We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Smiths Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smiths Court Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stay at Smiths court on a weekly basis whilst we are in Margate for business. It's location is excellent, with beautiful sea views and moments from the sandy beach.

The rooms are all clean, extremely comfortable and quiet, family rooms even have a kitchenette which is handy! There is ample car parking which is great during the busy season!

The staff provide a first class service and nothing is ever too much trouble, Abbie the manager is personable, efficient and ever so accommodating.

The food served is always of a high standard and the menu suits a variety of tastes, Drew, Connor and Jack are always on hand should you have any special requirements.

We enjoy our stays here so much that we also look forward to visiting for leisure too.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CeriseandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hi John and Cerise,

Thanks for your kind review. We were delighted when you chose our hotel as your base, and have enjoyed hosting you weekly over the past months. We are delighted that you have continued to use us, and your comments about the food and the staff are very kind..

We always look forward to your arrival, and hope that you will continue to use us well into the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were guests at wedding and stayed overnight. The staff were brilliant, very attentive, helpful and cheerful. The food was excellent - my husband is a very fussy eater, much preferring fish/chips or steak/chips etc and rarely comments on meals, but he really enjoyed the beautiful meal served to him (hotel have been kind enough to send me recipe so I can cook it for him). Our sea view room was gorgeous. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view room was excellent with panoramic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 47PatW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your great review. We hope that you have used the recipe that we sent you for the cod, and we are glad you enjoyed the sea view room.

We hope to see you back with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Would recommend this hotel for weekend stay for a break or festival, rooms were fresh clean and some with views perfect, food exactly what was asked for, the staff couldn't have been anymore helpful. a great weekend was had by all. Well done to Abbie and everyone.
Thanks again Peter Thorpe

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted that you found the staff helpful, the food to your liking, and the rooms perfect for your group. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and would welcome you back should you be looking for a similar venue in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant stayed for my birthday and also having wedding reception here in march. Abbie who owns and runs the hotel is brilliant nothing is ever to much hassle. Clean rooms great tv sizes . Double glazing so the little traffic is quiet stayed in 4c the executive suite gorgeous. . The food is also very yummy .Will visit many more times x

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicknosh61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and your wedding! Abbie thanks you for your kind words, and we are pleased that you enjoy the hotel so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Only an English seaside resort could have presented our "ladies' festival" group with this kind of funky experience. No characterless "flatpack" hotel this!. It turned out to be a place to treasure.
This three-star hotel looked as though it had been converted from a Victorian mansion by an eccentric architect.
The building just rambles, with unexpected flights of stairs leading to unexpected rooms Our sea-view room seemed spacious enough - until we examined the shower-room with toilet. It was the size of a couple of telephone kiosks, and we had to learn the art of squeezing in and out by juggling the door.
That said, my partner and I spent a happy weekend in Room 22. We like character in our hotels. The staff were helpful, polite and friendly. And the food is more than just good. Eating in the Orangery was a most pleasant experience.
One complaint. As is common in British hotels, if you arrive at lunchtime, expect what meagre staff are there to be rushed off their feet. Another pair of hands would have been worth their weight in public relations and customer satisfaction.
We liked the place.

Room Tip: Try Room 22, facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tovarisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your great review of the hotel. We are happy you liked the character of our hotel, as we work hard to ensure that we are not a faceless establishment. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food, and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

We note your comments about the staffing levels on your arrival, and have altered our processes to reflect your comments. We also note your points on the shower room, and we are hoping to develop all our rooms over time, including the bathrooms.

Again, thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Had a fantastic stay. My daughter and I were part of a fairly large group celebrating an event. We had a twin room with sea view. Found rooms to be of generous size and clean. Also plenty of parking and a lift. Staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. All I can say about the food, is that it was first class, including breakfast the next morning. If you are celebrating an event, I would recommend this hotel as it is excellent value for money. We also had a disco, not sure if he is a regular but was also very good. A very pleasant stay all round and would come back again. It was really nice to see the owner who made sure that we all had a good stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank n1ck4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your great review of our hotel. We are delighted that you found the food excellent, and that you would come back again to stay with us. It is also great that you found the rooms of a good size and clean...

Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We attended a Ladies night there, the Orangery Room was good and the food was good, unfortunately the hotel let the event down, it is in urgent need of attention everywhere! staff are polite but very slow in all they do! We had to wait over half an hour for a sandwich to be made! We won't be going back!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the food and The Orangery, and that you found the staff polite. We are sorry that you thought the hotel needed attention everywhere, as we have redecorated The Orangery, bar lounge, bar and Cumberland Suite - all the public areas - in the last 12 months, as well as a number of rooms.

It is a shame your experience didn't match the other members of your party, some of whom have given us 5 star reviews on here, and didn't match the great feedback we received from everyone we spoke to on check out. However, we appreciate your comments and have passed them on to the team.

Thank you again for taking the time to review the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margate hotels
0.3 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
548 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
0.8 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sherwood Hotel
Sherwood Hotel
#7 of 12 in Margate
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Court Hotel

Address: 21-27 Eastern Esplanade | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Margate
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Margate
Price Range: £48 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smiths Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Edwardian hotel, with 43 rooms. A number of single, double, twin, and family rooms. Also sea-view rooms available, or executive rooms and family suites. Full disabled access to the hotel, and specifically designed disabled rooms available. Free off-street parking, and plenty of free on-street parking outside. Eat in The Orangery restaurant attached, with a great sea view and stunning marble floors. Sit in our lounge and watch the sea, have a drink or afternoon tea. At Smiths Court, the only thing we overlook is the sea... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Smiths Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiths Court Cliftonville
Smiths Court Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing