We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding day 22-3-14”
Review of Smiths Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Smiths Court Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wedding day 22-3-14”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Wow I cant rate this venue enough. Lovely rooms great service friendly staff. Our wedding was amazing and all the guests said it was the best wedding food ever. Will be visiting again. And a big thank you to abbie and tony the owners who really go above and beyond. :-D

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicknosh61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We were delighted to share your special day, and we are delighted that you chose to spend that day in our hotel. We hope that you come back to see us again in the future, and we thank you for your personal comments about us - those kind of comments really do make everything worthwhile! Congratulations from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    125
    47
    33
    16
See reviews for
70
146
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Perfect venue for the ceremony, full wedding breakfast & evening reception without all the normal hidden extras. Offers the full package within a large venue, good quality food and fantastic staff making our day fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ahsatan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We love hosting weddings, and we are delighted that your day was fantastic. We are so privileged to be able to share a couple's special day, and we are so happy that you enjoyed that day with us. We wish you every success in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Well where do I begin, excellent from the moment we walked in. Nothing too much trouble, staff friendly and helpful at all times. The rooms are spotless with comfortable beds, a large t.v. and two comfortable chairs so you can sit and admire the lovely sea view. The bathroom was nice and modern with a lovely hot shower. The food was of a much higher standard than you would expect of a hotel of this rating, with a good choice of breakfast and an excellent evening meal in the orangery, which is beautifully decorated to a very high standard. All in all a lovely stay and we are sure our party will have a wonderful holiday. We have no worries at all about bringing them here. We have been organizing holidays for our club for twenty years and this has to be one of the best hotels we have ever used. I am sure we will be back time and time again, already looking forward to the next time. To Abbey and all her staff a great big thank you for making our stay so wonderful.

Room Tip: You only have to ask for your requirements and the staff and management will go out of their way to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank williams_pamela2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel bedroom, that you found the staff friendly, and that you enjoyed the food with us. Chef is particularly happy with the comment that you found the food to be of a much higher rating than you would expect!

We look forward to welcoming your group later in the year, and then hopefully in years to come as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have stayed in hotels of far higher standing than the Smiths Court, and many of them would do well to look here for an example of how to run a hotel. I stayed with my wife and friends for a weekend away, and throughout the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast is a buffet bar for cereal, fresh fruit and fruit salad etc. The cooked breakfast is cooked to order. Evening meals in the Orangery restaurant were fantastic, with a standard menu supplemented by daily specials. Orders for evening meals were taken in the bar, and then the party was called through when the first course was ready to be served, although we could have chosen to sit down and order if we had wished. I have to say I was impressed with the en suite kitchen, although I suspect not all rooms have this facility! It is just a shame our stay was too short to warrant it's use. I have to say I wasn't overly attracted to Margate itself, but there are plenty of other attractions within a short drive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barbicantrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review of the hotel. I don't think there is much better praise than holding us up as an example of how to run a hotel, and for that we thank you. We are happy that you enjoyed the breakfast and evening meal, as well as the rooms, and we hope that if you are ever in our neck of the woods again that you pop by and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights in Feb....don't know where to start!! Reception on arrival was curt and rude. Room was like something from a time warped,albeit clean and sufficed. Breakfast service first morning was farcical....no staff to be seen, no fruit or yoghurt as per menu and when we asked for some was offered a banana or apple. When we stated we assumed it would be a fruit salad,we were told we only do that every other day...obviously the wrong day! No staff or fruit appeared the next day either however by which time we had lost the will to live. Put this one down to experience I think!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are glad you found the room clean, although most reviewers who have mentioned the Executive rooms have found the bay window with sea view, the large seating area and the new bed worth mentioning, especially after a free upgrade to the executive room.

We were interested to read that you didn't see any staff, as my wife and I sat you and served you for breakfast. We offered you a piece of fruit before bringing you a bowl of fresh fruit salad from the kitchen, along with the cold buffet and the cooked breakfast.

You also mentioned that you had enjoyed your stay and didn't experience any problems when you checked out with us, but we will also put this down to experience.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramsgate
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel, & thoroughly enjoyed our stay from start to finish. The welcome we received from the staff was excellent. The food was fantastic. Lovely sea view from our room. Complimentary bottle of champagne & chocolates were left in our room when we had finished our meal, lovely touch. We will certainly stay here again & again.

Room Tip: The sea rooms are excellent. Large comfortable bed with large television.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandraRamsgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your great 5 star review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food, the meal and the room. We would look forward to welcoming you back again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

my husband I stayed on the 10th February for our anniversary break, the room was large and spotless with a good sized en-suite. Plenty of sachets of coffee, tea, sugar and sweeteners, pkt of biscuits, and cartons of milk. We had a meal in the orangery restaurant where the waiter was attentive but not cloying, I had the cod portugeize, lovely, and my husband had the pork tenderloin which he thoroughly enjoyed. A good night sleep was had in a large bed which was one of the most comfortable I have slept in, nice and quiet and with views that looked over the sea. I would stop again.

Room Tip: if you can get a room at the front, plenty to see and two comfortable chairs to gaze out to the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel. We are delighted that you ate in The Orangery restaurant and enjoyed the seasonal food on offer. We are happy you found the room large, clean and that you had a great night's sleep.

Again, we thank you for your words, and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
0.3 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
357 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
1.2 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#8 of 12 in Margate
20 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Court Hotel

Property: Smiths Court Hotel
Address: 21-27 Eastern Esplanade | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Margate
#2 Family Hotel in Margate
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Smiths Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Edwardian hotel, with 43 rooms. A number of single, double, twin, and family rooms. Also sea-view rooms available, or executive rooms and family suites. Full disabled access to the hotel, and specifically designed disabled rooms available. Free off-street parking, and plenty of free on-street parking outside. Eat in The Orangery restaurant attached, with a great sea view and stunning marble floors. Sit in our lounge and watch the sea, have a drink or afternoon tea. At Smiths Court, the only thing we overlook is the sea... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Smiths Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiths Court Cliftonville
Smiths Court Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing