We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a place”
Review of Elvey Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elvey Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Uniquely beautiful and very tranquil.
Delicious food and very helpful staff.
Highly recommend for a peaceful and relaxing time to unwind.
We only stayed one night but will be returning as soon as possible to try out one of the other gorgeous rooms.
Didn't see any ghosts and loved the creaky doors.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

My partner and I stayed at Elvey Farm on Saturday and Sunday 28th and 29th December and had a great time . Our room had a wet-room attached and that was a real bonus , and really got us in the mood .Dinner was good , and Elsie a real darling , and as a military historian I was staggered when I saw the Battle of Britain commemoration plaque on the wall in the bar . I was even more staggered when the young lad in the bar confirmed that yes he knew the doorstop was a piston and con-rod from a Spitfire Merlin engine , the one that had crashed in 1940 . My 24 year old son wouldn't have a clue , despite WW2 being taught at home since his and my daughters birth !. But I digress , yes there were a few cobwebs , it is chalky in that part of Kent so floor tiles are bound to reflect that , but overall I would say the formula worked , and we will be going back in the Spring for another dose of that Pluckley magic . Didn't see any ghost's , but did jump out on Beverly , so sorry about that , you must have heard the hysterical screaming in Maidstone . So keep up the good work Simon and the crew , see you when the sun comes out !!.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

A lovely pre Christmas break...excellent in every way. Thank you Elvey farm. We cannot wait to come back in the spring. Food was excellent, room clean and very cosy and location perfect, all of the staff were extremely helpful and kind. Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We had to book something at the very last minute due to a cancellation of a weekend to Prague and I was delighted to find availability here at an extremely good price. What a gem this place is. We were shown to the Sevenoaks suite, which was right next to the entrance, by a lovely young lady and on first impressions we were really impressed. We've stayed in some very lovely (and pricey) places before and this was definitely on a par with anywhere we've stayed before.
Yes, you could hear the neighbours chatting a little but it didn't matter, as I doubt you get any rowdy types here!
We spent a tranquil hour or so in the bar by the roaring log fire, listening to Xmas music and testing the local wine (highly recommended). When I mentioned I was a little peckish, the charming man serving us, brought me up some delicious little mince pies.
I don't want keep waffling on about how lovely this place is, so will just say: gorgeous soft bed linen, fab nights sleep, fluffy big towels, idyllic surroundings and delicious food. We will be back and the hardest decision will be which room to try out next!! Thanks so much for giving us a treat after our disappointment of not being able to get to Prague! This certainly helped make up for it!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank elainexxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I booked Elvey a month or so ahead, together with a table in the restaurant, as a pre Christmas night away for my wife and I, leaving dogs and teenage girls at home. And what a treat! Everything went exactly to plan, a quick and easy journey from our home in Surrey, a nice welcome despite us being early and a wedding in progress and a lovely room in the stable block (Faversham). Our room was comfortable, clean, peaceful and atmospheric with its mood lighting. We chilled in the room, took a short walk, showered in the fab spacious shower and enjoyed a bottle of bubbly in the room before moving on to a sumptuous dinner. The service was perfect, helpful and friendly, the venison the best I have ever had, the wine perfect. We retired to the bar with full bellies for a nightcap in front of the fire and then back to our comfy bed. It was very peaceful and we slept like logs! A leisurely breakfast was as others have said, beautifully cooked and presented using the best local ingredients.
So Elvey matched up very much to our expectations in comfort, service, style and food. Maybe next time we will bring dogs or even children, then again we might just keep it as a little hide away for pampering ourselves. We will be back though!
Thanks so much to the friendly staff and the calm environment that has been created at Elvey farm.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed at Elvey Farm in Sept. for 6 nights. We had the Penhurst suite for the first 5, then moved into the stables area since our room was already booked.
We had a wonderful time. Simon, Elsie and John with the rest of the staff could not have been more welcoming or accommodating. It's location is in a great part of Kent, as we wanted to see as much of Kentish countryside as we could. Pluckley and Elvey Farm are really situated well in the middle of things.
Our room was lovely. Very large. The food here for dinner was wonderful. We had breakfast here every morning, but found ourselves coming back for dinner at night as it was so great. I love that Simon sources food, coffee, juices etc. from local Kent suppliers.
I would recommend Elvey Farm highly and plan to come back in the future!

Room Tip: The suites are a bit more, but definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mareena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on our way home, what a lovely place to end our holiday in the UK!

The whole place looks lovely and the room was beautiful as well! What I really liked was that the room is divided, there's the sleeparea and a sitting-area. The sitting-area is really relaxing with a sofa, TV and some provided magazines. There is a stable door, and it's really nice to sit there with the door open. You have a lot of privacy and space in your room!

The staff was really friendly, and dogs are welcomed with a treat, very nice!

The restaurant was not cheap but certainly good! It gives you a real treat to eat here, they really try to the best they can, with fresh flowers and fresh local food!

This is certainly a good place if you want a relaxing, comfortable break! All in lovely countryside style!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corina82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pluckley
6.4 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,292 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Dering Arms
The Dering Arms
#1 of 1 in Pluckley
87 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ashford International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Ashford - Central
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ashford North A20
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elvey Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elvey Farm

Address: Elvey Farm Elvey Lane, Pluckley, Ashford TN27 0SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford > Pluckley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Pluckley
Price Range: £83 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elvey Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the end of a winding lane, nestled in the heart of the Kentish countryside, stands Elvey Farm, a beautiful medieval farmstead tastefully converted into a small country guesthouse. This clutch of buildings, steeped in history and natural character, is a hidden treasure waiting to be uncovered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elvey Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elvey Farm Hotel Pluckley
Elvey Farm Pluckley, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing