We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Return”
Review of Stramacchio - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Stramacchio
Price range: US$23 - US$46
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A little piece of Italy nestled comfortably in the English countryside. Stramacchio Italiano is a unique restaurant combining home-made Italian food with the charm of our historic Kentish farmstead. Why not enjoy an afternoon tea on the sun terrace Thursday - Sunday from 3pm. A great excuse to let the kids explore the open fields, a catch up with friends or to celebrate an upcoming occasion with family. Evening meals available Tuesday-Sunday from 6.30pm. Sit inside Casa Stramacchio or out on the front terrace enjoying the sunset. We can get very busy and we always advise booking to avoid disappointment.
NW Kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Will Return”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Mother's Day lunch. Excellent food (rare and succulent beef). Polite and attentive staff - eager to please. Splendid setting. Relaxed atmosphere. Pleasant bar. What more can anyone want? Five stars is very difficult - if not impossible - to achieve for anyone, but certainly four++

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaullesNWKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    18
    3
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch at Elvey Farm”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We have just had a lovely lunch at Elvey Farm restaurant.
As soon as we arrived we were welcomed by the host who opened the door for us. She was very welcoming and greeted us by name when we entered, even though she only knew us by the booking.
The food was excellent. My wife had the smoked salmon and I had ham turine to start which were both very good. We chose the same main which was pork loin. It arrived with seasonal vegetables and potatoes and was hot and delicious. We barely had room for pudding but we indulged and had spiced apple crumble and cinnamon pannacotta.

The wine was house red and was very smooth. The whole experience was excellent and we will be back!


Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RichardP552013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“wonderful afternoon tea”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I visited a couple of weeks ago with a friend to celebrate a special birthday. It was a miserable day but we were given a very warm welcome. Only one other group in, which surprised us. thankfully i had not had any lunch, as we were served with beautfully presented cake stand with sandwiches, delicious scones home cooked on the aga, brownies and cupcakes. Excellent selection of teas. attentive and friendly service. we will definitely be visiting again. If I could change one thing, it would be to have smaller portions of brownies, cupcakes, etc, with more choice. so say three small cakes rather than two huge ones. But we did eat them all and they were lovely! so thank you Elvey for helping make my friend's 50th birthday so special.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trekkerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“beautiful food and setting”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Although we arrived on a very wet and soggy night in February, it was still apparent that this was a beautiful setting.
Welcoming reception area and we were taken straight thru to the dining room.
Very nice atmosphere and again lovely setting.
The food was gorgeous. I had the chicken with mushroom risotto - stunning. So much flavour.
A really lovely evening - will definitely be returning on a better evening to fully appreciate the surroundings

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prill62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I recently visited on a night out for my Mother's retirement celebration. On arrival we were greeted by the staff opening the door for us, taking our coats and seating us next to a wood fire that was burning away. After some drinks at the bar, we were seated in the (old English quaint styled) restaurant and had a wonderful meal. The starters were plentiful and wonderfully selected and as for the main...the best venison i have ever had.
Highly recommend this restaurant if you like friendly professional service with amazing food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank invictaknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stramacchio also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing