We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place for skilled golfers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge at Princes Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A good place for skilled golfers”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I have just spent two nights at the The Lodge together with another couple on a golf package break. We enjoyed our stay there but were surprised that many of the guests were not golfers as the facility is very much directed at serving them and is not close to anything but the golf course and the (windswept) shore.

The rooms have comfortable beds and decent bathrooms but the furnishings are quite basic: we only got any chairs to sit on by requesting them after seeing that our friends in the next room had some. There is a good space for storing your golf clubs and charging your trolley batteries but hardly any drawers for your clothes. There are excellent views to the golf course and /or shore from probably all rooms but, strangely, one has to unclip the net curtains to see them.

The staff were very pleasant but the service was less than you would get from most hotels. It was quite a challenge for them to get a morning newspaper and they couldn't readily explain why the room phone didn't work ("the server is probably down") or what number one would call to get connected to another room if it did. There were a couple of broken items in the bathroom - not major issues but ones that the cleaning staff should have noticed and got corrected.

We ate both nights in the Brasserie because it was so convenient and had good food. The menu was limited and only some items changed on the second night but it was decent value given the quality of the dishes. There were several options for breakfast beyond the regular "full English" which was well-prepared and served.

The Princes Golf Course was delightfully quiet, probably because golf societies don't visit in August, but perhaps because the knowledgeable realise that at this time of year, before the rough can be cut, conditions are painfully difficult for all but the best of golfers. The large undulating greens are beautifully maintained but the holes are long (even from the forward tees) and the fairways very narrow, especially so given the likelihood of windy conditions. This is definitely not a place to go to for "resort golf"; the lower your handicap the more you will enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtdgom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    67
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
25
60
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
476 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I had booked a party of 12 golfers on a Dinner, Bed & Breakfast package at £95.00pp but did not obtain the accommodation expected. However, I accept that this was my fault for not realising that "twin occupancy" did not mean that we each had our own bedroom as is available with the Apartments. The staff provided a warm welcome with glass of wine or beer on the house at the bar plus a good selection of canapés also on the house served as we drank and studied the a la carte menu for dinner. We ate in a private dining room and were most impressed by the quality of linen tablecloth and napkins, the table setting and the terrific service from two attractive and pleasant young ladies. The food was good without being memorable and in keeping with Lodge's style - quality ingredients, well presented and served. All three course had about 4 or 5 choices and the roast Suffolk chicken with boudin blanc and sirloin of beef were both favoured main courses. Not quite so sure about the modern wine list with a Rumanian pinot noir at £21.00 but it was inexpensive and drinkable. Not sure that staff would cope at breakfast if a sudden rush of guests. Service was pedestrian, there was no self-serve buffet, the coffee was cold but the English breakfast was generous and included eggs, tomato, sausage, bacon, black pudding, mushroom and baked beans.
The accommodation was very good with excellent free Wi-Fi, cupboards for golf clubs, lots of hanging area, tea making equipment and even Earl Grey offered, comfortable single beds, plenty of space, large widescreen TV, well appointed bathroom......but once again bathtub/shower combination but no handrail to assist climbing in and out of such a deep tub. The handrail is such a simple and low cost essential safety item so why do most hotels leave their more elderly guests to struggle and perhaps[ suffer a really bad slip? I was able to book months in advance without a deposit but was disappointed to find that AMEX is not accepted. Booking now for our trip in 2015.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view as these face East and flood with any morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just spent 3 days staying at The Lodge, cannot fault the service, accommodation, staff and food. The food in the brasserie was excellent as was the service.
We stayed in the Bay Suite which had wonderful sea views, the suite was very comfortable with relaxing decor. The bathroom was fantastic, huge bath and fabulous shower, his and her wash basins so no fighting over mirror space!
Would absolutely recommend for a couples break with or without golf. Lovely walks along the beach and back to the Lodge to eat and drink. Cannot speak too highly of our stay.

Room Tip: The Bay Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a great stay at the end of July at The Lodge. Accommodations were good and staff was friendly. Breakfast was good as was lunch in the dining area. Extremely convenient to area golf courses. Would definitely return again as the time there was great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peepye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Have played at Princes golf club a number of times, and it really is a true test of golf. The courses were in excellent condition as always.
This is the first time i have stayed at The Lodge, and have to say that the accommodation is very good. There is a nice bar and the food is first class, and the staff very attentive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just had a great weekend of golf at the Princes golf club, whilst staying at their Lodge accommodation. The golf courses were a good challenge for all levels of handicap and in superb condition. The rooms at the Lodge were modern, comfortable and clean. Nice bar area and fantastic food served in the Brasserie restaurant. All the staff we came across were very pleasant and helpful. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richardwiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Superb in every respect. Only two years old, super beach side position, quiet, excellent staff, VERY comfortable large rooms, excellent value and great in house restaurant. We don't play golf but will happily return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
1.6 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sandwich
690 reviews
3.9 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fleur de Lis Hotel & Restaurant
7.2 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
693 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#3 of 10 in Ramsgate
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Princes Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Princes Golf Club

Property: The Lodge at Princes Golf Club
Address: Princes Drive | Sandwich Bay, Sandwich CT13 9QB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sandwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge at Princes Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Princes, located in the beautiful Bay of Sandwich is a real hidden gem where we focus on quality and service. You are assured of a friendly, warm welcome where we want you to relax and enjoy the fine food and hospitality and then enjoy a comfortable nights sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Lodge at Princes Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Princes Golf Club Sandwich, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing