We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smiths Court Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sands Hotel(Margate)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
198
135
52
37
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
198
135
52
37
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewhoneymoon suitepot roastkitchen areawedding breakfastfour poster bedlarge roomwedding receptionnothing too much troublefriendly hotelgreat weekendbreakfast roomcooked breakfastlovely foodlast weekendcar parksea front
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Many thanks to Abigail and Scott for organising my wonderful birthday party on 13th April. I was looking forward to a special day and they certainly provided it. The food and the venue were perfect. We all stayed at the hotel and the rooms were very comfortable and breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geoff glynis w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

We are so glad that you enjoyed the 60th birthday party, and that you thought the food and venue was perfect. We are also glad that you enjoyed the rooms overnight, and the breakfast the next morning.

We hope that you come back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Warm and friendly welcome, nothing too much trouble, lovely locally source food and a varied menu. Would have liked the veg and gravy served separately as neither like potatoes or gravy but that is just me! Well located on the seafront with lovely views and walks, only ten minute walk into Margate and to it's beach and shops. Went as part of an organized coach holiday.

Room Tip: Lot of TV interference in room 21 but was offered the use of an empty room for the one programme I did not want to miss.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fuglycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you for your 5 star review of our hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed the walks from outside our hotel, and that you enjoyed the food and the staff's friendliness.

We hope to welcome you again soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed for two nights early in the week, so very quiet. Our room was great, large, comfortable, sea view? Breakfast and evening meals were of a good standard, with quality locally sourced produce. Staff were friendly and very attentive, a little effusive at times. Orangery restaurant was bright, airy and nicely decorated. Location was quite good, a little out of town, but we like a walk (15-20mins).

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for the executive room with sea view if you can, comfortable chairs looking out towards the sea. Checkout what's on at the Turner gallery before you go(if that's your reason for going) to avoid disappointment. Go later in the week when town is busier. Take a trip to Broadstairs, smaller and more attractive than Margate.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the Orangery, and liked the locally sourced food that we serve.

The executive rooms are the nicest in the hotel, and are definitely worth the upgrade!

Thank you again for the review, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Stayed here while on a contract job near Canterbury, staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms were spacious as well as being clean and tidy. Food was excellent with an a la carte menu and a bar menu, meals from both these menus couldn't be faulted. Would strongly reccomend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food, the cleanliness of the rooms, and the friendly, helpful staff. We pride ourselves on offering a great service for workers in the area for a few days, and are glad that you found us and enjoyed your stay.

If you are ever working in the area again, we hope to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

A warm welcome from friendly helpful staff for whom nothing was too much trouble, required a full breakfast early on both saturday and sunday - no problems. Room was tidied, bins emptied and beds made both days as were towels replaced. The public area was comfortable and the bar was open as required. Only thing is that the paintwork is tired but does not detract from the overall image of a friendly well run hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank deafoldgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments during the beachcross weekend. We try to provide anything that makes our guests' lives easier, including an early breakfast if required, and we are happy that this was appreciated. Thank you again for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews