hotel) and throughout our stay. We went to the rooftop terrace which is also wonderful with great views out to sea, comfortable seating and I was lucky enough to see a shooting star! Dinner, Breakfast and afternoon cream tea was excellent. My husband had the kippers for breakfast and said they were the best he has had, perfectly cooked, not dry at all. Afternoon cream tea on the terrace overlooking the beach and sea was excellent. They use "Jing" tea which is wonderful tea. I would be very happy to stay at this hotel again. In fact, we did not want to leave and I know we are very likely to return. The people in the room beside us felt the same. This is a great base for Margate, which is a town that seems to be in the process of regenerating, possibly due to the Turner gallery.

Room Tip: Room 2 had a balcony overlooking the sea. There were three rooms with balconies and room 2 was the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genie312014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here with colleagues on business for two nights and wished it could have been longer. Welcome was fantastic, rooms were large and sumptuous - but really the wow factor was the food, truly wonderful. Watching the sun set over Margate beach from the terrace was not to be forgotten.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
0.4 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
345 reviews
1.1 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
492 reviews
4.3 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
16.3 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
374 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Hotel

Property: Sands Hotel
Address: 16 Marine Drive, Margate CT9 1DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing