We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed at the Bell Hotel Christmas Eve and Christmas Day (2 nights) our room was spacious and very clean, we looked over the Quay which was lovely(room 2) , the atmosphere there was great , the food was excellent the staff looked after us very well ( with special thanks to lovely Gemma) what more can we say JUST PERFECT

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    227
    86
    20
    12
See reviews for
100
379
18
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

My family and I stayed at the Bell Hotel which is appointed nicely on the Sandwich Quay, for the Christmas Vacation. From the minute we walked through the door the staff were cheerful and helpful. We were given the family room as we had our dog with us too and we found it to be very clean, spacious and comfortable and with well stocked tea bar. The food was absolutely fabulous and would recommend this hotel above all for its wonderful warm , family atmosphere. Our breakfasts were delicious too with a good continental with the added bonus of being able to order of a selection of cooked too. We had a fabulous Christmas and as I have experienced having to work many a Christmas Day myself I appreciated the friendly service from all the staff , especially our waiter Nicholas who served our breakfasts. Thank you to all the staff and a Happy New Year to you all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandahart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

My colleagues and I stayed at the Bell Hotel on the Quay at Sandwich last week and after a successful planning consent we celebrated with a meal and drinks in the newly refurbished bar. I hade a 'blue' steak (as is my taste) and it was very good, best I have had for quite some time. washed down with a nice red wine and local sparkly a great evening was had.
The hotel (and especially the beds) is just lovely, quirky but a great place to stay and eat.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AndyHilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Despite the fact that the hotel was undergoing renovations during our stay, the staff coped superbly and were both friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable, spacious and well-appointed. Breakfast was excellent and I particularly commend the mature gentleman who serves it with a smile to brighten the greyest morning!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venetia60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We were given room 18 which exceeded our expectations. Spacious, comfortable, beautifully furnished. The bed was comfortable, there were two easy chairs in the room as well as a desk and another chair, a DAB radio, TV and plenty of good quality complimentary refreshments. The bathroom was nice and big, with underfloor heating and a heated towel rail! It was also stocked with good quality toiletries.

We didn't enjoy the restaurant quite as much as the rest of the hotel. Although the waitress was lovely and very helpful. The choices on the menu were a little limited and I didn't find anything that I wanted on the evening menu, but the waitress brought me the bar menu instead so I chose something from that. Hubby had the duck from the evening menu, and although he found it tasty, the portion was rather small so he still felt hungry after eating it. I enjoyed my choice from the bar menu, a vegetarian spaghetti dish, which was tasty and filling.

Breakfast in the morning was served in the reception area. The staff apologised about this as the usual breakfast room is undergoing refurbishment - but I thought that the area was lovely so no complaints from me! The breakfast was lovely too, with very good choices of continental and cooked foods. We both chose eggs benedict royale which we'd never tried before and found to be delicious.

The place is undergoing refurbishment at the moment but it did not spoil our enjoyment of our stay. We would love to come back here some time in the future.

Room Tip: Room 18 is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed here for just one night in November. Hotel is undergoing some refurbishment outside and inside, which meant building surrounded by scaffolding and dining room and main bar area were out of use. Staff were very apologetic about this and we still managed to enjoy our stay.
However, it would have been good to have been warned of this before our arrival, especially as our room looked out on scaffolding.
Room was spacious and comfortable and both dinner and breakfast were of a good standard.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uktravellingwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed last weekend as last minute decision to vist Canterbury ,We had a warm welcome by staff and at reception ,The reception area is all very nice to sit in as the bar area is not that big but cosy I have to say this is the warmest hotel I have ever stayed ,
The room we had was the family room 22 and all was fine there and more than big enough we slept well and heard no noise, there were signs of scuffed paint work but on the whole its fine.
Dinner was of a very good standard and so was breakfast good quality. Wine and beer were average prices so no worry there ,
The only issues for me was that the parking was a bit of a pain having to park in the pay and display up the road, and although the staff were really friendly there perhaps at times should be a little more professional but saying that I would rather they were like that then didn't speak .
The hotel is great base for exploring that part of Kent and set in great location and when the build work is finished which I think it is now this is great little hotel,Keep the good work up.

Last comment as regards a previous review Wolf1313 This must of been a different hotel because there is no comparison to were we stayed and to make comments regarding desk staff is not warranted from my experience they were very good .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelled24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
0.1 mi away
Fleur de Lis Hotel & Restaurant
1.6 mi away
The Lodge at Princes Golf Club
5.0 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#4 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
15.8 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
4.2 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel

Property: The Bell Hotel
Address: The Quay, Sandwich CT13 9EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sandwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional hotel with a chic modern twist. Thirty-seven individually decorated ensuite bedrooms, a restaurant menu which varies with seasonal availability and a choice of two beautifully refurbished function rooms. The Bell Hotel Sandwich is the ideal choice as a leisure destination or as a venue for weddings, conferences and private events.Throughout the year, the Bell Hotel holds events and exhibitions to: support the local arts, to promote the produce of local and regional farmers and growers and to participate in Sandwich festivals and celebrations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Sandwich
The Bell Hotel Sandwich, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing