We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great surprise!”

The Secret Gardens of Sandwich
Ranked #2 of 21 things to do in Sandwich
Attraction details
East Mids UK
Level Contributor
175 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“What a great surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Visited in June on a lovely sunny day. Really loved the Jeckyll Gardens set in front of the Lutyens House. Lots to look at from gorgeous roses to vegetables and the bowling green. These gardens are not huge, but you could sit at the bottom and just take in the beauty of the setting of the house & garden. It is a manageable size, making it pleasant for non gardeners and people who don't want to/can't walk too much. £6.50 to get in (£6 for concessions). Considering the expense of maintaining a garden like this, I felt the price was fair.

There is a public car park (charges apply) adjacent to the gardens.

Unfortunately, I cannot recommend the Tea Room here - see separate entry

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ukbusinesslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    72
    25
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

17 ladies visited the Gardens on the 21st May 2014 on a trip from Wantage, Oxfordshire. The Gardens are stunning, and they have done a simply miraculous job considering the devastating flooding earlier this year. The planting, the colours and the variety of flowers and shrubs, just wonderful. A great cup of coffee and cake in the tea room - a must for anyone visiting Sandwich.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Very disappointed with the gardens, lots of weeds and bare earth. The one stunning thing were the roses climbing up obelisks which were beautiful. Otherwise not worth the money.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacquelinedavis110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We'll over price”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

My daughter and family eight in total came to the gardens and tea rooms for my wife's birthday what a disappointment the tea rooms was a waste of money a few blan sanwiches dry lot of cake charge extra for more tea when you for payed for a set tea The gardens Wes we'll over price , go to Quex birchington for good value ,this my revue like he would do on google box a loa do of rubbish

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Didn't expect it to be so grand or fascinating. Not cheap but worth it. At any time of year there would be lots to see as the planting is so well thought out. Lots of plants we have never seen before.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lovelife22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Secret Gardens of Sandwich also viewed

 

Been to The Secret Gardens of Sandwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing