We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems like it's been done on a budget”
Review of Tonge Barn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tonge Barn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Sittingbourne
Reviewed 23 August 2014

After arriving and having to phone a mobile no on the door to be let in, we were shown to our room at the rear of the barn. The welcome was nice and friendly with the lady being very helpful in putting up a travel cot for our 7 week old son.
First impressions seemed good as the room was clean and tidy tho a bit dark even with the main light on, it did have a fridge which might be useful if a cold beer is your thing.
As mentioned in another review you have to be a bit of an acrobat to brush your teeth successfully without banging your head on the stupidly placed shelf above the sink, couple that with the fact that the Tiles in the bathroom seemed to have been patched up without much attention to detail, the shower switch needed some attention and the bedside light didn't work left me with the impression that it's all been done without little thought or care for customer impressions.
On a more positive note the breakfast was well cooked, my only gripe was apart from the toast we weren't offered any choice it was just do you want a cooked breakfast ??
Didn't live up to my expectations and would probably stay elsewhere if I found myself in the area again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank oddbod1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

68 - 74 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in a cute 2 roomed chalet/barn. It was very clean and tidy, the staff were friendly. Breakfast is served in main barn around 2 large tables. Very tasty full english cooked to order - so piping hot.
Trains run very close to the area but are not intrusive
Would recommend for short breaks

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night (Saturday into Sunday Morning).
The reception lady was lovely and friendly and really welcoming. Our room was okay but there wasn't any windows to let in natural light except for the sky light. The pole to open and close the skylight was a dirty plastic pole with a screw in one end.
The power socket by the bed was coming away from the wall along with some TLC being required on the head board and skirting boards. The bathroom was small but did its job, with an interesting shelf above the sink and below the mirror which made cleaning your teeth and hitting the bowl an interesting challenge.
There's a fridge in the room which was great as we popped out to get some drinks and fresh milk.
The house behind the barn (albeit out of the B&Bs control) like to play loud music and the train takes a bit of gdtting used to.

The breakfast area is lovely and its a shame that it cant be used during the evening as a social point.
The cook (Aka reception lady) was great and produced a fantastic breakfast. The long dining table encourages social chatter with other guests.

A bit of TLC and thought to evening options would make this a great place. Probably would consider other options in the area before returning.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank RichardPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed from Friday 18 July to Monday 21 July, during a weekend of really hot weather, so it was delightful to stay in this garden chalet which opened onto a garden full of singing birds, rabbits on the grass, hammock and garden swing. The owner was very friendly and advised of a couple of places to eat. Staff were chatty, and friendly. The English breakfast was perfectly cooked and hot, coffee was good. Breakfast was served in an open area where guests were seated around a long table which encouraged conversations with other guests. Some guests may not like the fact that the bathroom area didn't have a door to it. A quirky, high standard stay.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a quiet part of the Barn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momot999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our first time in the Kent area. Loved the ambience and location of this property. Barn conversion is very interesting with quirky dining and lounge areas.
There are a variety of rooms for guests to select according to personal requirements. The secluded garden at the back is lovely.
The breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed meeting other guests. Staff were very friendly.
Room was very clean and comfortable beds.
I hope to return to the UK one day and would definitely stay there again. Good value for money.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Judi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed with our two boys (1&4) for two nights and it was fantastic.
Great spotless family room, staff were very welcoming polite pleasant.
Full cooked breakfast each day was REALLY good! Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelllS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Wonderful place to stay. Good sized clean room with comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast with good choice of food. Very friendly staff.
I will definitely return to Tonge Barn next time I stay in Sittingbourne and would have no hesitation in recommending to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zara E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sittingbourne
0.4 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
#5 of 6 in Sittingbourne
527 reviews
4.1 mi away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Golden Hope Hotel
The Golden Hope Hotel
#1 of 6 in Sittingbourne
87 reviews
8.8 mi away
Detling Coachhouse
Detling Coachhouse
#3 of 17 in Maidstone
230 reviews
10.2 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonge Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonge Barn

Address: Tonge Mill Church Road | Church Road Tonge, Sittingbourne ME9 9AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sittingbourne
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Sittingbourne
Price Range: £79 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tonge Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tonge near Sittingbourne is the setting for this Grade II listed 17th Century Tonge Barn which has recently been converted to form well appointed en-suite accommodation and function facilities. The Barn was formerly part of Tonge Mill Country Park and the Mill Pond whitch dates back to 450AD. The Tonge Barn is centrally located for accessibility to Sittingbourne, Faversham and Canterbury, and has its own beautifully landscaped gardens and car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Tonge Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonge Barn Sittingbourne, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing