We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Long week-end”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sunset Penthouse

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Margate, Isle of Thanet, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Trish W
Battle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Long week-end”
Reviewed 25 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Three of us recently spent a long week-end at Sunset Penthouse.

The apartment itself is set in secure gated premises with allocated underground parking. The apartment is reached by shared stairs and then its own front door.

On entering we found the apartment to be light and airy and very welcoming, if a little fussy. There were two bedrooms with double beds, one, overlooking the beach, with its own en-suite. The other bedroom overlooked a courtyard and was situated next to the main bathroom. Both had ordinary sized double beds (something we are not used to). The main lounge/diner also had a sea view, comfy seating and a large television The kitchen was of a good size and was well equipped with both washer/dryer and dishwasher and overlooked the courtyard. The icing on the cake was found at the top of some internal stairs which led to a roof top conservatory. This room had lovely views of the sea and outside seating if required. We spent every evening in the conservatory watching the sunset over a glass of wine and a game of trivial pursuit.

The only two niggles we had about the apartment was the size of the beds and the lack storage space. Every cupboard and drawer in both the kitchen and the bedrooms seemed to be full of the owners personal belongings. The main bedroom did not even have a wardrobe. We found we had to live out of our suitcases.

Overall our stay was very pleasant and we found the apartment to be in a good position for walking in and out of Margate itself.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The conservatory
Liked least: The lack of storage and the size of the beds
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sumichoc
Hemel Hempstead
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in August 2015

This apartment was perfect for our needs, very comfortable and spacious with all mod cons. We had my 8 month old granddaughter with us and it was a bonus having a travel cot and a high chair provided in the apartment. The rooftop conservatory and terrace was amazing as it was lovely to be able to sit and look out at the view while having my morning cup of tea. It was only a short walk to the beach and it was a pleasant walk into town. I was very impressed with the standard of the accommodation and would definitely stay there again if I was visiting Margate.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rooftop terrace and conservatory
Liked least: The stairs up to the front door (but only because we had a buggy)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Original...
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beatufilly presented apartment, very well equipped, spacious with fabulous roof terrace and conservatoty.”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We wanted somewhere where we could stay in and enjoy, as well as use as a holiday base. This apartment scored high on every level. Comfort everywhere, spacious, a proper size TV (Wimbledon was on!), fully equipped kitchen including dishwasher. Interior design giving it a holiday feel, and certainly not bland. Superb view of the sea and beach from the roof where you could sit, eat, sunbathe or just people watch. If it rained the conservatory has seating, and table for eating. It is a fair walk to the car for luggage and shopping, but the owners thoughtfully have provided a sack truck. Indeed that goes for everything, the owners have thought about what you might need - and provided it. If you are thinking of staying in the area, stay here!

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Roof Terrace
Liked least: No handrails on stairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishingst...
coulsdon surrey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely penthousewith views”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful views, very convenient for town and beach.
The main criticism was lack of storage place in one bedroom
and very few instructions about rubbish disposal and heating
controls.

Date of stay: December 2014
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
30 Dec 2014
Thank you for your review which gave us some useful feedback. We will make sure the heating/refuse instructions are better explained for future guests and also improve the bedroom storage. Pleased you enjoyed your stay and the views.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddy1900
Derby
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Lovely flat, very well equipped. Great views and furnishing. Only challenge very little storage. No where to put our cases.

Date of stay: July 2014
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chloelia
west yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment with homely touches”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Spent four nights in this lovely apartment. Homely touches abound. The rooftop conservatory provided lovely sea views, Quite special. Two bedrooms comfortable, one with sea views one overlooking a square . Two bathrooms. Good, well equipped kitchen. Comfortable lounge. A vey helpful neighbour . A short walk to the beach , or into Margate. A really good place to stay and we hope to visit again.

Date of stay: February 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, and thank you for the lovely comments. We really want to make our guests feel comfortable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.