We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“4th visit and 5th visit booked”

Review of Sunset Penthouse

Conservatory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Conservatory
Living Room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Conservatory
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining Area
Master Bedroom
En-Suite Shower Room
Second Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Family Bathroom
Family Bathroom
Hallway leading to Roof Conservatory
Conservatory
Conservatory and Roof Terrace
Westbrook Bay
The Quadrangle as viewed from the roof terrace
Sunset Viewed from Roof Terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Margate, Isle of Thanet, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Annette P
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“4th visit and 5th visit booked”
Reviewed 23 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We have friends in Margate and the apartment is perfect for us to stay in as we like our own space.5 minutes from the railway station no one has to drive.We love lying in bed listening to the sound of the waves.Weather was a bit wet and windy this visit but dreamland had their undercover ice rink.Theres plenty shopping opportunities Bluewater being a fab one.I just love to relax when we get there and often just wander into town at our own pace,wander round the vintage shops and The Turner Gallery followed by hot chocolate at Cafe G.Weve christened it our happy place x

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Original...
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“3rd Visit”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

No-one is going to go back for a third time if the place isn't really good, so you can guess we like it. Since our last visit and review, a handrail has now been installed on the stairs to the roof. This was much needed for safety, and for us "seniors", and its made a huge difference.
Although it wasn't in bad shape, the whole apartment has been redecorated and new curtains fitted which has freshened the whole place up. A new L-shaped sof has also been put in which was very comfortable.
We've been there now in spring, summer and autumn, and each time the Margate weather has been very good - better than home on each occasion. After returning from our May 2017 holiday, friends who had been to a Greek Island at the smae time were quite put out that our tan's were better than theirs!
One of the great draws of this apartment is the roof "terrace". The view of the beach is wonderful, so you don't need to leave the apartment for some relaxation. However a walk on the prom - either direction - is rewarding, and there are restaurants (reviewed in trip adviser) in Margate worth visiting.
We are looking forward already to our 2018 visit!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gilliansm...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect for a short break ”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Spent three nights in this cosy apartment, which was within easy walking distance of the the town, restaurants and beach. Having a parking space was also a bonus. Comfy beds, fluffy towels and enough in the kitchen to cook etc. if needs be. Limited TV channels, but we were out most of the time anyway, so not really an issue for us. Owners next door, so on hand if needs be. Would recommend this to a couple or family of four. Owner communication was very good. All in all, very happy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Apr 2017
We love having you to stay, thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
london
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Apr 2017
Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gemmaw_a...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment, very well equipped overlooking the sea”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Very approachable host, nothing was too much trouble. The apartment was very clean and had everything you needed for your holiday stay and more. There was plenty of storage and we did not experience issues with wardrobe space. Also we did not have a problem with plugging in hair dryers by irons etc, there were plenty of sockets etc. This apartment has an excellent roof Terrance with great views overlooking the sea.

There is free parking on site and very secure, in fact one of the most secure places we've stayed in holiday rentals. We noticed in one review there were issues with the underground parking that it was not well lit up and smelt, however we did not experience any of these issues.

The lovely beach is just a short stroll away.

We are looking forward to our next stay in margate at this apartment and would highly recommend it to others.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hlh197120...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely Holiday”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Positives
Flat was near Margate and complex and surrounding gardens in the complex were well kept. The flat is nice the furniture is of a good quality. Was very near beach but you cannot access it from flat you have to walk all way round. The kitchen was well equipped and clean. Lovely sunsets from conservatory and was nice for bbqs. Don't get me wrong we had a lovely holiday and the flat is nice but certainly not 5 star.


Negatives
This flat initially seemed lovely. On closer inspection it had far too many knick knacks and the conservatory was cluttered and not very clean. The penthouse conservatory actually is nice but very overlooked by two neighbouring conservatories. No dressing table or plug near a mirror in one bedroom (my pet hate ) and no wardrobe in other bedroom. Toilet in main bathroom was constantly blocked no window either so was very claustrophobic.Surrounding area outside of flat complex was very shabby. Underground carpark was badly lit and smelt of urine.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2016
Dear Sir,
Thankyou for your review and custom and the positive aspects of your review however we must respond to the negative points in your review. Firstly we never had any advice that you found the toilet to the main bathroom blocked whilst you were staying and if we had such advice from you we would have sent someone round that day to deal with it. We personally have not found any issues with the toilet to the main bathroom so this is a surprise to us particularly since your review is five months after you stayed. With regards "knick nacks" they are carefully selected items to give the apartment character and we have not had such a complaint before and as the the vast majority of reviews and guests comments in the guest book people generally really like the apartment. We try to avoid a clinical look such as most hotel rooms and make it as much as we can a home from home. We take on board your comment regards the conservatory and objects around the low level perimeter shelf and we agree that we should thin these out which we are in the process of doing. With regards the lack of a dressing table in the second bedroom we again take on board your comment and we will put a small dressing table by the second window. With regards access to the beach we do not state there is direct access to the beach in the details and yes you have a five minute walk to go around the perimeter of the development which is a very short walk. The owners of the development have advised that they will be putting a direct access to the beach from the front of the development in the next year. With regards the other two conservatory properties neighbouring our apartment they are a good twenty feet away in either directions and as you know from your stay we have a good sized roof terrace either side of the conservatory with stunning views over the adjacent beach and sea. With regards a mirror and plugs to the master en suite bedroom there are four double sockets but we take on board your point about a mirror and again will be installing one in the next month. We must take issue with you regards your statement that the area outside the apartment is shabby. Yes the main building across the quadrangle looking towards the clock tower has some deteriorated paintwork and the development owners will be refurbishing the outide of this fabulous developement next year as this is now due under the maintenance cylce. The grounds are beutifully kept and as you know the develoment is secure and gated with wonderful helpful guards on a 24/7 basis. With regards the "poorly lit car park" the lighting levels are perfectly fine fromand as one would expect generally in an underground car aprk and they are maintained throughout the year. With regards the urine smell we personally have never smelt this but it is a large secure underground car park and humans being humans these things happen sometimes. We must disagree with your statement that this is not five star. This is a unique spacious and luxurious penthouse property valued circa half a million pounds directly on the sea with fabulolus views and every possible requirement the hoiday maker could need including copious towels, toiletaries, and accoutrements all provided with the cost.of the guests stay including all bed linen. We take absolute pride in providing a spotlessly clean and fully provided apartment including 46 inch TV, & free unlimited internet. Thanking you again for your custom and review and we hope you will come back again to review the changes and for your repeat custom we will offer a discount.
Regards,
The Owners of Sunset Penthouse
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;