We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and friendly staff”
Review of Smiths Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Smiths Court Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and friendly staff”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We celebrated our wedding anniversary here recently. Following my booking, the hotel called me to inform that there will be a wedding on the weekend that we were staying and they will put us in a room on the top floor so that we will not be disturbed by the music in the lobby. We were pleasantly surprised to be given a sea-facing room with a four-poster bed....just what we needed for an anniversary celebration. We have enjoyed our stay here very much. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. Our only complaints were that the bathroom is a bit dated and the service at breakfast was a little slow. As commented by another reviewer, the breakfast was overooked.

Room Tip: Sea-facing room has a great view but can be noisy when wedding guests chats (rather loudly) while th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cabradyp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed the stay, including the upgrade to the sea view four-poster room.

We are sorry that you found the breakfast overcooked, and hope that should you come back you will see our improvements we have made over breakfast.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    124
    47
    33
    16
See reviews for
70
145
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I have stayed at Smiths Court a number of times, since being offloaded by a neighbouring hotel due to their overbooking mistake (their loss SCH's gain, because I never went back there because of that). Being an old hotel doesn't come without its problems, and on one occasion during a stormy day. I was transferred to an executive suite for the rest of my stay (complete with bath, large bed and kitchen suite) after rainwater poured through the ceiling and soaked the bedclothes.

However back to the present stay in August, I was well looked after there by the staff. It was a pleasant surprise to find Abbie was now a co director/manager of the establishment, still recognising me after a number of years. With a newly decorated front sea view room to stay in, along with a view of the bandstand and its Sunday afternoon concerts (x2) during a ten day break. The bird's eye view of the Carnival Parade making its way along the Eastern Esplanade outside had to be the highlight of the holiday.

A popular choice for wedding parties it seemed, with three going on during my stay. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the staff looking after you, with the early breakfast facility a nice touch to round my holiday off. Allowing me to board an earlier train home, beating the holiday rush back to London.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for your comments and review of the hotel. Abbie is very good at remembering all our guests. We are delighted that you have continued to enjoy the stays at Smiths, and we would welcome you back whenever you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Supporting and caring from the start!
We were married at the Hotel we ate at the Hotel and we had our Reception at the hotel all in a package, it was exactly what we wanted/ asked for!!
Not only did we enjoy the whole day but so to did all of our guests.
Those who stayed the night had a relaxed and enjoyable sleep in the lovely rooms provided and we all enjoyed a lovely freshly cooked breakfast from the varied choice of cold or hot food and a choice of jams fruits etc.
Staff were friendly and helpful and friends and family that went for a morning walk across to the band stand and beach came back and noticed that as an extra little special something Smiths Court had put a large banner up celebrating our marriage.
A very big thank you to Abi, family and staff!! X

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for your glowing review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your wedding day, and that your guests enjoyed the rooms and the breakfast. It makes it all worthwhile for us when we hear that you had such a good day!

We hope that you come in again soon and keep in touch in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Smiths Court came as a recommendation from the organisers of the Margate Soul Weekender (annual soul music festival). The hotel was a good choice and provides all the necessities that a three star hotel should provide. With suitcases, it was much easier to order a taxi to and from the hotel and the fare was very reasonable. We stayed for 2 nights bed and breakfast. The first morning's breakfast was a little overcooked, therefore when ordering the second morning's breakfast, I mentioned to the waitress what I hadn't enjoyed about the previous day's breakfast preparation. The 2nd day's breakfast that was then presented was lovely! My preferences were met. The room was very clean. Our room faced the back of the hotel so unfortunately we didn't have a sea view. But that didn't bother us greatly.The walk into the creative quarter and trendier part of town was a mixed bag of wonderful, large, well kept Victorian buildings and gorgeous sea front. However there were more rundown pockets along the route into town that we hope the local council will invest in to raise the profile of what could be a really nice short break destination for couples and families. The staff at Smiths Court were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay again next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dhvb2057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel. We understand your comments about the walk into Margate's Old Town, and we are hoping the the regeneration of Margate will continue up through Cliftonville. We are delighted that you would stay with us again next year, and we hope that you book with us! Maybe next time you will get a sea view as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Having looked around Margate during our stay this hotel was a good choice. It was clean had a decent bar & lounge area, small terace which was nice on the hot evenings. Our room had a good sea view, en-suite and a four poster bed. The room was recently decorated so was in good order also quite large. Could have done with some cooling, even if just a cieling fan.
Staff were very pleasant. There is also a new looking restaurant although we only had breakfast in it. Breakfast was usual choice of cerial, yogurt etc and full english or variations cooked to order.

Room Tip: Second floor sea facing room with balcony is pleasant - did not see other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stroler551a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed breakfast and found the staff very helpful, and although we apologise that the room was a little warm, it was because of the heatwave we were enjoying in the Summer - and we never like to complain about the sun!

Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Smiths Court is a smallish hotel near to the beach in Cliftonville near Margate. With a suitcase it takes about 40 minutes to get from the station to the hotel. The hotel itself is accessed via a steep set of stairs from the street. The reception area is ok, there were weddings when we were there and it was quite crowded but ok. We stayed in two rooms, one with a sea view and one without. The sea view room was a bit small; given the choice I would probably have settled for the other one which was bigger but looked out over the back of the hotel.

The rooms are basic; kettle and tea/coffee is provided. Televisons have freeview, but there is no wifi and no fridges. One room had a bath, the other a shower only. It was clean, everyone seemed very friendly and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Sea view and small versus non sea view and bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edpurs999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are delighted that you would stay again and that you found the staff friendly.

You are right that the steps at the front of the hotel are a little steep, but we do offer a choice of two ramps to access the hotel at the rear of the hotel. We also offer free wifi in the public areas of the hotel, which we should have mentioned to you during the stay, and I apologise if this wasn't made clear.

We hope that you come back to see us if you're back down in Margate, and would look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I sayed here on 12th July 2013 just for one night as we were seeing a show in the Winter Gardens. It was a late booking but we had a lovely room with en-suite. The room was beautifully clean as was the en-suite. The receptionist (Tina) when we booked in was very welcoming nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice, the dinning room was exceptionally clean and served well. Parking is also available, I would recommend this hotel to anyone as it is close to most places of interest and the all staff are very helpful!

Room Tip: As we had a loate booking we did not get a room facing the sea but this can be requested if you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeanette7UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel. We have mentioned to Tina that you found her very helpful. We are delighted that you found everything to your satisfaction, including the room and breakfast.

We hope you can come back soon, and next time book early to get a sea view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margate hotels
0.3 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
495 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
686 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
0.2 mi away
Sherwood Hotel
Sherwood Hotel
#7 of 12 in Margate
73 reviews
1.2 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#8 of 12 in Margate
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Court Hotel

Property: Smiths Court Hotel
Address: 21-27 Eastern Esplanade | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Margate
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Smiths Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Edwardian hotel, with 43 rooms. A number of single, double, twin, and family rooms. Also sea-view rooms available, or executive rooms and family suites. Full disabled access to the hotel, and specifically designed disabled rooms available. Free off-street parking, and plenty of free on-street parking outside. Eat in The Orangery restaurant attached, with a great sea view and stunning marble floors. Sit in our lounge and watch the sea, have a drink or afternoon tea. At Smiths Court, the only thing we overlook is the sea... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Smiths Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiths Court Cliftonville
Smiths Court Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing