We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Restaurant, great authentic food, nice staff”
Review of Darjeeling Heights

Darjeeling Heights
Ranked #6 of 29 Restaurants in Rainham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Through passion, pride and great dedication, Darjeeling Heights has gained a unique position in Kent social and dinning environment. Our meticulously prepared regional cuisine and British favourite dishes by our master chefs, specially prepared wine list and cocktail menu, beautiful setting in midst of wonderful images of Darjeeling. Our seamless service and welcoming smile have created a wonderful atmosphere of relaxed elegance.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant, great authentic food, nice staff”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I came here for my birthday and it was really a pleasant surprise, was really clean, fresh and open in the restaurant, was nice and bright and the lighting was pleasant too.
The staff were very nice, all friendly and welcoming.
The food was great too, real authentic indian cuisine, presented beautifully too.

Would definitely go back, I recommend this restaurant, although it is a little pricey for some things!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madame_amelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    70
    30
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good original Indian food”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The restaurant provides high quality food with plenty of dishes not found in a standard Indian restaurant. Chicken tandoori and chicken ticks portions are huge. However, kitty or doggy bags are provided. The Sunday buffet is good value. Normal family of four prices with a bbottle of wine around £140, so expensive.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Take away review”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Just eaten a takeaway from Darjeeling Heights. Comfortable seating area to sit while choosing our meal. Friendly staff. Food arrived in a special take away box, easy to transport and didn't leak! The food was hot and very tasty. Will certainly try the restaurant in the near future

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great food, poor acknowledgment of women, outrageous 12.5% automatic gratuity charge”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is one of the best Indian restaurants in Medwy. The food is really good and the ambience of the restaurant is nice. But that is where it stops.
My husband and I went here twice in May 2014, once with a group of 6 (3 men, 3 women), the other time with just the two of us. Both times I noticed that the men in the group were welcomed "Hello Sir", "Welcome back" etc, but not once were the women acknowledged at the door. When leaving it was the same thing. In this day and age in a western country I expect to be treated with respect and acknowledged. While I understand that there may be some cultural differences, this restaurant is located in England and as such I don't expect to be treated any differently. This is the ONLY restaurant where I have ever encountered such treatment.
Futhermore, I find it outrageous that a 12.5% gratuity is automatically added to the bill. I am very happy to tip for good service but this is earned on merit and should not automatically be added. I wonder how many people notice this and give a tip as well.
We went to a number of other excellent restaurants in the Medway area and I would be happy to recommend them, rather than this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank misterchester12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Friday lunchtime curry”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Yes very tasty, well presented the service was first class, Trouble with some of us is that we are wanting cheap cheap cheap but sometimes it is nice to pay a little extra to get extra service, tasty food, and a well presented restaurant.

Loved the Lassi!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Darjeeling Heights also viewed

 

Been to Darjeeling Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing