We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill
Ranked #7 of 13 Margate B&B and Inns
essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

This was my first stay in Margate and the best hotel in kent, I had sea view and the staff were extremely accommodating from the moment I walked in the door, the hotel was very clean and tidy and the best fresh breakfast, I will be going back

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deborah e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalvern, Owner at The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing our property
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    38
    23
    15
    28
See reviews for
23
62
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

On arriving at the hotel we were greeted by the owner, a very friendly and welcoming lady, and I instantly knew we would be looked after and made to feel at home.

Our twin room was a decent size, very clean (including the en suite bathroom) and although basic, had everything we could need to make us comfortable for the duration of our stay.

Breakfast in the morning was very tasty and we had several options of cooked breakfasts alongside breakfast cereals, fruit, yoghurts and croissants, as well as a choice of different teas, coffees and fruit juices.

The quirky decoration in the bar/dining room gives The Malvern a real personal touch, as do the personal photographs and newspaper cuttings collected by the family over the years. We were served by both the female owner of the guesthouse and her teenage son during breakfast times and found them to be not only polite and efficient, but also attentive and friendly.

We paid £65 a night for our twin room with breakfast, which I think, given the overall experience we had at The Malvern, is an absolute bargain and we will definitely be booking again next time we visit Margate.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveWicks85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalvern, Owner at The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing our property
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This b&b is a very good it is clean the staff are very friendly the breakfast was truly amazing and the size of the bedroom was bigg enough for my family and the veiw from our window was brilliant and i am booking for next year already

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thehonestman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themalvern, Owner at The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing our property
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed here 1 night and that was enough. The duvet cover had blood stain on and the TV didn't receive a signal and would not find any programmes when you tried to retune it. The sea view was excellent but that was probably the best feature. Breakfast was ok but not brilliant. There was orange juice but no glasses to put it in, so I used a coffee cup. Although wifi is advertied it doesn't always work. The room could do with a smaller sink so the shower door opens fully to allow you to stand on the bath mat to dry

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Margate hotels

Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

The fading life-size effigies of the Blues Brothers unfortunately set the tone effectively. It all feels a bit tired and has seen better days. We booked a first floor room due to health issues but ended up on the fifth floor instead - when challenged, all we got was a shrug of the shoulders and a "sorry" (although they did help lug the suitcase up the stairs). The bed was uncomfortable, the lamp didn't work, the hot water didn't work in the en-suite, we had to go hunting for toilet paper and the breakfast was greasy and bland.

On the plus side, they did provide us with a portable fridge to store my wife's tablets and this was really helpful. Very good value, too. Also, it was a big improvement on the shockingly bad Tim Burton-esque Margate B&B we'd stayed in the previous year...

Someone really needs to make a decision to get rid of those Blues Brothers models at the entrance. They add nothing and make the place look tacky...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deejay66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay here and I must say it really was lovely.
We were greeted at the door by a smartly dressed young man who showed us to our room and informed us of the surrounding shops, beach resturants etc.
The room was lovely very clean and homely,it had all we needed,tea, coffee, bathroom and nice comfy bed.
We woke in the morning after a really good nights sleep to a lovely breakfast which was very well cooked. The young manager there was doing a brilliant job running it all on his own.
We had a great couple of days in margate and would definitely return here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouiseHampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Turned up they charged us more when we booked it for 4 people but as everywhere was fully booked we had to stay. The guy in charge was rude and unhelpful. Bar and restaurant weren't open and everything we asked we had a one word response 'NO' beds uncomfortable and room unclean. Bad smell of damp. Seriously there's a gorgeous hotel two houses down which was like luxury and they were cheaper but sadly fully booked. I cannot express how rude the staff were apart from the young boy (no older than 13-14) who was helpful. Awful stay and feel robbed of £80!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jwildman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margate hotels
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
0.8 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#3 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Smiths Court Hotel
Smiths Court Hotel
#6 of 12 in Margate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.2 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#8 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill

Property: The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill
Address: 29 Eastern Esplanade | Cliftonville, Margate CT9 2HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Malvern Guest House in Margate is a family run 3 star Guest House with licensed Bar & Blues Grill Restaurant. The grill is open from Easter until September. The Malvern is a 5 story Victorian terraced property located on the Eastern Esplanade overlooking the Oval lawns with direct sea views to the front of the property; most rooms are en-suite. All rooms have tea/coffee facilities, flat screen TVs with built in Free-view, hair dryer, iron & ironing board plus beds with memory foam toppers for guests' comfort and a good night's sleep. Guest toiletries are provided and rooms serviced daily. There is free WI-FI throughout the property. There is ample free on street parking directly outside and opposite The Malvern Guest House.The Malvern is in a central location ideally situated for all the local beaches and attractions including Dreamland, The Turner Contemporary and The Winter Gardens. Westwood Cross shopping centre is also close by as are the towns of Ramsgate & Broadstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Malvern Guest House & Blues Grill Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing