We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family outing”
Review of Dreamland Margate

Dreamland Margate
Ranked #15 of 57 things to do in Margate
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: DREAMLAND MARGATE - THE UK'S ORIGINAL PLEASURE PARK RE-IMAGINED 'Oh I do like to be beside the seaside...' Kiss me quick! Soon Margate will once again echo with the sounds (and screams) of delight and wonder, as visitors old and young enjoy the Great British seaside amusement experience first-hand. Following a passionate 11-year 'Save Dreamland' campaign, Dreamland Margate will be reborn. The UK's original Pleasure Park is being re-imagined, ready to welcome a new generation of fun-seeking visitors to an 'old fashioned, yet oh-so-fashionable' world of thrills, amusements and good times. 'There's nowhere quite like Dreamland' Where else in the UK can you clamber aboard a host of stylishly restored, recreated and retro-fitted rides and amusements from the Golden Age of British seaside hols? 'Roll up, roll up!' There'll be more than just brilliant retro rides and amusements. Dreamland will be a world where vintage cool holds hands with modern design, and goes for a lovely beachside stroll. To keep those smiles wide, we've got your British comfort food favourites, all lovingly made from local Kent produce, We've also lined up a host of unmissable events, celebrating the best of British Culture, each with that unmistakable Dreamland vibe. 'Scream-if-you-want-to-go-faster' Bringing their buckets, spades and quirky sense of British style to Dreamland is HemingwayDesign, led by Hemingways Wayne, Gerardine and Jack. They've worked closely with local artists and Margate enthusiasts to get the sights, sounds, even the smells of the seaside fun park just right, with all the timeless cheeky charm intact. Everywhere you look, there will be a wonderful sense of seaside magic brings rides, classic sideshows and traditional fairground games lovingly back to life Not to mention film screenings, concerts and amazing installations too. All part of the great big happy day out that will be Dreamland Margate.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

after paying £ 96.00 to get in and proof of my disability demanded ( i am in a mobility scooter and on oxygen ) and waiting at the checkout 10 mins so a manager can be found ) Rides are closed and no notice is given on entry.
I am informed a Proof of disability will be needed in future !!! NOT GOING TO HASPPEN !! Toilets Closed Food very overpriced and i am a local .
A Load of C@~!

2  Thank Shaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamlandMarg, Guest Experience at Dreamland Margate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Shaun, thank you for leaving us feedback we appreciate all feedback and comments we receive. We are sorry you are unhappy with your experience. Your comments have been passed on to the relevant departments. Best Wishes, Team Dreamland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"scenic railway"
in 430 reviews
"roller disco"
in 150 reviews
"big wheel"
in 135 reviews
"theme park"
in 93 reviews
"crazy mouse"
in 48 reviews
"thorpe park"
in 44 reviews
"bumper cars"
in 38 reviews
"vintage rides"
in 28 reviews
"retro feel"
in 25 reviews
"unlimited rides"
in 23 reviews
"white knuckle"
in 21 reviews
"pinball machines"
in 19 reviews
"octopus garden"
in 22 reviews
"great fun"
in 99 reviews
"old fashioned"
in 28 reviews
"fond memories"
in 22 reviews
"summer holidays"
in 20 reviews
Filter

25 - 29 of 1,895 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Myself, my wife and son went yesterday - 27th May. Hardly any rides were open, and this wasn't explained to us when we went it. In fact - somebody from the staff came up to us and actually advised us to buy the wristbands for all rides. It was a major disappointment when we got in and so many were closed.

It's all very well the management saying on previous reviews that there will be 9 extra rides open for the summer season - but that doesn't help those that took the longish trip up there only to find most of the rides out of action, and yet them still prepared to take your full price hard earned for half (and I'm being generous here) the experience.

We didn't find the staff particularly helpful or courteous either. All in all, it feels like money wasted, and we will not be returning again - even once the new rides are open.

As the title states - really not worth the money in it's current form. bad show on a bank holiday weekend when the sun is out. Save your money and spend it on ice creams and drinks on the beach instead - now that was much more fun than this p'pleasyre' park. Dreamland was more like Baddreamland.

2  Thank Zook2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamlandMarg, Guest Experience at Dreamland Margate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Zook2011, thank you for your feedback. I am sorry your experience of the park was not to your expectations. Although we are making way for our 9 new rides we do still have over 15 rides available for the family to enjoy, as well as free content for everyone to enjoy. Your comments have been noted and I once again thank you for leaving us feedback, we appreciate all feedback we receive. Best Wishes, Team Dreamland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Dont get me wrong, this is absoloutely fantastic for the family to enjoy.Shame the rides are looking very tired and old. But still fun! It can get busy especially during half term times though. Theres also an indoor rollerdisco which im telling myself i need to try out next time!

Thank ana91ana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamlandMarg, Guest Experience at Dreamland Margate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi ana91ana, thank you for the positive feedback, we appreciate all feedback we receive. We are currently making way for our exciting 9 new rides that will be with us in the next coming months. Their will be something for everyone to enjoy. We hope to welcome you and your family back again soon! Best Wishes, Team Dreamland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I visited here today with my wife and children. It was very colourful and pretty as we entered. We were unsure on what tickets to buy, I didn’t know it was pay to enter bur we were greeted by friendly staff..
After arriving at the tills we were served by a lady called Alanis who was very helpful, she explained everything to us and helped us make our decision, fantastic customer service!! Me and my family were very pleased and were happy to spend £54 for the day;
We will be for sure be visiting here again, only 2 hours on the train and a fantastic day out for all the family.

Thank darren23334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamlandMarg, Guest Experience at Dreamland Margate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Darren, thank you ever so much for leaving us great feedback, my colleague has been informed of the high praise you have left for her. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon! Best Wishes, Team Dreamland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was berry expensive and lots of rides were closed when we went. Encouraged to buy prepaid Cards, but unable to get the money back off. Also, most of the food vendors do not accept these cards.

Thank Clark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamlandMarg, Guest Experience at Dreamland Margate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Clark, thank you for your feedback we are sorry if some our rides were closed, our rides are vintage and our team do work as quickly as they can to rectify any maintenance issues that may have occurred. I do hope this has not put you off any future visits to the park, as we have an extremely exciting year ahead of us with out 9 new rides and content arriving throughout the park. Best Wishes, Team Dreamland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dreamland Margate also viewed

Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 
Margate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Dreamland Margate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing