We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Very Impressed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill
Ranked #8 of 13 Margate B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not Very Impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Not a great stay to be honest. Room was average, but smelt of damp. Great sea view was about the only plus point. Breakfast was a shambles, as was payment on departure. I was made to go trawling round town looking for a cash machine because their card payment machine was out of order and they didn't want to call someone out that day to fix it. Not what I'd call customer service

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    35
    23
    15
    28
See reviews for
23
61
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed here in January after booking on Laterooms. The hotel room should have been cleaner and was very dusty. It started us of with coughing and sneezing all the time being inside the room. We found a sweet wrapper in the room, the light bulb was higher and sticking out of the lamp's lampshade. Breakfast wasn't all that good and very tight on when I asked for an additional item. The Blue Brother's figures outside were looking very worn and the dining room needed modernising and wanted little figures etc binning.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

Ok so for 80 quid wasn't expecting the Ritz, but everything was tired - fittings, towels, bedding... We shared the adjoining joyful sounds of ablutions, showers and chatter without that being in the brochure. Shower was both hot and cold all during the same shower time so shower time was not pleasant. The closeness of the rooms meant it felt like a commune and really not very private. Staff were pretty scarce but friendly when we saw them. Breakfast was ok and the best part of the experience but we did run out of coffee...

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Margate hotels

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Shower covered in hairs, cracked toilet pan again dirty, room generaly taty . The convertion of the house ment the rooms can be very niosy, and when you complain to the management they claim no one else is staying at the hotel. Yes its a budjet hotel but it does not rate a three star rating

Room Tip: go some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Leonards on sea
Level Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed here on Saturday the 2nd of June. The welcome was warm, the room was ok but in need of a spruce up and a good clean and the double bed was very small. Breakfast was also ok but nothing to rave about. We wouldn't go out of our way to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigdoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

Hi, stayed a night and was thankful it wasnt longer, the bed had fleas and was itchy and I got bitten. Doors were banged all the time and there wasnt even toilet roll available. The breakfast wasnt cooked properly and was served by an obnoxious youth with an attitude problem. Avoid at all costs

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank poltergeist7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Arrived at guest house, young lad helped carry my girlfriends bag to our room (10), good job he did as we had to climb almost 6 flights of stairs, when we got inside room or should I say the attic very disappointed as the pictures on the website made the rooms look much bigger than they were, the ensuite bathroom as they called it was very small you could literally hold both your arms out and touch it wall to wall. the sea view as they said was from a small window above the toilet of which you had to stand on a stool to look out of. The bathroom smelt musty. To top the night stays off we were woken up early hours of the morning by hearing the couple next door having sex where i guess the walls were that thin. Breakfast was okish, first time I had full english in guest house or hotel where you get cheap tinned tomatoes instead of fresh, my girlfriend made herself a mug of coffee and noticed right at the last mouthful that the bottom of the cup was dirty with remains of what looked like soup or something stuck to the bottom of the mug. Overal was very disappointing nights stay. Wont be going back to Margate in a hurry!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Daisychain467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margate hotels
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#3 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.0 mi away
Smiths Court Hotel
Smiths Court Hotel
#6 of 12 in Margate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Warwick Guest House
The Warwick Guest House
#1 of 13 in Margate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill

Property: The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill
Address: 29 Eastern Esplanade | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Malvern Guest House in Margate is a family run 3 star Guest House with licensed Bar & Blues Grill Restaurant. The grill is open from Easter until September.The Malvern is a 5 story Victorian terraced property located on the Eastern Esplanade overlooking the Oval lawns with direct Sea-views to the front of the property most rooms are En-suite. All Rooms have tea/coffee facilities, flat screen TVs with built in Free-view, Hair dryer, Iron & ironing board plus Beds with memory foam toppers for guests comfort and a good nights sleep. Guest toiletries are provided and rooms serviced daily. There is Free WI-FI throughout the property. There is ample free on street parking directly outside and opposite The Malvern Guest House.The Malvern is in a central location ideally situated for all the local beaches and attractions including Dreamland, The Turner Contemporary and The Winter Gardens. Westwood Cross shopping centre is also close by as is the towns of Ramsgate & Broadstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing