We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of The Dering Arms

The Dering Arms
Reserve with OpenTable
The Dering Arms is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Pluckley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$46
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Finding the Dering Arms can prove to be a challenge, but once mastered, sit back, relax and enjoy the food! If you are a lover of sea food, and have a good appetite, the Fruits de Mer platter is superb. Be warned, it has to be ordered in advance and is only served for two sharing. As we were celebrating my father's birthday it was a treat to see him enjoy the never ending selection of fish and seafood including wonderfully fresh crab and lobster. For those with smaller appetites the menu features many daily specials with a strong emphasis on fish which you can be assured is local and always very fresh. Considering the quality, the price one pays is fair, not inexpensive, but on does not dine like this everyday.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Princpessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Went here yesterday with a party of friends after a morning shooting clays. It's very close to Pluckley station so a great stop off choice for anyone travelling on the line between London - Ashford - Canterbury - Ramsgate.

This is no ordinary country pub: the building is faux Jacobean and inside it is a taxidermists delight with various stuffed birds, as well as angling rods on the walls, motor-sports paintings and other curios.

Good beer from Kentish brewery Goachers (including an own branded Dering Ale) and a really excellent wine list. The landlord was very knowledgeable on the wine and steered us to a less expensive white Burgundy than the one we were minded to order, which was superb.

Menu has a strong seafood theme (including oysters, Dover sole, sea bass, fruits de mer, flaked hake in cheese sauce, prawns by the pint) although also has steaks, duck confit and a lamb option.

Had a warm potted crab for starters and skate wing with capers and beurre noire. Both excellent if like butter! Four if our party had the steaks which were well executed.

Wasn't busy, though admittedly it was a late lunch.

Would thoroughly recommend a visit to the Dering Arms on the basis of the overall combination if venue, food and wine list.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jasonanddebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Excellent menu with lots of fish options which are a speciality. Local micro brewery beer was very good. Premises are a bit tired but nowhere near sufficiently so to detract from the quality of our meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GrahamF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chomeley, Owner at The Dering Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your meal and beer.
The restoration is in hand. Bedrooms completed, Bars next ! Thanks again.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The Dering Arms is my favourite. It is an old hunting lodge and consequently very atmospheric. The food on our last visit in March was top notch. We went with my daughter, her husband and our two granddaughters. The children were given half adult meals and everything was cooked to our request. Service was superb. I think this place is unique. Environment, atmosphere and quality of food all special.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chomeley, Owner at The Dering Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review. There doesn't seem to be very many guests that understand / appreciate or enthuse about what we offer.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My husband and I just had Sunday lunch at the Dering Arms, what a find! A beautiful, cosy atmospheric traditional pub restaurant in Pluckley where we sat by a roaring fire and ordered from the extensive menu and the well appointed wine list.

The whole meal was delicious, a favourite food moment being the Sussex Smokies - a delightful concoction of smoked haddock in a cheesy sauce with a caramelised grilled top and crispy toasted bread slices for dipping, divine! Another highlight was the rock salted chips and swordfish steak. All accompanied by a reasonably priced Cloudy Bay Chardonnay and serviced in a relaxed and charming atmosphere.

We will be back!

Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chomeley, Owner at The Dering Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for review.. We look forward to your return. This is a welcome change from customers moaning about " a fortune" for home cooked ham, free range eggs and crunchie sea salt chips ! ! OR " meagre portions " that most struggle to finish !
Thank you again. Please ask for some wine recommendations on your next visit as we have some stars.
Best regards.
James.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dering Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Dering Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing