We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pluckley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bow Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Pluckley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Lois and Andrew made us most welcome in their beautiful cottage. When we arrived we were made tea, coffee and freshly made cake, our ensuite room was lovely and overlooked the duck pond. We had supper there, a nice omelette and salad with home made bread and Lois and Andrew shared their bottle of wine with us - much appreciated. Our whole experience was wonderful and we felt like we were in a friend's home.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013

It was our 3rd stays (May 2012, December 2012 with our 2 daughters and May 2013) in one year and it was as marvellous as the first time. Lois and her husband, Andrew are more than perfect and warm hosts for us, they are very friendly and each time we come back to Bow Cottage, it's a bit like visiting our family. Lois is an fabulous cooker !
Bow cottage is in the hart of the countryside on a very quite and beautiful environment !

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Axelle_and_Laurent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We arrived at Bow Cottage on an unseasonably and bitterly cold day. However, the brilliant Lois had thought ahead and lit a welcoming fire. I was not surprised as these are the sort of touches she is famed for and this is what sets her excellent bed and breakfast apart from the rest. This was our second stay at Bow Cottage and it was as equally enjoyable as the first. We arranged in advance dinner at the cottage and what a dinner it was! We feasted upon deer, dumplings and a range of delicious local cheeses. The following day was equally cold and it was a wrench to wrestle ourselves away from this little sanctuary of sublime service. We can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Our second time staying at Bow Cottage was just as good as the first. Lois and Andrew met us with a pot of tea and home made cake, which is a good job as we were looking forward to it remembering from last time we stayed!! Rooms immaculately clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, especially the fruit salad and as an added touch as it was Easter Sunday, we were given warm hot cross buns.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenKent_england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2112mole, Owner at Bow Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review we really do appreciate it and it also encourages us to try even harder to ensure you enjoy your stay with us is all you hoped for, thank you and we hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Had a wonderful overnight stay here while attending a wedding at Elvey Farm. Bow cottage is a fabulous property in a gorgeous setting. Our room was amazing and our hosts were very friendly and couldn't do more for us. We left very early Sunday morning before the scheduled breakfast time but Lois still arranged for some cereal for the morning and a great cheese and pickle sandwich for on the road - it was much appreciated! It was such a pleasure to stay there and hope to return in the near future.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We booked for an overnight stay following a local wedding. When booking Lois offered us a lift to the venue once we had dropped of our bags. She also arranged for our return cab which was a godsend! Fabulous rooms, cleanliness next to godliness!! Gorgeous setting. Wonderful breakfast and very welcoming. Top notch service all round. Definately recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hallsattheoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed here last Friday, as we were attending a wedding at Elvey Barn. Arrived in a bit of a rush, but Lois and Andy soon put us at ease. Greeted the boys (red setters) in the garden and played with them briefly before getting ready for our evening.

After a quick shower, I discovered I had only one cufflink! However, panic was short lived as Lois produced a spare pair for me to wear.

As an alternative to tea & cake before our evening out, Lois prepared a chilled bottle of wine for us to enjoy and start the evening properly - it was much appreciated.

Our host's kindness didn't stop there, as Andy gave us a lift to the venue and Lois put us in touch with a local cab firm for our return trip.

I could go on about the cottage, the hosts, the home produce, good breakfast, etc - but I will let you discover the rest.

One final comment is that another couple stayed at a Holiday Inn because they thought they were on a good deal but ended up paying £24 each way (£48 total) in cab fares.

Room Tip: We had the bedroom which overlooked the Duckpond - and it had the softest bed ever - WOW
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PageytheParrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pluckley hotels
0.7 mi away
Elvey Farm
Elvey Farm
#1 of 3 in Pluckley
427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pluckley Pad B&B
Pluckley Pad B&B
#3 of 3 in Pluckley
6 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Dering Arms
The Dering Arms
#1 of 1 in Pluckley
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: Bow Cottage Smarden Road, Pluckley, Ashford TN27 0RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford > Pluckley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pluckley
Price Range: £42 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bow Cottage is an 18th-C listed building with a wealth of original oak beams exposed in all the rooms. Our spacious guest rooms are decorated and furnished to a high standard in keeping with the age of the Cottage. The gardens extend to half an acre with a large natural pond, home to a family of Mallard ducks. Breakfast is served in our guest dining room with a choice of English, Smoked Salmon and Scrambled Eggs or Continental Breakfast where possible we source local produce and vegetables from our greenhouse or kitchen garden. The majority of our bread is homemade as are our jams and marmalade. We extend a very warm welcome to our guests whether it is for one night or a longer stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bow Cottage Bed & Breakfast Pluckley, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing