We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptional value dog friendly hotel”
Review of Smiths Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Smiths Court Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“exceptional value dog friendly hotel”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We have searched for a dog friendly hotel for sometime and are so glad that we have found this lovely hotel. The accommodation has been recently refurbished and caters well for our needs as well as our pet. A nice touch was the pet bed and bowls in a basket. We were able to leave the hotel from our own exit at the front of the hotel without going through the main reception area which meant we had easy access to the Oval Band stand, promenade and the beach. It is within easy reach of the Turner Centre and Margate old town. We have already booked a return trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank brillohead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review of the Woodford Suite. We are glad that you liked the newly decorated room, and can't wait to welcome you back in July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    124
    47
    33
    16
See reviews for
70
144
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We held our wedding reception here and many of our guests stayed here too. The staff looked after us all really well and could not have been more helpful. Brilliant evening was had by all and we then stayed in the bridal suite which was beautiful. It is clear that a lot of money has been spent recently bringing the hotel up to standard as the rooms and the bathrooms look stylish and expensive.It is a really quiet hotel even though it was fully booked ( no slamming doors - big plus in my book!! ) we all had breakfast together in the lovely Orangery which was substantial and delicious. Well done to all, thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a sea view and relax with a cup of tea and enjoy the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Darrell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments and for holding your special day with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Honeymoon suite as the round of to your fabulous day, and we hope that you come back to see us all again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We paid £58 for a double room including breakfast! The room was very clean, modern and had all the facilities required. Breakfast was of a reasonable standard and was served in a very nice room in the orangery. Staff were helpful.
I would definately recommend as a good value low cost hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BeckenhamBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you found our pricing and product offers good value for money, and that you enjoyed the Orangery restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel should not be open.. Dirty run down... Outside and inside.. Staff ok...our room well do t know what to say... Dirty dirty old old... I would not have put my dog in it..... THIS HOTEL HAS TO HAVE MONEY SPENT ON IT... don't just take the money spend it in your hotel.... And outside. It was just as bad... Dirt then more dirt.... For god sake look after your hotel....PLEASE

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
As you have given no information at all about your stay, and we had nobody who matches your profile staying in May 2013, and as this review is 11 months old, I would suggest that you have either mixed us up with a different hotel, or have written this in spite.

You have given no indication of any specific problems, and you can see from all other reviews that our scores for cleanliness are very high. Add that to the re-designed lounge and re-painted outside of the hotel (carried out in April 2013) and it seems clear that this review is not intended for our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

What was ok: reception was ok, the shower was good.

Bad things: my TV didn't have any of the BBC channels (seriously?), the wifi was only available in the lobby (that was bad), the bed was way too soft, my room was either too cold or too hot (radiator was very powerful), the rooms look very old fashioned, it's also a 15 minute walk to town!
The breakfast was rubbish: pretty long wait, croissant was undercooked (that was disgusting) and on the 2nd day, I asked them for poached eggs and tomatoes and they only gave me 1 egg, that was weird!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel. As mentioned in a previous reply, we are upgrading our aerial system to improve reception when the signal is weak, and can only apologise that this impacted your stay. We also only offer wifi in the public areas, so are sorry if this was unclear.

We are also sorry that the bedding and heating was not to your tastes, and that it took 15 minutes to walk to town. However, we hope that the special price that we gave you and your colleagues to attend one of Margate's fabulous festivals went some way to negating these issues.

As for your experiences with breakfast, we can only apologise for the problems you faced. As other reviews show, breakfast is usually something that we provide to an excellent standard, so we can only apologise that this wasn't the case for you.

Thank you again for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

A welcoming reception and offered an upgrade to the 'honeymoon suite' for a small fee, well worth it, a freshly decorated tasteful room with a super view. Bathroom clean and spacious. We had a good nights sleep and a tasty and filling breakfast.
Areas for improvement for us would be. The room was for too not for us even with the heating off in the room, although we could not turn the bathroom down. The other thing is the very limited selection of. TV channels. No BBC 1 or 2 and little others. This would be easy to rectify.
Overall excellent and we would recommend it.

Room Tip: Sea view is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leprof_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your comments and your review. We are in the process of upgrading our aerial system as the reception in the whole Cliftonville area had been deteriorating over time, and very occasionally this means that certain channels are unavailable. We are sorry that this impacted on your stay. Otherwise, we are delighted that you enjoyed our Honeymoon Suite, and that the view was enjoyable for you.

We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The location is good on the sea front, and the room we had was clean and had a great view. When we checked in my wife asked if the room had a sea view, and the receptionist checked and then upgraded us to a sea view room free of charge. Very friendly and helpful staff and a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your comments, and your 5* scores for each of the sub-categories. We are happy you enjoyed our free upgrade, as well as the breakfast and the service. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margate hotels
0.3 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
492 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
685 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
0.2 mi away
Sherwood Hotel
Sherwood Hotel
#7 of 12 in Margate
73 reviews
1.2 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#8 of 12 in Margate
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Court Hotel

Property: Smiths Court Hotel
Address: 21-27 Eastern Esplanade | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Margate
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Smiths Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Edwardian hotel, with 43 rooms. A number of single, double, twin, and family rooms. Also sea-view rooms available, or executive rooms and family suites. Full disabled access to the hotel, and specifically designed disabled rooms available. Free off-street parking, and plenty of free on-street parking outside. Eat in The Orangery restaurant attached, with a great sea view and stunning marble floors. Sit in our lounge and watch the sea, have a drink or afternoon tea. At Smiths Court, the only thing we overlook is the sea... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Smiths Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiths Court Cliftonville
Smiths Court Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing