We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, will certainly visit again!”
Review of Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent, will certainly visit again!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed two nights over the bank holiday weekend. Hotel was wonderful, room beautifully decorated, bathroom great as there was separate bath & walk in shower. Beds very comfortable & we slept a very well. Turn down service with hot choc given a very nice touch. Staff were very friendly from start to finish, very welcoming. Hotel is very central to both the beach & the lovely old town area. We will certainly return

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    128
    37
    18
    4
See reviews for
100
387
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Had a great weekend here, helped by lovely weather. The best children's menu we've ever come across. Bed was really comfy. Don't miss the views from the roof top terrace and make sure you stop by melt for a lovely ice cream. Only comment is that the breakfast portions were a bit miserly but we had a great time staying here and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This hotel is simply lovely, the owner it seems has spared no expense renovating it.From the spacious ground floor sea front residents private security entrance to the glass walled stair well up to the uber kool roof terrace this place is stylish. Great restaurant, great room, great staff and great location. 5 star experince.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1118888888888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I really enjoyed staying at the Sands hotel with my husband and 3 year old daughter last week. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The decor and furnishings were just gorgeous I especially loved the colours and the detail which had gone into the design including the diamanté strips on the light switches and the 100 per cent silk blankets, everything was of the highest quality. It really felt like alot of hard work and thought had gone into making this hotel and it has certainly paid off!

The hotel is perfectly situated with stunning views overlooking the beach and sea. We also didn't need to use the car at all during our stay as we were able to go the beach, explore the old town and the shell grotto as all were so close.

The food was excellent and again of the highest quality. They even have a children's menu so my daughter was happy.

To summarise a very fresh, clean, friendly and beautiful place to stay in Margate with the highest of standards thank you for a lovely break!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

After a long journey from London we found it very difficult to check in, no help with our luggage or a welcome drink while checking in. Parking was a nightmare with no valet service.
The entire ambience of this property was the opposite to the tastefully designed interior.
The music to this was also very unsuited to the lobby and bar areas, to the point of annoyance,
The over all experience did not warrant the value of this property.
Good training and expertise in areas will make this property at the level expected by its look.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank OpsOps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limpsfield
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We only stayed overnight as we went to a wedding, but if we were to visit Margate again we would beyond a doubt stay at the Sands Hotel. Our room was lovely with all the comforts of a top London hotel. We didn't stay in the top grade room but the next one down, which was an attic room with sea view (a small balcony), which was perfect for our stay but if we came back I think we would pay the extra and have the private balcony. The roof terrace looked great and would be wonderful when the weather is good.The bathroom was very modern with twin sinks which is always a plus for us.
We only had breakfast in the hotel, but this was delicious, serving a great vegi option and real coffee.
The added extras in the room like water in the fridge , real coffee , special teas and complimentary Kentish crisps just added the icing to this great cake.

Room Tip: Sea View is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel a couple of days in advance as an impromptu night away for my anniversary. I live very nearby (about a 10 minute walk!) but decided to try it out as I've heard such brilliant things about the hotel.

I originally booked an Undercroft room - no external windows and slightly more basic looking than the other rooms, but still looked absolutely stunning on the website. However upon arrival we were offered an upgrade to one of their Sea View rooms... and what can I say! The room was completely amazing with beautiful views from the private balcony and the biggest, comfiest bed I have ever slept in. The bathroom was lovely with a gigantic tub, a twin vanity and a super relaxing shower.

The hotel provided REAL coffee and a cafetiere instead of instant which was a lovely touch, and the tea, crisps and toiletries provided were great quality and well chosen. The only niggle I could think of was that a small part of the mesh on the cafetiere was frayed, and could do with being replaced as it led to coffee grounds escaping into my cup!

Otherwise I have no complaints and lots of praise for this hotel. It is by no means the cheapest around but you truly do get what you pay for - virtually flawless luxury. After staying in more than my fair share of rubbish hotels - EasyHotel anyone? - I can easily say that this hotel is great value despite the price.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
0.4 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
346 reviews
1.1 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
492 reviews
4.3 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
16.3 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
374 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Hotel

Property: Sands Hotel
Address: 16 Marine Drive, Margate CT9 1DH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing