We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming”

The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 56 Restaurants in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$19
Cuisines: Caribbean, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Dating from 1491 The Crispin Inn, situated in the historic Cinqueport of Sandwich, retains the old world charm of the traditional English Pub.With open fires beamed ceilings wooden floors,plus a riverside patio.Serving traditional English food alongside world cuisine.Superb wines and exellent local wines.And a fantastic selection of Hand pulled Real ales.Topped off with a warm welcome
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The staff at the Crispin Inn were very friendly. Although we have never visted before we felt like we were treated like regulars.

1  Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terrycrispin, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Hi Neil
Thankyou for your review, we do try and make everyone feel welcome its good to hear that you felt that you were
many thanks Pam and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 255 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Decided to try the Sunday lunch here at the last minute over the Bank Holiday and have absolutely no regrets! Very friendly couple running the place and although they needed to be reminded about a couple of things for us they coped well with a busy restaurant and we had a good laugh with them as well as a delicious Sunday roast ( very tender beef!). No offical wine list but tried the local Canterbury red wine, which was very pleasant. The highlight though was definitely the lemon/lime cheesecake, which was beautifully presented and 'to die for' - if it's not on the menu when you go you will be missing a real treat ( but I'm sure that there will be others). Go!

1  Thank 209cathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terrycrispin, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi Cathy,
Had to look up idiosyncratic so i could respond to your review ;-) i guessed it wasnt going to be too bad by the lovely comments you made . It says peculiar or individual. ill settle for the individual tho peculiar can apply at times
We are pleased you enjoyed your food, i can only apologise for any hiccups , it is quite difficult to staff our pub , a lot of people drop in last minute, and we are pleased they do, but it makes staffing quite difficult and sometimes we get caught out.
i will pass your comments on to Christine, who makes the desserts, she will be pleased you enjoyed them
many thanks for your review and hopefully you will drop in next time your in sandwich
Pam and Terry
many thanks
Terry and Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

2 menus. Black board with all the many favourites including the wonderful Goat Curry and Jerk Chicken and also the mainstream menu. A nice ambience and a wide choice of beers add to the attraction. Gets busy.

Thank brianbluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terrycrispin, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

HI Brian Its nice to see a returning customer and even better that you are still happy with what we provide.Thankyou for taking the time to comment
look forward to your next review ;-)
Pam and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We visited Sandwich on a Sunday - it was shut - however we had a traditional Sunday lunch at this pub as they were doing a special. The food was beautifully cooked and nicely served, the service was excellent and they had some really good beers on tap as well (shame I was driving). The Bread and Butter pudding was the lightest I have ever had (and I have had quite a few). The menu was varied and covered all tastes whilst we stayed with the traditional Sunday roast the food going to other tables looked good and everything we saw was nicely presented.

Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terrycrispin, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2014

Hi Harry
Thankyou for very much for your review,and nice comments,
Im sorry this reply is so late,i was scrolling down and noticed there was no reply.
i always reply but we do have occasional reviews appear long after they were posted.And get missed.
If you ever get to Sandwich again i hope you get time to try some of our other dishes
Many thanks
Pam and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had two nights the pleasure to dine in the Crispin Inn, enjoyed the Chefs meals and specials with carribean touch, english classics and good drinks ... The attentive staff made it the extra points ...

Thank Matthias R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terrycrispin, Owner at The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your review of The Crispin and its nice to know you were happy to use us on two occasions when there are so many good eateries in Sandwich
We hope to see you again if ever you are in the area
many thanks
Pam and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Crispin Inn Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing