We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“premier inn margate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“premier inn margate”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

brilliant room, clean and tidy, very good staff,good position the the station, restaurant not so brilliant

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russell1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Margate Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our team ensured you were comfortable and well looked after. Please accept my apologies for the disappointment caused with the service you received in the restaurant. Your comments regarding this have been duly noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at the hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    307
    97
    35
    18
See reviews for
289
279
54
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

My boyfreind previously booked the hotel room and arrived in person before me to check in, I arrived later and met him in town, then we went back to the hotel together. Upon arriving, the receptionist on the desk... ;MALCOM'.....proceeded to look me up and down and sternly told my boyfriend I couldn't come in, even thou he had paid for a double room.......I was wearing flat ugg style boots, leggings, a long top and a jacket.
Despite our protests and my blatant display of disgust towards such a disrespectful person, he then threatened to call the POLICE!!!!! So, my boyfreind had paid for a room, and now we couldn't use it because this man thought I was a prostitute!!!
We requested to speak to the manager, as MALCOM was stuck on seemingly not letting us use the PAID FOR ROOM.....his excuse being that my name was not on the documents to stay with my boyfriend. We have stayed at hotels plenty of times before, sometimes under my name, and checking in under one name has never been a problem before, same with restaurants, etc.
After talking to the manager we were eventually allowed entrance to our room.
I have never been so insulted, disgusted, outraged and totally embarrassed and humiliated in my life. I am a Nanny by profession and I work for a police officer, I pay my taxes and work hard to gain respect of others. This man has TOTALLY degraded me and lowered my self esteem, for no reason at all, ruined my night away with my boyfreind and now I feel like burning my clothes and wearing cloths sacks. I wasn't even wearing any makeup!!!!
While we were there a couple of friends who lived in the area (one of the reasons we went to margate) came to see us, and within half hour of them arriving we had a knock on the door and was told if we didn't leave in half hour the police would be called. SHOCKING!!!!! 'by this point i was so upset with the whole situation that we just left and booked in somewhere else, we didn't even get to stay the night here!!! And was refused a refund!!!
So, if you want the above to happen to you, make sure MALCOM is on duty, and he'll assure you of a unpleasant welcome and very short stay...............I am still fuming now!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank KazzG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Margate Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel.

At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion your stay was less than relaxing. Your experience was far below our usual high standards, but be assured that the incident will be investigated to ensure it does not happen again.

Thank you again for your review; we sincerely hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed for one night at the Premier Inn Margate before my wedding.

The room was clean, tidy and surprisingly modern (large 40" LED television). The staff were friendly and helpful in my limited dealings with them. The bed was a tad soft for my liking, but not so much that it dirupted my sleep.

The hotel is next to the railway station, however the soundproofing of the rooms meant that the railway and road could not be heard at all.

The other guests though were quite noisy in the early morning and late at night - every footstep and banged door sounded as though it was happening outside the room.

Overall it was a good stay because the room did everything that you would expect and was in good condition. The price was right - £39 - because I booked online and took advantage of the discounted room offer.

Room Tip: Book all Premier Inn stays online. It is really easy and you can take advantage of discounted rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetThrasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

we use Margate premier quite a lot and have always found it satisfactory, staff are always helpful and friendly. Food is very good and plenty of choice. With the new refurbishment it is better still, we shall be returning in the very near future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zelah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

As the title suggests the Premier does exactly what it says on the tin. Room was clean, tidy and well stocked with toiletries and refreshments. My wife found the mattress a touch hard, but I thought it perfect.

Food was satisfactory, but the premier never claim to be fine dining, drinks were served efficiently and presented well. The breakfast is fantastic, with a multitude of choice and a Costa Coffee machine, it seems a bit steep, but in reality a fry up anywhere is a quite expensive and you get the continental bits as well if you pay the dollar........then don't eat for at least a week.

Staff were pleasant and polite in the restaurant at breakfast and in the evenings, always helpful and gave us some good info about the locality. The best service was at Reception, the lady who checked us in was magic, and the lady who was working the next day was equally lovely and brilliant. Customer service is far from dead!

Overall, we had a very nice stay!

Tom.

Room Tip: Pick a sea facing room, but a side room over looking the train station is a winner for people watchi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Good clean quiet hotel. Very friendly and helpful receptionist. Family room had enough space for 2 adults and teenager. Bed was really comfortable and allowed a good sleep.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed for one night on the way to Dover, the room was one of the best we'd ever stayed in! New, extremely clean and perfectly ergonomic. The staff were beyond excellent in every way, including the restaurant staff. The meal we had was excellent as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
0.3 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
1.4 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#3 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#8 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
1.1 mi away
Smiths Court Hotel
Smiths Court Hotel
#6 of 12 in Margate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Margate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Margate Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Margate Hotel
Address: Station Road | Marine Terrace, Margate CT9 5AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Margate
#3 Family Hotel in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Margate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right beside the seafront with its idyllic views and close to shops and cafes of the quaint Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Margate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Margate Hotel Margate
Premier Inn Margate Hotel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing