We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fleur de Lis Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Nice pub with average prices. Good central location as well. Not the best of pubs . Can do with being decorated too add some colour. Gets very busy sometimes which kind of contradicts the other reviews really.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank skyrocket13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2010

Totally over-priced, the rooms are dreary thoroughly depressing and in need of decorating, not very clean, one of the plugs was broken and looked unsafe, the toilet was that close to the shower glass it wasimpossible to sit correctly. You had to sit directly in front of the tlevision to view, or it was distorted.
It states on the web and on the information in the rooms that evening meals are available to 9.30, on Sunday evening we came down to be told that evening meal finished on a sunday at 5pm. we were told "thats how it is in Sandwich" and directed to a Thia restaurant round the corner, which was very nice, but rushed, (they obviously wanted to close) When we got back to the hotel? we were told last orders had been called, but we could take a drink to our rooms, it was 10.20pm.
The place appears to be run by young girls with the exeception of the Sunday breakfast waitress, who were completely disinterested in us as guests, and certainly was not welcoming. Extremelly over-priced for what you got. If you came in after 12.00pm we were told to use the fire escape which was left open. It was a miserable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cula50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We were told we could check in any time after 11am. When we arrived after 1pm it was still not ready. We ended up dumping our bags in a corridor. Told if we were coming back late we had to use the fire escape to enter - not particularly safe! Room needed redecorating. Friends in another room were kept up all night by karaoke opposite! They chose to leave without showering the next day as they felt the bathroom was so unclean they would wait until they got home. Breakfast was the only positive thing of the experience, Very disappointing. Very expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank VeeJayEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

Stayed for tea and then decided to stay the night. This is an older property, needs a good smack-down re-vamp and then some....

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BienVago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Stayed for one night but hotel in desperate need of a makeover. Very noisy due to the live entertainment, only had breakfast but that was cold. Sandwich itself is lovely but over rated.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
3  Thank sjh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2008

The staff were lovely and the food was good but the accommodation was appalling, we looked in 3 rooms before agreeing on 1 - we chose the one with the biggest window (others were dark and claustophobic), and the cleanest bedding. But they were all shabby and the level of cleaniless was was poor!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue0513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2006

Stayed four nights here at £70 per night.

Found it disappointing. Although can't blame them for room being roasting in UK heatwave, it was in a noisy location and shabby in appearance. Toilet had a leak, shower ancient, holes in towels and didn't feel fresh and clean at all.

Also, although when I enquired I was told there was street parking which wouldn't be a problem, the street parking is only between evening and early morning so really unless you intend to rise early to move your car, you have to use a pay and display car park which, although out of your sight, isn't too far away and seemed safe, secure and very reasonably priced.

Wouldn't recommend it to anyone to stay there from our experience, but we not only had breakfast each morning, but also ate there a couple of evenings and the food was great so would certainly recommend it for a meal (although the actual service at breakfast was fairly poor, slow and inefficient)

July 2006

Stayed: June 2006
7  Thank Noodlebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandwich
0.1 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#3 of 5 in Sandwich
740 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Salutation Hotel & Restaurant
4.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
5.1 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,101 reviews
4.5 mi away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#2 of 5 in Deal
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fleur de Lis Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleur de Lis Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 6-8 Delf Street, Sandwich CT13 9BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sandwich
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Sandwich
Price Range: £75 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fleur de Lis Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Fleur de Lis Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleur De Lis Hotel & Restaurant Sandwich, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing