We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as ever”

The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 52 Restaurants in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$19
Cuisines: Caribbean, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Dating from 1491 The Crispin Inn, situated in the historic Cinqueport of Sandwich, retains the old world charm of the traditional English Pub.With open fires beamed ceilings wooden floors,plus a riverside patio.Serving traditional English food alongside world cuisine.Superb wines and exellent local wines.And a fantastic selection of Hand pulled Real ales.Topped off with a warm welcome
Reviewed 27 May 2014

2 menus. Black board with all the many favourites including the wonderful Goat Curry and Jerk Chicken and also the mainstream menu. A nice ambience and a wide choice of beers add to the attraction. Gets busy.

Thank brianbluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terrycrispin, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

HI Brian Its nice to see a returning customer and even better that you are still happy with what we provide.Thankyou for taking the time to comment
look forward to your next review ;-)
Pam and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
There are newer reviews for The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 240 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We visited Sandwich on a Sunday - it was shut - however we had a traditional Sunday lunch at this pub as they were doing a special. The food was beautifully cooked and nicely served, the service was excellent and they had some really good beers on tap as well (shame I was driving). The Bread and Butter pudding was the lightest I have ever had (and I have had quite a few). The menu was varied and covered all tastes whilst we stayed with the traditional Sunday roast the food going to other tables looked good and everything we saw was nicely presented.

Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terrycrispin, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2014

Hi Harry
Thankyou for very much for your review,and nice comments,
Im sorry this reply is so late,i was scrolling down and noticed there was no reply.
i always reply but we do have occasional reviews appear long after they were posted.And get missed.
If you ever get to Sandwich again i hope you get time to try some of our other dishes
Many thanks
Pam and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had two nights the pleasure to dine in the Crispin Inn, enjoyed the Chefs meals and specials with carribean touch, english classics and good drinks ... The attentive staff made it the extra points ...

Thank Matthias R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terrycrispin, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your review of The Crispin and its nice to know you were happy to use us on two occasions when there are so many good eateries in Sandwich
We hope to see you again if ever you are in the area
many thanks
Pam and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Ackee saltfish, bajan fishcake, Jamaican patties spiced up our Sunday lunchtime visit to this gem in Sandwich.

Add the exclusive "Crispin Ale" (4% abv) and a retro mild ale (4% abv) and Sundays don't get much better.

Conservative "pub grub" is available but go "off piste" and you'll be deliciously surprised.

Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terrycrispin, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your review Keith , We have tried to blend in the Caribbean food with the more standard Fayre and we are very pleased with all the positive comments we receive.We have also en devoured to create a good real ale in The Crispin Ale and along with Mad Cat Brewery i think we have a winner now,after a few tweaks prompted by customer feedback. so its good to get some feedback on the ales too, which we are very proud off
many thanks for taking time top review
Pam and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Have just visited The Crispin for the first time and we were very pleasantly surprised. Would just like to say thank you to the friendly and attentive waitress and the clearly very talented chef. We both chose options from the specials board,one of which was kindly adapted to suit my allergy requirements,and both dishes were very tasty,full of flavour and freshly made. The food was so good we couldn't resist leaving with two slices of homemade cake which didn't survive very long as they were too tempting! Will definitely be making a return visit,particularly to sample more of the much missed Jamaican food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Missy-L-Watts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terrycrispin, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your kind remarks. Its nice to see we are getting reviews from locals as well as visitors and it is very satisfying that you enjoyed your experience
we look forward to seeing you in the near future
Pam and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing