We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smiths Court Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sands Hotel(Margate)
US$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Margate Westwood(Margate)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Margate Hotel(Margate)(Great Value!)
US$90
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sherwood Hotel(Margate)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
199
137
53
38
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
199
137
53
38
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewhoneymoon suitepot roastkitchen areawedding breakfastfour poster bedlarge roomwedding receptionnothing too much troublefriendly hotelgreat weekendbreakfast roomcooked breakfastlovely foodlast weekendcar parksea front
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 448 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is the second time in five years smiths court hotel have been kind and flexible enough to accommodate myself and my two dogs, their service and attention to detail is exemplary I feel comfortable, relaxed and feel my individual needs as a guest are catered for. All this set in elegant surroundings with delicious food and beverages available throughout the day and evening. In my opinion one is getting four or five star service in a three star hotel. Enjoy as I have!
Joanna zec, guest

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoannaZec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This room is a converted office, still has office lights and large cupboard painted, a rail put in for clothes. There was nowhere to put your towel in the bathroom yet this was already mentioned in another review. The knob was missing off the bathroom lock . The fire escape door was locked. The view was a wall and their are office blinds. Stayed two days out of the three days booked. Hotel was fully booked so could not change room. The best room of the hotel is the dinning area. As their is not much to do in Margate the hotel has to be great to make u go back. Will not be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank vicky p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your review of the hotel. The room, the Woodford Suite, is newly refurbished, but has never been an office. We use blinds in a number of our rooms, as well as a range of different lights to try and give each room a different character, and we often make use of a number of quirky crannies (due to the nature of the Edwardian building) to build our own wardrobes and hanging spaces. You mentioned to us on reception that there was nowhere to hang your towels, and so we provided a hook that afternoon for you.

It is true that the hotel was fully booked with the group that you travelled with, and everyone else seemed to enjoy their stay. We were sorry to hear that you were leaving early, but when you explained that it was due to health reasons, and those reasons had caused you to go to bed early and had stopped you from enjoying the entertainment on the previous evening, we wished you a safe travel home.

On a final point, the 'fire escape' door is the room's own private entrance and exit to the outside of the hotel, and the key was provided with your room key. For security reasons, we cannot allow an external door into a bedroom to remain unlocked.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay, and can only apologise. We are glad that you enjoyed The Orangery restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My wife and I held our Ladies weekend at this hotel on the 10.05.14.A number off guests stayed and all were pleased with the cleanliness of the rooms and the attentiveness of the staff ,for whom nothing was too much trouble.The function itself was to a very large degree organised by the hotel and we can speak highly enough of the attention to detail.The food throughout was exceptional and was befitting of a hotel of a much higher star rating.The charges were to say the least very reasonable and we would recommend anyone considering a function to seriously consider this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that your weekend was a success, and we are happy that you found the staff, rooms, food and cleanliness to your liking,

We are especially delighted that you have said that the food was befitting of a hotel with a much higher star rating, and Chef is understandably overjoyed!

We hope that you may consider us in the future, and we were delighted that you chose us for your weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I would like to say that we had our wedding at this hotel on Saturday 3rd May. We had a fantastic day from start to finish. Abbie could not do enough for us. Would highly recommend if you are thinking of getting married in the near future. The price was very good, & Abbie helps you from the beginning till the end. We had a sit down meal, followed by a lovely hog roast carvery in the evening, Brilliant. All of our guests have told us what a great day & night they all had.

Room Tip: We were given the honeymoon suite & 4 rooms for some of our guests in with the price. Lovely sea views
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sandraRamsgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We were delighted to host your special day, and that you found Abbie helpful before and during the day! I agree that the hog roast is very special, and we are very happy that you enjoyed such an important day with us at the hotel.

We hope that you come back and see us very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just had a one night stay here, we were allocated a basement room, nice shower room but nowhere to hang towels or clothes, decor in the room ok, smelt a bit fusty, hadn't been vacuumed carpet grubby. Duvet cover nice clean white cotton, but bottom sheet still had previous occupants hair attached, various types...yuk. Told reception who had it sorted straight away. Area is very run down, which is a shame as it could be so nice, lovely views out over the sea. Breakfast ok, nothing special. Wouldn't go back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank reddog12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyBurton, Owner at Smiths Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

We are sorry that your stay didn't meet our usual standards, and can only apologise. I know that when you mentioned that there were problems to our receptionist, our staff tried to rectify these problems as soon as possible, but this doesn't change the fact that our high standards were missed.

Margate is constantly improving, and we are excited to see the gradual improvements, so we hope that should you ever be close to Margate again in the future, you stop by to see the improvements first hand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews