We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible. Best pub experience in Sandwich!”

The George & Dragon
Reserve with OpenTable
The George & Dragon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 52 Restaurants in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to the George and Dragon, Sandwich. This property dates from 1446 and has been a licensed inn since 1552. It has undergone many changes since it was built, but from the day it was first licensed over four centuries ago the house has never closed. At present brothers Matthew and Mark Philpott have the pleasure of running such a historical building. They deliver an outstanding range of traditional food and drink with a modern twist that caters to the needs of every customer. Head Chef, Mark, creates a new adventurous evening menu every month using as much local produce as possible. They have kept this little gem of a pub oozing with charm and character throughout the years.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Incredible. Best pub experience in Sandwich!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a lunch in the week, enjoyed it so much we booked for a sunday lunch and chose the same table, in the pub itself, good for people watching & atmosphere. All food that we ate was fantastic. Good value too. The servers were lovely, polite, professional & friendly.
If you are visiting Sandwich, take the time to either have a drink in the bar and/or have some of the food & take it all in, fantastic!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TWS42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky M, Assistant Manager at The George & Dragon, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hello there,

Thank you for this lovely little review it was an absolute pleasure to read and I shall pass on all your kind comments to the staff here. Lovely to read you returned for a second time in one week and were not disappointed. Thank you for recommending us to others in your review that is always nice to read. We hope you come back for a return visit very soon. Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    116
    16
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakz58
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A little gem off the main street”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We went looking for something to eat on a Wednesday evening in Sandwich. My other half wasn't feeling particularly well so didn't want anything too fussy, rich or spicy. After trying a couple of pubs neither of which did 'plain' food the George and Dragon was recommended to us.
The pub is off the main shopping area but fairly close to the quayside; at the time we visited there was scaffolding outside, but don't let this put you off. A quick look at the menu it was clear we weren't in soup and a roll territory, but after a chat with the barman he went to talk to the chef and came back saying they could do an omelette and salad whilst I took something off the main menu.
The bar was cosy with people actually sitting at the bar, something you hardly see in today's explosion of gastro-pubs and the dining area wasn't too overcrowded with tables. The waitresses were attentive and although we had to wait a bit (they were very busy), the wait was well worth it. The omelette and salad was just right for my partner and my chosen dish of Roast Duck Leg, Onion Potato Cake, Rocket and Beetroot Salad with Blackberry Sauce was absolutely the best food I'd tasted in weeks. All in all, an excellent dining experience with fabulous food, great value for money and excellent staff. Well don everyone :)

Helpful?
Thank Jakz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

A small family get-together was made all the better with lunch at The George and Dragon. Delicious food and excellent service - and very reasonably priced. As another reviewer said - "a hidden gem".

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Staaken59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky M, Assistant Manager at The George & Dragon, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review it is very much appreciated by all the staff here. Very pleased to read you all enjoyed yourselves and hopefully you return to this hidden gem very soon for another enjoyable family get together. Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had a wonderful meal in the George and Dragon, the food and service was fantastic. We will definitely be coming back soon.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cherrypippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky M, Assistant Manager at The George & Dragon, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hello there,

Thank you ever so much for this short but very sweet review. I shall be sure to pass on your kind comments to all the staff here. Thank you very much again and we look forward to your next visit to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful lunch, lovely surroundings”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I accompanied by my 91 year old Mother had lunch yesterday at the George and Dragon. The food was delicious, very pleasant surroundings and we found the staff to be really friendly and efficient. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky M, Assistant Manager at The George & Dragon, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hi there,

This was a lovely review to read and I shall be sure to pass on your kind comments to all the staff here. Very pleased you all enjoyed yourselves including your 91 year old mother. We most certainly look forward to your next visit to us. Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The George & Dragon also viewed

 

Been to The George & Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing