We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute”
Review of Nayland Rock Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Margate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nayland Rock Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We went to margate for a day out but decided to spend the night,we asked local residents and they pointed out the hotel,we arrived and felt welcome from the work go!we had no toiletries but Carol the manager sorted that out as soon as we got there,the views and relaxed atmosphere was superb, the dog called Dilly was most entertaining,we will certainly be back again and will book before as I think this hotel is popular and we will want to stay there again on our return trip.

Room Tip: Carol the manager I believe have good knowledge and will give you a choice of rooms
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Nayland Rock Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Situated right next to the main beach with an amazing balcony view of the sea. Service was incredible, any requests were positively dealt with. Very cheap and quiet. I will definetly be visiting again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DDDanittoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Not bad, considering the rates. It is located just a few steps from the beach. It is quiet and friendly. The manager is very accommodating. It all depnds on what you are looking for, but if you want to get away from it all, that is the place. You cannot ask for more.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband and i stayed at this magnificent hotel from 24 to26th September 2013. This wonderful building is being lovingly cared for and rescued by the manager, Carol. We were made very welcome and treated to the fascinating history of the place.
Two Margate gems - Carol and her hotel! Give it a try.

Room Tip: facing the sea, of course
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

well iv stayed in margate 3 times in bnbs hated them so didn't really want t come again but we found nayland rock so we thorght we would try the hotel as a last hope to find a nice place that we liked well we found 1 at the nayland rock we arrived to a warm and friendly welcome and all the staff are warm and freindley and are there to help if you need any thing and yes the building is old but that's the charm of it its warm and comfortable with every thing you need the sea views are fantastic carnt fault the staff or the place at all we loved it and will definatly be back in September the only complaint I have is we ave to leave the stunning views and carnt wait to go back thank you to all the staff at nayland rock for the best stay in margate we ave had to date Katie from barnsley

Room Tip: a balconey room with sea view carnt beat it
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank healss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

The rooms might need some refurbishments but the nice staff and the charming atmosphere totally made up for that. We went there with a group of almost 20 people and booked several single, twin and triple rooms. Everyone was happy with the condition of their rooms. Some of us spent the evening at the hotel bar and had a nice chat with the receptionist and she helped us with the planning of our further travels. I've never encountered a friendlier hotel staff before. The English breakfast was amazing as well and the view on the beach stunning. The hotel is in walking distance from Margate centre and there's plenty of space for parking right in front of it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Akash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We were 15 students traveling together. I found the hotel perfect for our use. Clean beds, nice rooms, good space and breakfast in the morning with serials, yogurt and a plate of "English breakfast". The dining room is wonderful with a great view of the ocean through large windows. The women who runs the place was very nice and gave us good service. I really enjoyed my stay here, and i recommend others to stay here. It's a good alternative to hostels or similar.

I can't imagine how wonderful it must be to have your breakfast in the dining room in the summer, overlooking the ocean.


:)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margate hotels
1.5 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
530 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
730 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crescent Victoria Hotel
Crescent Victoria Hotel
#4 of 12 in Margate
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
1.1 mi away
Sherwood Hotel
Sherwood Hotel
#7 of 12 in Margate
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayland Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayland Rock Hotel

Address: 1-5 Royal Crescent | Canterbury Road, Margate CT9 5AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Margate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Margate
Price Range: £25 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly situated right on Margate Sea front, sea views, bed & breakfast, function rooms for hire, wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nayland Rock Hotel Margate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing