We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, awesome staff!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nayland Rock Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Margate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nayland Rock Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service, awesome staff!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

The rooms might need some refurbishments but the nice staff and the charming atmosphere totally made up for that. We went there with a group of almost 20 people and booked several single, twin and triple rooms. Everyone was happy with the condition of their rooms. Some of us spent the evening at the hotel bar and had a nice chat with the receptionist and she helped us with the planning of our further travels. I've never encountered a friendlier hotel staff before. The English breakfast was amazing as well and the view on the beach stunning. The hotel is in walking distance from Margate centre and there's plenty of space for parking right in front of it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Akash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    10
    8
    8
    12
See reviews for
8
19
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

We were 15 students traveling together. I found the hotel perfect for our use. Clean beds, nice rooms, good space and breakfast in the morning with serials, yogurt and a plate of "English breakfast". The dining room is wonderful with a great view of the ocean through large windows. The women who runs the place was very nice and gave us good service. I really enjoyed my stay here, and i recommend others to stay here. It's a good alternative to hostels or similar.

I can't imagine how wonderful it must be to have your breakfast in the dining room in the summer, overlooking the ocean.


:)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

As a part of our student weekend trip we stayed one night at this lovely family-run hotel. We had a very warm welcome and felt immediately comfortable thanks to an excellent service! The location couldn't be any better with the sea next to the hotel! You have got beautiful views from the rooms and particularly from the breakfast room. I would definitely come back! Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PVro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

After making the mistake of not booking on a bank holiday, and 8 hours of trying to find somwhere to stay this was the only place in thanet that had a room (now we know why).Our intention was to stay for 4 nights and offered to pay by card. Fortunately for us they didnt have that faccility, so we left them with £100 and were prepared to pay the balance the next day (£76.00 per night) It wasnt until we had actually settled in the room that we realised we had made a grave mistake (i know ....but we were desperate to sleep)
This "hotel" is nothing more than a DOSS HOUSE, in fact if I was homeless and deperate to find somwhere to live I wouldnt go near it again. The list of complaints is epic.....Filthy carpets, filthy pillows , filthy walls, filthy toilet faccilities. The owner of this property should be prosecuted by the local council for what they are offering as "hotel accomodation" my wife was woken in the middle of the night by what sounded like "gnawing noises" coming from what was supposed to be a wardrobe. I hardly slept a wink because of the state of the bed. Having had what can only be described as "the worst night I have ever spent in a hotel" we decided at 5.00am in the morning to load up the car and go home.
I have no idea how previous reviewers have managed to find anything positive to say about this place, but I honestly believe that the "nayland rock" should be closed down for health reasons.
UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES GO THERE !!!!

Room Tip: DONT GO TO THIS PLACE there are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank bazfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Margate hotels

Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

I booked this hotel out of nostalgic interest as I stayed there as a child. The booking was for myself my mother and nine year old daughter. The outside was rough however the reception looked nice and familiar in a retro 80s way and the manageress was lovely. However we soon discovered that the hotel had been used for asulym seekers 12 years ago under a home office contract and the hotel had never recovered since. It appeared that virtually no money had been put in to the hotel maintenance since the asylum seekers left and the majority of borders were residents sent there and paid for by the dole office. The rooms were of a standard the council provide to homeless and we paid £80 a night for our stay. The carpets were filthy, the furniture filthy damaged and old. The bathrooms and floors verminous. The cleaner had been in however nothing could recover the damage done and condition of this. We got the impression the manageress was embarrassed to offer us this accomodation as she knew it was desperate but she was battling against the odds to keep it going. We received a refund for the second night as we simply couldn't bear the depressing rooms and filth and the loud vulgar noise ll night from other council benefit residents. The rooms reaked of stale food and grime from previous tenants. Unfortunately the nay land rock hotel that was once a beautifully hotel is no longer fit for holiday let it is a half way house.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Chucklefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
236 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Hotel has free parking outside and the bus stop is right outside as well. You can walk in to Margate centre in 10 minutes which has some great individual shops and you get great views of the beach and sea from the breakfast room. You have to pay £3.50 extra for full cooked breakfast otherwise it is just tea/coffee, toast and cereal.
Carol and Cyril (night porter) are very welcoming and obviousley work very hard at their business. They even opened the bar for us at 1am in the morning when we got back from the concert. Building is in need of some cosmetic repair but the bedrooooms are clean and tidy and for the price the hotel is perfectly adequate for a 1 night stay.
Yes it may not be the Ritz but it is not pretending to be - would stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Cannot understand why Environmental services in Margate have not closed the place down.
the carpets were extremely dirty, don't know when the taps were last cleaned, could hardly see out of the windows they were so dirty.
The breakfast was adequate but don't know when she last changed the fat she cooked the eggs it tasted awful.

Room Tip: Request to see the room before you hand over any money for the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margate
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Somerville Hotel
Somerville Hotel
#8 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
1.2 mi away
Smiths Court Hotel
Smiths Court Hotel
#6 of 12 in Margate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
4.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayland Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayland Rock Hotel

Property: Nayland Rock Hotel
Address: 1-5 Royal Crescent | Canterbury Road, Margate CT9 5AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly situated right on Margate Sea front, sea views, bed & breakfast, function rooms for hire, wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nayland Rock Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing