We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saved the night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Empress of India

Empress of India
Price range: US$12 - US$25
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Empress of India has been established since 1993. It is the second longest running restaurant in Sittingbourne.We can occupy large groups of parties for Birthdays to even Wedding receptions. We have a large selection of wines, cocktails. We also provide vegetarian dishes and also have an English menu. We also do take-away service for collections only.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Saved the night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We started of our evening at the british Raj, of which we ended up walking out of due to very poor customer service and a manager that likes to argue with it's customers.
We ended up at the empress and the service from the beginning could not have been better!
The manager greeted us with a smile, apologised there was no table for us and asked us to wait for a maximum of 10 minutes whilst he sorted the tables out, which was some within 5 minutes.
Food order was taken and on the table within 30 minutes, vast different to the British raj (they could learn a few things from the empress), all the staff were polite and the manager took time out of his evening after learning of our experience that we were ok, even spoke of his love of Sittingbourne and his family.
I will definitely be returning here again.
Top service, first class food, keep up all the good work.
Thank you for saving our night

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Raie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    35
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good for first time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Tried for the first time, was impressed with the atmosphere and friendliness of staff, was a little let down by the starter but the rest of the meal was great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Purps27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Another great night as usual!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We booked for a Saturday night for a party of 10 people, a bit apprehensive as it's always busy on weekends. However, Babul the manager made the night very special for us. Even though the place was full he made sure we had everything that we needed. I would recommend this place if people are after good quality meals in a comfortable and clean establishment.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank EmmaSmith112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acapulco, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Indian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We had a fantastic meal for two people, The service was fantastic, atmosphere is electric, we will eat there again, you think it's one of the best Indian restaurants.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Davemexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A great eating experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

The staff were very friendly and efficent. The food was yummy. Huge portions! We couldn't eat it all as much as we tried. Lovely ambience. Clean resturant. If you like indian food, you won't be disappointed. We shall definately return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CJov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Empress of India also viewed

 
Sittingbourne, Kent
 

Been to Empress of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing