We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly odd - but in a good way.”

The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 53 Restaurants in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$18
Cuisines: Caribbean, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Dating from 1491 The Crispin Inn, situated in the historic Cinqueport of Sandwich, retains the old world charm of the traditional English Pub.With open fires beamed ceilings wooden floors,plus a riverside patio.Serving traditional English food alongside world cuisine.Superb wines and exellent local wines.And a fantastic selection of Hand pulled Real ales.Topped off with a warm welcome
London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Slightly odd - but in a good way.”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

It's not so much the Caribbean slant that the menu has, where pub staples rub shoulders with jerk chicken, as the slightly strange ambience that seems to cross a pub with a tea room. That's not a bad thing - in fact it's probably a good thing - but it is unusual. You don't, for instance, usually see cakes piled up on a pub counter.

The food was good and fair priced. In fact it was very good value. Service I'd describe as fine - efficient but not overly friendly - and I'd probably put that down to a very busy lunchtime. And the beers are interesting and local. And very well kept. So probably more pub than tearoom!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Springburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terrycrispin, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to review the Crispin it was very interesting to read your observations.
I think on the whole you seemed reasonably happy with what you found.
The tea room side comes from the fact that in warmer weather we open our courtyard to serve Christines homemade Cream Teas and cakes,As well as homemade bar snacks . but whilst the weather is not sure what its up to we, we place them in a prominent position at the end of the bar
which are very popular all through the day.
Pam my partner has Caribbean roots and we found it very popular when we included her dishes,which have gone on to be our most popular dishes on our menu.
we are proud to be in the good beer guide and cask marque accredited and take great pride in our Ales
many thanks
Terry and Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    92
    30
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Bank Holiday Lunch”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Came here with friends for lunch. Was a bit wary because I had tried to find some information online as to whether they can cater for gluten-free diets. Spoke to a man who seemed to be a manager of some kind, and found out the chips weren't gluten-free- they are fried with battered items. However, because they do Caribbean curries, I had a few more options. He phoned and asked the chef how hot the jerk chicken was, as my digestive system can't cope with hot food either- I am quite a difficult customer! It was hot, so he recommended the brown chicken stew, which I had with rice and peas. It was lovely- subtle flavours and really juicy chicken. I am very grateful for his help. My friends all enjoyed their meals too, the décor is lovely and the prices are reasonable. Would definitely return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank littlebird_94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terrycrispin, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your review, i remember you and your friends well. And i remember our discussion too.
Im pleased you enjoyed my recommendation,and also that we could cater to your dietry needs.
And thankyou for your patience as we were very busy that lunchtime and you were happy to wait. If ever you wish to return, give us a call we would be happy to prepare you a gluten free meal,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD GREAT PRICES”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Me and my husband popped in here on Good Friday, what can I say we were pleasantly surprised I had the curry goat and rice with Bajan fishcakes to start these were both great authentic nice and spicy, Portions were good size and definitely value for money the staff were friendly and helpful although rushed off their feet...Really cant fault this place would definitely recommend you try it ...We left feeling like we had had good home cooked meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynshib1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terrycrispin, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
We are pleased you had a good meal with us. Easter weekend is always very hectic and it is good to hear such positive feedback at such busy times
our Bajan food is a particular favorite amongst our diners and we do take pride in our food being homemade.
many thanks for taking the time to leave a review
Pam and Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Saturday lunch”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Popped in on spec for lunch today. Thoroughly enjoyable meal with good friendly service. Looking forward to returning in April for Sunday lunch. Many thanks. Kim and Wendy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimbo5712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terrycrispin, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hi Kim and Wendy
we are glad you enjoyed your lunch, and i hope you enjoyed your sunday lunch equally.
thank you for taking the time to give us feedback
Pam and Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lyme, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday Roast”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We have been to the Crispin Inn twice for the Sunday Roast when we happen to be in town. Good basic food, well done, and really nice atmosphere.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terrycrispin, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hi Terry
Thank you for your kind remarks, we are pleased to see you have returned and enjoyed your lunch
we hope to see you again in the future
many thanks
Pam and Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing