We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Magnolia - Terrible !”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of La Magnolia - CLOSED

La Magnolia
Price range: US$32 - US$57
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“La Magnolia - Terrible !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

My boyfriend and I went to La Magnolia on New Years Day 2013 at approximately 4.00 p.m . There were 2 other tables of 4 . We ordered a selection of bread and olives followed by 2 pizzas .The selection of bread appeared to be sliced pizza base . After nearly an hours wait I asked the waitress how long the pizzas would be as my boyfriend was famished - they arrived a couple of minutes later . There were no other arrivals to the restaurant - just us 3 tables ! A couple of minutes after the arrival of our pizzas the waitress asked if everything was ok to which, at that point - apart from the wait - things were . My pizza was fine - nothing special - but my boyfriends was badly burnt on the underside in places . He shared mine and because he was hungry ate most of his apart from the really badly burnt bits . It was hard to attract the waitresses eye , and when I did manage to and point out the burnt bits she was rude and said that I had said all was ok and most of it was eaten . I pointed out that it had been impossible to catch her attention before and tapped the offending blackened bits on the plate to point out just how burnt it was . She took it to the cook who said that we would not be charged for the pizza . I work in the catering industry and would never dream of treating or arguing with a customer in this way . A terrible restaurant - I would not recommend and never go back !

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

I visited la magnolia last night and was very impressed, the service was fantastic, the food was divine, the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly. A flawless evening. I strongly recommend a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jibbajabbajem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad customer service and Tasteless food!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

My partner and i visted La Magnolia last night with his parents. They went last week and really enjoyed everything about the meal, service etc.
When we arrived the staff were very friendly and attentive. The boss even gave us some anchovies to try. We ordered our food and soon came out the starters. i had the smoked mozzerala which didnt taste smoked at all. I did eat it as i was starving but when the waitress came over to take out plates i mentioned to her how i felt about my starter. She was very nice and said she would speak to the chef. She never came back with an answer.
The restaurant suddenly got very busy which included a table of 15 men! The staff seemed to get a bit panicky and all be on this one table.
Our main courses arrived, i had the calzonpizza which looked lovely, lacked a bit in flavour but was ok. My partner had the seafood rissoto which was tasteless. My father in law had a cod, potato and prawn dish. He really wasnt enjoying it,he found it tasteless and watery. He called over the Boss! He was busy serving another table and said he would be over in a minute. Well he never came over. Another staff member came over and father in law explained he wasnt happy with his dinner etc. They offered him an alternative but he didnt want anything as we had nearly finished ours.
Finally we got the attention of the Boss! After being ignored and made to feel uncomfortable by other staff. My father in law explained about his dinner and that he thought the service was terrible especially from a Boss. The Boss was very rude and short. Saying they were busy and then tried to say that father in law had eaten most of his dinner including the king prawns and then sent it back. There was never any king prawns on the dinner!
Anyway we were fuming with the way this was dealt with, As a fairly new establishment they shouldnt be treating there customers this way. We wont be going back again!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the box!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

A great little Italian restaurant, run by Italians ( thats a plus when you consider the high street options) serving food that they themselves would eat! If you cant find what you like on the menu..they will prepare something else. They are always friendly and welcoming, the food is tasty and traditional and its' a great place to take a family for an early evening meal. They never rush you ( this ISNT a fast food restaurant), and the bill is always a pleasant surprise ..no over inflated prices here!

Excellent seafood pastas and the pizzas are delicious, especially the one with olives and artichokes, Its what Italian restaurants are like in Italy so enjoy!!!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank labradorcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

The Italian menu is superby created by their chef.
Must be the best Risotto in Kent
Run by and Italian couple, and they care!
Easy parking just outside and the advantage of a walk by the river to work off that lovely meal

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HugodAygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Magnolia also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing