We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice place to stay”
Review of The Bell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bell Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights recently and were delighted with the hotel. Clean, tidy, good food, a really nice bar and somewhere thoroughly pleasant. This is an intersesting bulding with a staircase at either end.

They have a 'Regency Room' which can be used for weddings, etc and we had a sneaky peek - it's lovely!

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: early booking is essential and note that they only have parking for 4 cars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

450 - 456 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

A bit of a run of the mill welcome, dusty headboard, marks and fraying of decorative cushions, a bathroom door which closed on you just in time for you to smack your arm when turning to exit, a bit of a squashed bedroom, taps which turned the wrong way ..... could do better.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Bell Hotel for a family wedding. We stayed for three nights from Thursday to Sunday.
The whole experience was absolutely fabulous - from the minute we walked into the hotel complete with wedding cake to be carefully stored to the minute we left on the Sunday following the wedding.
The staff are the most helpful, kind and courteous people, whether they be management, restaurant/bar staff or housekeeping staff. At no time was anything too much trouble, no matter what was requested. They literally bent over backwards to ensure that the wedding was the most enjoyable day of the bride and grooms life - I would totally recommend this hotel as a venue for a personal and well organised wedding.
The food was outstanding - breakfast menu was very varied with a choice of main breakfasts for all tastes and nothing was too much trouble.
The wedding dinner was gorgeous, again all tastes and needs considered and catered for,
Special thanks to the two ladies we befriended on reception - truly lovely people who always had made sure they gave time and thought to their guest.
I would stay again and again, beds were lovely and comfy, plenty of tea and coffee and piping hot water for a shower.
Thank you all at the Bell for the wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: I would recommend any room - they were all of a very high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubbles94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

we usually stay at the marina hotel in whitstable but couldn't get in so we decided to stay at the bell which we had seen on our visits. arrival was good, happy helpful receptionist. we paid a premiuim for the river suite but we had not been informed that there was building work going on at the river edge so actually there was green fencing up. parking we knew would be a little problem so that was ok. and it was no big deal to walk 100 yds to the car park. the room was modern which was good as we had misgivings on the way up as the carpet was decidedly grubby and dirty at the edges. we had our son and girlfriend visit for dinner, that is where it went downhill, they are both students so were looking forward to the meal. the decorating was lovely and obviously recently refurbished. there were a lot of staff but did not appear to be managed by anyone. we were served by several different staff none of them made eye contact so we had to attract their attention by either getting up or catching them as the passed, never too close though! we ordered steak which was ok but no steak knives, fish that was oily and there seemed to be an acute shortage of napkins, they were taken away so we had to request new ones which were bought one at a time as we asked for them. one of the waiters was wearing modern shoes, very nice but all the time he walked about on the wooden floor we had to listed to them clomping about. i have to say there was a new member of staff who was the only person who actually seemed to be interested. now breakfast, we did have a few smiles with the people on the table next to ours. we sat looking out of the window but were told to sit opposite each other as the hotel was full and the other 2 seats on our table of 4 might be needed,looking around there were 3 other tables, not set of course. i asked for porridge but was told i couldn't order it until i had seen the menu - first laugh with fellow diners - she bought the menu, i ordered porridge. she returned and we ordered hot items. eventually the porridge arrived, then my husbands meal and at the same time my hot breakfast, she was going to leave it but i asked her to take it back to the kitchen to keep warm - more laughs with next table, especially as they were waiting for their food before we arrived. after starting to eat my hot meal i discovered a hair in the scrambled egg, eventually i was able to attract a waitress who took the plate, no apology back to the kitchen, after waiting i found i could not face eating at that time. we went into the hall and asked a member of staff to cancel the food explaining it was the meal with a hair in. still no apology and i think it was the manager standing close to us. we ate out the second night. we also found a - yuk - worn thong in the bedside drawer. we usually accept things will be what they are but i feel this was a complete waste of £350
hotel building good but staff need to be managed.

Room Tip: we had the river suite / room which when the building on the river edge is finished will be a pleasa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anniey100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We chanced on The Bell at very short notice and were delighted with our room, the restaurant and the service. Only reason for 4* is the challenge of parking but allowing for a short walk that challenge was sorted. Thank you to the Bell for their courteous welcome.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front overlooking the old river are charming with a small Edwardian balcony areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed a five day break at the Bell Hotel. The bedroom was beautifully decorated and very clean with a big bathroom. The lounge and reception was attractive and the colour scheme was lovely and my daughter and husband enjoyed the selection of board games on offer.
The old dining room was well appointed as was the bar and brassiere. The breakfast was excellent and there was a varied menu we ate four evening meals which we found to be very good.
The staff were most attentive and could not do enough to please!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel is located in a small town that we had never previously visited. The hotel looks very impressive and I believe they take service very seriously and hire their staff accordingly. All members of staff made us feel very welcome and couldn't do enough for us. The food was wonderful; my husband said it was the best steak he had ever eaten. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We were in a balcony room which overlooked the river, which was very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
4.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
545 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Salutation Hotel & Restaurant
5.0 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fleur de Lis Hotel & Restaurant
15.8 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
1,053 reviews
10.9 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Hotel

Address: The Quay, Sandwich CT13 9EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sandwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sandwich
Price Range: £84 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional hotel with a chic modern twist. Thirty-seven individually decorated ensuite bedrooms, a restaurant menu which varies with seasonal availability and a choice of two beautifully refurbished function rooms. The Bell Hotel Sandwich is the ideal choice as a leisure destination or as a venue for weddings, conferences and private events.Throughout the year, the Bell Hotel holds events and exhibitions to: support the local arts, to promote the produce of local and regional farmers and growers and to participate in Sandwich festivals and celebrations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Sandwich
The Bell Hotel Sandwich, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing