We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & comfortable”
Review of The Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bell Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Despite the fact that the hotel was undergoing renovations during our stay, the staff coped superbly and were both friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable, spacious and well-appointed. Breakfast was excellent and I particularly commend the mature gentleman who serves it with a smile to brighten the greyest morning!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Venetia60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

495 - 501 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We were given room 18 which exceeded our expectations. Spacious, comfortable, beautifully furnished. The bed was comfortable, there were two easy chairs in the room as well as a desk and another chair, a DAB radio, TV and plenty of good quality complimentary refreshments. The bathroom was nice and big, with underfloor heating and a heated towel rail! It was also stocked with good quality toiletries.

We didn't enjoy the restaurant quite as much as the rest of the hotel. Although the waitress was lovely and very helpful. The choices on the menu were a little limited and I didn't find anything that I wanted on the evening menu, but the waitress brought me the bar menu instead so I chose something from that. Hubby had the duck from the evening menu, and although he found it tasty, the portion was rather small so he still felt hungry after eating it. I enjoyed my choice from the bar menu, a vegetarian spaghetti dish, which was tasty and filling.

Breakfast in the morning was served in the reception area. The staff apologised about this as the usual breakfast room is undergoing refurbishment - but I thought that the area was lovely so no complaints from me! The breakfast was lovely too, with very good choices of continental and cooked foods. We both chose eggs benedict royale which we'd never tried before and found to be delicious.

The place is undergoing refurbishment at the moment but it did not spoil our enjoyment of our stay. We would love to come back here some time in the future.

Room Tip: Room 18 is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed here for just one night in November. Hotel is undergoing some refurbishment outside and inside, which meant building surrounded by scaffolding and dining room and main bar area were out of use. Staff were very apologetic about this and we still managed to enjoy our stay.
However, it would have been good to have been warned of this before our arrival, especially as our room looked out on scaffolding.
Room was spacious and comfortable and both dinner and breakfast were of a good standard.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uktravellingwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed last weekend as last minute decision to vist Canterbury ,We had a warm welcome by staff and at reception ,The reception area is all very nice to sit in as the bar area is not that big but cosy I have to say this is the warmest hotel I have ever stayed ,
The room we had was the family room 22 and all was fine there and more than big enough we slept well and heard no noise, there were signs of scuffed paint work but on the whole its fine.
Dinner was of a very good standard and so was breakfast good quality. Wine and beer were average prices so no worry there ,
The only issues for me was that the parking was a bit of a pain having to park in the pay and display up the road, and although the staff were really friendly there perhaps at times should be a little more professional but saying that I would rather they were like that then didn't speak .
The hotel is great base for exploring that part of Kent and set in great location and when the build work is finished which I think it is now this is great little hotel,Keep the good work up.

Last comment as regards a previous review Wolf1313 This must of been a different hotel because there is no comparison to were we stayed and to make comments regarding desk staff is not warranted from my experience they were very good .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelled24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

As other reviewers have said already, this hotel is undergoing a renovation. However, there are redeeming features that compensate for the scaffolding outside. The entrance to the hotel has an original Victorian oak and glass revolving door. We found the staff to be very polite and helpful, the rooms to be very clean and warm thorughout the hotel. The food was excellent so we enjoyed the dinner and breakfast that we had there. A nice touch was staff waiting at the bottom of the staircase to greet you as you came down to dinner.

This hotel is well-placed if you want to visit nearby Canterbury, Whitstable or the Turner Contemporary in Margate (suggest that is the only reason you visit Margate!). Parking is an issue as the hotel only has three spaces, staff will tell you where to park if you ask them.

Would I come here again, yes I probably would. This is due to the excellent rate that we paid for one night together with the excellent food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greymalkin_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Bit shocked on arrival at the sight of the hotel being under renovation with scaffolding on half of it, however this did not affect our stay whatsoever. The hotel was being renovated in two stages so the part we stayed in was in stage 2, so all good with no scaffolding & no noise!

The staff were amazing and very friendly. The room was warm & the bed was very comfortable and fresh. It was a nice peaceful couple of nights.

Breakfast & service. Absolutely 5 stars. Fresh, hot, plentiful, wide choice and served with a smile.

And most importantly, they welcomed our Hamster with open arms.

Absolutely nothing to grumble about. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Romeo_Echo_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We were a bit concerned when we received an email from The Bell, informing us that they had major renovations going on at the hotel. However, Shane the manager, at The Bell rang to reassure us that our stay would not be interrupted at all.....and he was correct. The Staff, especially Lynne & Anita on reception were delightful, helpful & informative. A big thank you to all the staff in the dining room, splendid service and the food was delicious & very well presented.
Will definitely be going back for a further treat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burley1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
4.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Salutation Hotel & Restaurant
5.0 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fleur de Lis Hotel & Restaurant
15.8 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
1,049 reviews
10.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel

Address: The Quay, Sandwich CT13 9EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sandwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sandwich
Price Range: £84 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional hotel with a chic modern twist. Thirty-seven individually decorated ensuite bedrooms, a restaurant menu which varies with seasonal availability and a choice of two beautifully refurbished function rooms. The Bell Hotel Sandwich is the ideal choice as a leisure destination or as a venue for weddings, conferences and private events.Throughout the year, the Bell Hotel holds events and exhibitions to: support the local arts, to promote the produce of local and regional farmers and growers and to participate in Sandwich festivals and celebrations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Sandwich
The Bell Hotel Sandwich, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing