We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like this place... But.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kings Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Sandwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I like this place... But.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Spent a Sunday night in this B&B. The place is very nice and has character, being a medieval building. The shower was poor, barely a dribble and the bed was a little hard and not very comfortable. I found everything to be somewhat overpriced, (room, drinks and to a lesser degree food). However, the place is very welcoming and friendly. Well kept pub with nice garden. Although I liked it, I don't think it offered good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    27
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
13
30
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We have just spent 2 nights at the Kings Arms.....Ok so it's not what you may call a Hotel but we found it a lovely place to stay. Full of character. We had our evening meals there as well as our ample and delicious breakfasts, the food was first rate [thank you Chef]. An excellent garden added to our enjoyment. Ok the rooms aren't massive but they are perfectly formed. The room we had didn't have a wardrobe [there were coat hooks and coat hangers so that was fine] plenty of tea [several varieties] coffee and biscuits were also provided and replenished. Thank you to all the staff that made our stay really enjoyable. Hope to stay again. Oh and by the way we found the Kings Arms to be spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: Don't expect a suite for your bedroom and you wont be disappointed but do look forward to excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roderick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Very friendly Hotel and restaurant, the staff and proprietor can never do enough to make your stay fantastic. The rooms are clean, tidy and tastefully furnished, bearing in mind that this is an ancient building with history, in keeping with the whole of Sandwich town. The restaurant is second to none, I have never had a bad meal, or service at the table. Then in the morning the breakfast is just excellent, really starts the day off well. Thank you Richard and staff keep up the good work and see you all soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iceman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

A friend and I booked in for 1 night in a twin room after undertaking a 30 walk over the white cliffs. Although we'd planned to arrive at 2030 hrs and had a table reserved, we were nearly 2 hours behind and the kitchen kindly cooked us a fresh, hot meal so late. I was astounded by the friendliness and hospitality. The rooms are clean, although the heating didn't work, there was a heater we could use and they were very clean. All in all a lovely b&b and the breakfast was great. Would recommend and would stay again. Thank you kings arms for your hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aliboulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I loved this small hotel above a pub and restaurant. The single room was small, but so very clean and bright. It had everything I needed and view of the lovely gardens. TV, coffee/tea/biscuits. Ensuite bath. The owner and staff were so very nice and accommodating. The restaurant was absolutely superb. Breakfast was wonderful. Sandwich England is a destination worthy of a visit and I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to go. And, they have free parking! It is just across the street from the river and just a short walk from the center of town. I really enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: I enjoyed single room number 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank isellcaptiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

The shower was a dribble, the bed was very uncomfortabe, there was no wardrobe in the room and very little space. Breakfast was better than expected and the staff were friendly. I stayed with a friend and have only just discovered that this place calls itself a hotel. It is a B&B, and not a very good one.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emileyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

The Sandwich Secondary School Reunion for all who attended during the 60's was held on the 7th May and once again without being asked the Prorietor and his staff provided the perfect venue with excellent service. I personaly stayed the night and it was very comfortable accommodation with breakfast of equal quality. Thank you Richard and staff for making our reunion an fantastic occassion.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iceman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandwich hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sandwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fleur de Lis Hotel & Restaurant
1.7 mi away
The Lodge at Princes Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
St Peters Bed and Breakfast
2.6 mi away
The Five Bells B&B
The Five Bells B&B
#1 of 1 in Eastry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
1.8 mi away
Goss Hall Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Arms Hotel

Property: Kings Arms Hotel
Address: Strand Street, Sandwich CT13 9HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sandwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional 16th century inn, the Kings Arms Hotel retains its original charm and character, leaving it unspoilt and an ideal place to relax and unwind, whether for business or pleasure. As a privately owned inn, we are able to provide the attention to detail, flexibility and standards often sought, but rarely found. The warm atmosphere and our friendly staff help you to enjoy that 'home from home' feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Hotel Sandwich, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing