We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B, Exceptional Hosts and a Beautiful House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pluckley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bow Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Pluckley B&B and Inns
Bexleyheath
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B, Exceptional Hosts and a Beautiful House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at Bow Cottage for one night with friends. We were booked into the Black Horse for a meal and wanted to stay over. I cannot thank Lois and Andrew enough for their hospitality and beautiful house. The place is immaculate and the most gorgeous place I've ever stayed in. Lois and Andrew are the perfect hosts. Breakfast was wonderful and we wished we could have stayed longer. We will definitely be back if we're ever in the area. The two dogs are a lovely added bonus too. We would recommend Bow Cottage to anyone.
Thank you so much....

Room Tip: Room 4 is en-suite but all of the rooms are immaculate
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2112mole, Owner at Bow Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you Kim and Steve we were very pleased to welcome you to Bow Cottage, it was a pleasure having you and your friends here and hope you will be return in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
38
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Found Bow Cottage to be a great place to stay whilst attending an event at nearby Headcorn Aerodrome. Excellent property with own duck pond and charming hosts, Lois and Andrew. Being able to get an evening meal or supper there was a real bonus after a hard days setting up on Friday. Very comfortable room, we had number 4 with the en suite. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SierraBravo2795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2112mole, Owner at Bow Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. When guests take the time and trouble to write on TripAdvisor you cannot imagine how much we appreciate your comments sometimes it helps us to improve and in other cases it encourages us even further to ensure our guests enjoy their stay and we always look forward to welcoming them back as 'friends' Lois and Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We've just returned from a nights stay at Bow Cottage, as our friend got married around the corner. We couldn't recommend the place more; the house itself is beautifully rustic and immaculately presented, there's a large pond in the stunning garden with lots of cute ducks swimming around and plenty of secure parking. Lois and Andrew were very welcoming and relaxed, ensuring we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We fell in love with their two gorgeous and friendly Irish Setters too! Overall, the breakfast was tasty, the shower was hot and the bed was cosy...what more can you want from a B&B?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azusa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2112mole, Owner at Bow Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write the review it was a pleasure having you both here and we are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us, although I think Hamilton and Micawber received all the attention Lois and Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We have just returned from three nights' stay at this idyllic cottage. We were warmly welcomed by Lois and Andrew and sat in the garden with freshly made coffee and chocolate biscuits.. Our en-suite bedroom was charming and immaculate. We loved the oak beams and the beautiful view of the duck pond and adjoining fields. The bed was the most comfortable that we have ever slept in.
Breakfast was amazing, home made bread/toast and marmalade and jam as well as a choice of full English or continental breakfast, fruit, cereals and yoghurts.
Lois and Andrew were charming, helpful hosts, booking us into The Rose and Crown for dinner on our first evening and also recommending other places to eat and places to go.
Their beautiful Irish setters were an added bonus. Altogether a lovely restful retreat!!

Room Tip: We would thoroughly recommend the en-suite bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

My wife and I stayed with Lois and Andrew for a full week in July 2013
The cottage is idyllic as a wonderful example of a Kentish property. see photos
Lois ensures the rooms and the cottage are immaculate. She has very high standards and takes great pride in ensuring your stay is relaxed and comfortable. Both Andrew and Lois go out of their way to be excellent hosts. Nothing is too much trouble and will go that extra mile to help out whatever the situation .They are friendly and welcoming. Lois does a great breakfast with home made breads and jams. Our daughter lives close by so we will be visiting on a regular basis. Our first port of call will be Bow Cottage.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We have just returned having stayed at Bow Cottage this weekend as it was my girlfriend's birthday and I wanted to surprise her. When we arrived arrived we were warmly welcomed by Lois who showed us around the property and to our en-suite room which was very spacious and comfortable with oak beams and had lovely views of the pond and garden.
Prior to our arrival I had arranged with Lois to have afternoon tea in the summer house which is in a perfect location in the garden overlooking the pond with the friendly ducks.
The tea consisted of freshly made sandwiches and lettuce and tomatoes home grown in the garden which were lovely and a selection of homemade cakes freshly made by Lois that day. They were absolutly delicious and I would recommend them to anyone.
Another lovely touch was the bouquet of flowers picked from the garden which were placed in the summer house and on departure given to my girlfriend.
After our tea Lois arranged for a taxi to pick us up from a local pub and take us to the Rose and Crown restaurant which Lois and Andrew had kindly booked for us and to be picked up later and returned to Bow Cottage.
In the morning my girlfriend found a birthday card on the dressing table from Lois and Andrew we thought this was a lovely gesture and typical of the thought and effort which they put in to ensure you have a wonderful stay.
For breakfast we chose the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs which were delicious and there was a plentiful selection of fruit yoghurts juices and preservatives home made I might add and you can really taste the difference.
Before we left we were in the garden and were joined by Lois and Andrew and the two lovely Setters which are very friendly and like to be given lots of attention. We were offered more tea and coffee and we chatted for half an hour or so before we had to leave.
I booked Bow Cottage for a birthday treat for my girlfriend and wanted somewhere special and I can honestly say I could not have chosen anywhere better. Excellent hosts with a beautiful property thankyou.

Room Tip: Room 4 is en-suite and has lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidS22-1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Recently stayed at Bow Cottage for three nights. A delicious meal was ready for us (by arrangement) on our arrival. The cottage is beautifully appointed and set in stunning gardens. Very comfortable accommodation and tasty breakfasts which included toasted homemade bread and preserves. Lois and Andrew are perfect hosts. Will be back.
Lynda & Andy (N. Ireland)

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, but we enjoyed the extra comfort of the en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pluckley
0.5 mi away
The Dering Arms
The Dering Arms
#1 of 1 in Pluckley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Ashford North A20
4.7 mi away
Dog & Bear Hotel
Dog & Bear Hotel
#2 of 3 in Lenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ashford North
Premier Inn Ashford North
#1 of 2 in Hothfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elvey Farm
Elvey Farm
#1 of 3 in Pluckley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bow Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: Bow Cottage Smarden Road, Pluckley, Ashford TN27 0RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford > Pluckley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pluckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bow Cottage is an 18th-C listed building with a wealth of original oak beams exposed in all the rooms. Our spacious guest rooms are decorated and furnished to a high standard in keeping with the age of the Cottage. The gardens extend to half an acre with a large natural pond, home to a family of Mallard ducks. Breakfast is served in our guest dining room with a choice of English, Smoked Salmon and Scrambled Eggs or Continental Breakfast where possible we source local produce and vegetables from our greenhouse or kitchen garden. The majority of our bread is homemade as are our jams and marmalade. We extend a very warm welcome to our guests whether it is for one night or a longer stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bow Cottage Bed & Breakfast Pluckley, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing