We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I joined my relatives who were staying 2 nights for dinner in the dining room with a fabulous view out to sea. Watching the sun go down as the evening became night was a wonderful experience. The table was booked for 8 but 2 more turned up and the attentive staff fitted them in warmly. The meal was expertly prepared and every course delivered on time, even though the 10 of us made a varity of choices across the menu. The staff looked after us expertly throughout , paying attention not only to the meal, but our comfort and enjoyment as well. I shouldn't mention names, as every staff member treated us professionally, but Charleen went over and above with her careful watchfulness and responses to our needs. Also Mat who ran the bar and dealt with our demands without a flinch, on every occasion. He even charged my phone for me during the meal without any problem. Both of these 2 along with the wonderful view and food, ensured we had a fabulous evening . Thank you particularly to them for their warmth, professionalism and natural hospitality. A great evening , highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelMcTernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    130
    38
    18
    5
See reviews for
102
392
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Once you have found it ( go for the entrance in the own way High Street, rather than Marine Parade), you will be given a most helpful and pleasant welcome.Thanks to the directions given by the staff, the car park was relatively easy to find.
Our room (no9) had an excellent sea view, was fully air conditioned and was most comfortable. The roof top terrace was a great place to relax with a beer or bottle of wine, but regrettably there was no shade!
All meals were very good, but perhaps just a little pricey.
The staff were brilliant with nothing too much trouble for them. However, just a little nit picking:-
We stayed two nights but despite preordering our newspapers, we had to chase. To be helpful, we pointed out a large coffee/,chocolate stain on the bedspread ( we were not the culprits!)' it was taken away, but never replaced. The music in the Dining Room was too loud ( and perhaps a little too modern). Service at breakfast was slow, this seemed to be a problem with the kitchen and not the serving staff, who were excellent throughout.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room, rather than pay extra for a sea room with a verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gxgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Fantastic hotel. Great helpful staff and lovely room. Brilliant attention to detail. Good menu but a little lacking of the vege options. The breakfast was brilliant too. Definitely hope to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Psychicdante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here for a weekend and you have to say it is very good. Very well and tastefully done out. rooms are a good size with very good bathrooms and showers. Upstairs roof balcony was a delight in the fine weather. Service generally was good though the breakfast service was a little on the slow side but it is such a nice view not to be much of a problem unless you are in a rush - which we were not. Only slight niggles about the rooms would be the small bedside tables and the lack of drawer space but these are very very minor quibbles as overall it is a very good experience and would happily stay in again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

From the moment we walked in the door we were welcomed by the staff. During our stay they were always ready to help and nothing was too much trouble.
Our room was perfect with a balcony where we could sit and relax.
This boutique hotel is an absolute gem. We will be returning soon!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharmani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Friendly welcome, nice bar area, clean rooms, with fridge. Loved the spacious bathroom and separate bath. Roof terrace overlooking front, Service at breakfast was a little slow. Otherwise all good. Close to Old Town

Room Tip: Sea view rooms not necessary as you can see the sea from the bar and roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacsho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a beautifully designed hotel and immaculately clean. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, the rooms are tastefully decorated and the bed is very comfortable. I cannot fault this hotel in any way.
The only downside is that Margate is in a period of rejuvenation so there are parts that are not very nice at all. Other parts I saw had nice cafes and restaurants starting to open up. Nearby Ramsgate and Broadstairs are lovely places to visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazzar1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
1.1 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
356 reviews
4.3 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
16.3 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Hotel

Property: Sands Hotel
Address: 16 Marine Drive, Margate CT9 1DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing