We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Smiths Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Smiths Court Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant stayed for my birthday and also having wedding reception here in march. Abbie who owns and runs the hotel is brilliant nothing is ever to much hassle. Clean rooms great tv sizes . Double glazing so the little traffic is quiet stayed in 4c the executive suite gorgeous. . The food is also very yummy .Will visit many more times x

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicknosh61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and your wedding! Abbie thanks you for your kind words, and we are pleased that you enjoy the hotel so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    124
    47
    33
    16
See reviews for
70
145
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Only an English seaside resort could have presented our "ladies' festival" group with this kind of funky experience. No characterless "flatpack" hotel this!. It turned out to be a place to treasure.
This three-star hotel looked as though it had been converted from a Victorian mansion by an eccentric architect.
The building just rambles, with unexpected flights of stairs leading to unexpected rooms Our sea-view room seemed spacious enough - until we examined the shower-room with toilet. It was the size of a couple of telephone kiosks, and we had to learn the art of squeezing in and out by juggling the door.
That said, my partner and I spent a happy weekend in Room 22. We like character in our hotels. The staff were helpful, polite and friendly. And the food is more than just good. Eating in the Orangery was a most pleasant experience.
One complaint. As is common in British hotels, if you arrive at lunchtime, expect what meagre staff are there to be rushed off their feet. Another pair of hands would have been worth their weight in public relations and customer satisfaction.
We liked the place.

Room Tip: Try Room 22, facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tovarisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your great review of the hotel. We are happy you liked the character of our hotel, as we work hard to ensure that we are not a faceless establishment. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food, and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

We note your comments about the staffing levels on your arrival, and have altered our processes to reflect your comments. We also note your points on the shower room, and we are hoping to develop all our rooms over time, including the bathrooms.

Again, thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Had a fantastic stay. My daughter and I were part of a fairly large group celebrating an event. We had a twin room with sea view. Found rooms to be of generous size and clean. Also plenty of parking and a lift. Staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. All I can say about the food, is that it was first class, including breakfast the next morning. If you are celebrating an event, I would recommend this hotel as it is excellent value for money. We also had a disco, not sure if he is a regular but was also very good. A very pleasant stay all round and would come back again. It was really nice to see the owner who made sure that we all had a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank n1ck4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your great review of our hotel. We are delighted that you found the food excellent, and that you would come back again to stay with us. It is also great that you found the rooms of a good size and clean...

Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
277 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We attended a Ladies night there, the Orangery Room was good and the food was good, unfortunately the hotel let the event down, it is in urgent need of attention everywhere! staff are polite but very slow in all they do! We had to wait over half an hour for a sandwich to be made! We won't be going back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the food and The Orangery, and that you found the staff polite. We are sorry that you thought the hotel needed attention everywhere, as we have redecorated The Orangery, bar lounge, bar and Cumberland Suite - all the public areas - in the last 12 months, as well as a number of rooms.

It is a shame your experience didn't match the other members of your party, some of whom have given us 5 star reviews on here, and didn't match the great feedback we received from everyone we spoke to on check out. However, we appreciate your comments and have passed them on to the team.

Thank you again for taking the time to review the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Very disappointing. We checked out 5 minutes after arriving. It could be that The Orangery is beautiful, but the bedrooms were unfortunately not.They were old, not clean and had a very strange layout. In room 4D you walked into what felt like an airing cupboard. On the floor was a safe and a few hangers on a clothes rail with no door. The ceiling was plastic, from behind which came the artificial light. This plexiglass was stained. The first tired door we opened was to the bathroom. No window. The second door to the "bedroom". A small, cheap pine bed from the 70s, a small flatscreen tv on the wall. No window, no view. The "View", was at the end of a shabby, galley kitchen!!! I don't remember booking a kitchen and it wasn't mentioned on the website. Our children had the room 4E, on the other side of the lift. One walks into a seating area with 2 stained, green armchairs and a tv, behind which was a similar galley kitchen and the only source of daylight. No beds. We opened another door and found a narrow staircase going down at the bottom of which were 2 doors. One to the corridor and one into the bedroom, tiny with 2 narrow beds. The en-suite was basically a corner cut off this room.The photo of the bedroom on the internet was misleading and had no resemblance to the 2 rooms we were given. It is interesting that there are not many photos of the bedrooms. As we did not eat there I cannot make a comment about about the food. The staff, though, were friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank LVollmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are very sorry that you didn't like the rooms that we gave to you, and that you felt the need to check out without staying. We have had a number of guests who have stayed in rooms 4D and 4E, without any comments on the cleanliness at all. One of our regular guests requests room 4E because of the separate lounge area away from the bedroom.

Obviously our rooms are not to everyone's tastes, and we are sorry that you didn't like the layout. As the hotel used to be an apart-hotel, there are a number of rooms with a kitchen, but many people see this as a positive, rather than a negative in the room.

Some of the rooms do have a bit of a quirky layout, especially as the hotel has evolved over time, but again, many guests see this as part of our charm, rather than a disappointment.

Finally, it is true that you were in a room at the back of the hotel, rather than in one of our executive rooms. However, it is also worth commenting that the price you were quoted for the rooms that we gave you was more than 50% less than the price of our executive rooms. Had you paid the appropriate rate for a sea-view of executive room, we would have provided these for you.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Needed an overnight stay in my hometown! Chose, by chance, the Smith's Court, and was totally surprised and pleased. Brought our little dog, perfectly looked after. No imposition on other guests. Beautiful hotel, well renovated. Staff were particularly attentive, but never overbearing. Excellent breakfast, enjoyed locally sourced food. Would certainly recommend the Smiths, will certainly come back and stay again. Thank you all. xxx

Room Tip: With your wee dog, basement room is big and worthy. Next time we shall go alone to enjoy upstairs w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank granny0719530309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you so much for your comments about the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed our dog-friendly room, and that the local breakfast was to your liking.

As you mentioned, if you come without the four-legged friend, do make sure to try out our executive rooms! We would welcome you back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Recently spent 5 days at this Hotel and found the staff very helpful.
We had room 20, up with the pigeons! It was on the 3rd floor but there is a lift available.
We had a lovely room with a great view of the sea and Bandstand.
The room was a great size and a clean bathroom.
The food was well cooked and plenty of choices. My sister and I are quite fussy eaters but we asked if we could have salads, which was no problem to the Chef.
Would recommend a stay at this Hotel as we could not find a fault with anything.

Room Tip: For the views ask for a front facing room, 3rd floor is the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Handel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel. We hare happy that you enjoyed the food, and that we could provide some specific food for your dietary requirements.

Thank you again for your kind comments, and we hope that you come back to visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margate hotels
0.3 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
495 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
686 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
0.2 mi away
Sherwood Hotel
Sherwood Hotel
#7 of 12 in Margate
73 reviews
1.2 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#8 of 12 in Margate
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Court Hotel

Property: Smiths Court Hotel
Address: 21-27 Eastern Esplanade | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Margate
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Smiths Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Edwardian hotel, with 43 rooms. A number of single, double, twin, and family rooms. Also sea-view rooms available, or executive rooms and family suites. Full disabled access to the hotel, and specifically designed disabled rooms available. Free off-street parking, and plenty of free on-street parking outside. Eat in The Orangery restaurant attached, with a great sea view and stunning marble floors. Sit in our lounge and watch the sea, have a drink or afternoon tea. At Smiths Court, the only thing we overlook is the sea... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Smiths Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiths Court Cliftonville
Smiths Court Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing