We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One for the "back garden"!”

Bredgar & Wormshill Light Railway
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“One for the "back garden"!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A narrow gauge railway approx quarter of mile in length. Although short it is fun. They offer driving experience courses which are great fun, not as easy as it seems. Only open at certain times.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank achan34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    13
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Take a picnic and enjoy”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

If the sun is out and its the first Sunday of the month take your family. Its a good day for lounging with friends and family and watching the trains go by.

A large collection and a plenty of space help thus become a day trip rather than a pop in.

There us a cafe and a small shop. Its all well maintained and the prices in the cafe are good as well.

Helpful?
Thank Azardamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fun day out”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Make the most of taking a picnic sothat the unlimited rides on the trains are worth it. Easy to get to and accessible.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pleasant visit but some disability awareness would go a long way”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Went up on Easter Sunday amidst the mist and rain. Overall, for a private railways project, open to the public, it was a pleasant afternoon. For a couple of rides on the train (down the track, to a wood and back) for 10 minutes, and a look around the engine shed it was a bit expensive.

We went with a 4.5 yr old who enjoyed the train ride and playing with the train toys in the shed/looking at the model railway. If the weather had have been kinder, a picnic in the lovely bluebell wood might have been nice but it wasn't to be. I laughed at the 'specials' board in the little cafe which read 'hot buttered toast' which gives you some idea of the cafe food (sandwiches, toast etc).

I felt that a leaflet or website information about access for people with various impairments would have been useful. Accessible entrances were not signposted from the regular step entrance to the engine shed for example and their website doesn't mention they have an accessible toilet (we had to phone up and ask). Also, nowhere did it say there was wheelchair access onto the train (albeit not quite into the main covered in carriage).

Equally, staff would benefit from understanding how to talk to disabled people without coming across as a little ignorant. I understand people's curiosity but we are just a family on a day out and explaining about how my wheelchair works was not what I envisaged as being part of my day - after all, I would never approach a stranger and ask how their legs worked so why ask me about my wheels?

Staff were enthusiastic about their railway and very friendly which was lovely.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise_Watch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful bank holiday”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Today we took the family, what a lovely day. Lots to see and do, fun train rides, bluebell walk and search for the kids, rides on tractor trailers. Good time had by all.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy1084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bredgar & Wormshill Light Railway also viewed

 

Been to Bredgar & Wormshill Light Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing