We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great B&B, great location, nice hosts and an excellent breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pluckley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bow Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Pluckley B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great B&B, great location, nice hosts and an excellent breakfast”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Well, I said it all in the title didn't I?
We had a wonderfull room with a window looking out on the fields.
Lois and Andrew make a mighty English breakfast and a great fruitsalad. Homemade bread and jam...
Why am I not on a ferry to Dover right now?
The location is very idyllic; green fields, sheep, lovely houses,... Only half an hour drive to Canterburry, near the beautiful gardens of Sissinghurst.
I had the best weekend in years.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
38
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Lois and Andrew made us most welcome in their beautiful cottage. When we arrived we were made tea, coffee and freshly made cake, our ensuite room was lovely and overlooked the duck pond. We had supper there, a nice omelette and salad with home made bread and Lois and Andrew shared their bottle of wine with us - much appreciated. Our whole experience was wonderful and we felt like we were in a friend's home.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2013

It was our 3rd stays (May 2012, December 2012 with our 2 daughters and May 2013) in one year and it was as marvellous as the first time. Lois and her husband, Andrew are more than perfect and warm hosts for us, they are very friendly and each time we come back to Bow Cottage, it's a bit like visiting our family. Lois is an fabulous cooker !
Bow cottage is in the hart of the countryside on a very quite and beautiful environment !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Axelle_and_Laurent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We arrived at Bow Cottage on an unseasonably and bitterly cold day. However, the brilliant Lois had thought ahead and lit a welcoming fire. I was not surprised as these are the sort of touches she is famed for and this is what sets her excellent bed and breakfast apart from the rest. This was our second stay at Bow Cottage and it was as equally enjoyable as the first. We arranged in advance dinner at the cottage and what a dinner it was! We feasted upon deer, dumplings and a range of delicious local cheeses. The following day was equally cold and it was a wrench to wrestle ourselves away from this little sanctuary of sublime service. We can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent,england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Our second time staying at Bow Cottage was just as good as the first. Lois and Andrew met us with a pot of tea and home made cake, which is a good job as we were looking forward to it remembering from last time we stayed!! Rooms immaculately clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, especially the fruit salad and as an added touch as it was Easter Sunday, we were given warm hot cross buns.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenKent_england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2112mole, Owner at Bow Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review we really do appreciate it and it also encourages us to try even harder to ensure you enjoy your stay with us is all you hoped for, thank you and we hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Had a wonderful overnight stay here while attending a wedding at Elvey Farm. Bow cottage is a fabulous property in a gorgeous setting. Our room was amazing and our hosts were very friendly and couldn't do more for us. We left very early Sunday morning before the scheduled breakfast time but Lois still arranged for some cereal for the morning and a great cheese and pickle sandwich for on the road - it was much appreciated! It was such a pleasure to stay there and hope to return in the near future.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We booked for an overnight stay following a local wedding. When booking Lois offered us a lift to the venue once we had dropped of our bags. She also arranged for our return cab which was a godsend! Fabulous rooms, cleanliness next to godliness!! Gorgeous setting. Wonderful breakfast and very welcoming. Top notch service all round. Definately recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hallsattheoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pluckley
0.5 mi away
The Dering Arms
The Dering Arms
#1 of 1 in Pluckley
79 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Ashford North A20
3.6 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Ashford International Hotel
6.0 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elvey Farm
Elvey Farm
#1 of 3 in Pluckley
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bow Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: Bow Cottage Smarden Road, Pluckley, Ashford TN27 0RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford > Pluckley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pluckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bow Cottage is an 18th-C listed building with a wealth of original oak beams exposed in all the rooms. Our spacious guest rooms are decorated and furnished to a high standard in keeping with the age of the Cottage. The gardens extend to half an acre with a large natural pond, home to a family of Mallard ducks. Breakfast is served in our guest dining room with a choice of English, Smoked Salmon and Scrambled Eggs or Continental Breakfast where possible we source local produce and vegetables from our greenhouse or kitchen garden. The majority of our bread is homemade as are our jams and marmalade. We extend a very warm welcome to our guests whether it is for one night or a longer stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bow Cottage Bed & Breakfast Pluckley, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing