We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holly House Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Tonge Barn(Sittingbourne)
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beaumont(Sittingbourne)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Golden Hope Hotel(Sittingbourne)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
45
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadnorth downslocal knowledgehome from homestay there againstayed two nightsbreakfast was deliciouscomfortable bedslovely roomjanekentpub
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Four of us stayed with Jane at Holly house during August 2012 while the Olympics were on. As previous reviewers have said, nothing was too much trouble for Jane at any time and she was a wonderful repository of local knowledge and advice, from places to eat to walking/running paths nearby. In the bigger picture, Jane researched the travel options for us to get to the Olympic venues and even had advice on parking at the station as well as a great deal of local tourism information!
The Holly House breakfast room is legendary in its diversity and Jane will happily accomodate all dietary requirements or tendencies and is very perceptive in noting what people like and do not like and she is justifiably proud of the high standard she sets.

The bedrooms are recently constructed and facilities in excellent condition. Jane also went out of her way to help us with the volume of luggage the four of us had for a longer holiday. She made us feel very much at home and that clearly has been the experience of other guests. We were able to use other rooms in the house to feel comfortable.
Holly House is set in the countryside and one would need a car to get around. It took a bit over an hour to drive from Heathrow. Sittingbourne has reasonable shopping options and again Jane's local knowledge and advice were accurate, unbiased and practical. This part of Kent is very pretty and it is close to seaside towns while still being an hour by train from London. The local village of Borden is very pretty and there is a pub an easy walk from Holly House!
It would be difficult to fault Holly House in any way and that is reflected in the Star ratings. I know this sounds like a paid review but it is all very genuine, like the proprietor herself.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JANORCROSS, Owner at Holly House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. It was wonderful to share the Olympics which such a smashing family.
I look forward to watching your sons progress - 2016 Rio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Very clean accommodation that was prepared beautifully and the room had everything necessary for a weekend stay. Jane was so welcoming and happy to chat over a cup of tea. Great breakfast too - nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pippa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JANORCROSS, Owner at Holly House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holly House and for your comments. I am pleased my home met with your approval. I am looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We decided to book a b&b approx. 4 hours before we were due at our friends 40th party in sitting borne! Being a family of 4 (2 adults, 1 six yr old & 1 ten yr old), this started to prove tricky as nowhere had a family room available or was so far away from the party venue that we may as well be back at home! Lucky for us we found holly house and phoned Jane who was so helpful and friendly and totally unfazed by us arriving in a very short space of time. We had a lovely room, great facilities, lots of room and some lovely home comforts. Nothing was too much trouble for Jane. Our children thought she was marvellous too. After a very comfortable nights sleep we woke to a great hearty breakfast and some great travelling tales from Jane. We could quite happily stayed for another night. Would definitely recommend holly house and hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burbs2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JANORCROSS, Owner at Holly House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Thank you for your kind words and that my home / room suited your family. It was lovely for me to meet you and have such a nice family to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Having been a guest at Holly House many times over the years, we have found the standards high and maintained as such. The perfect breakfasts, atmosphere and cleanliness are always of high quality. The host is charming and obliging

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JANORCROSS, Owner at Holly House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Thank you for your comments.I am pleased that my home has continued over the years to meet with your approval and satisfaction. It has always been a pleasure to have you to stay. I am looking forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My three sisters and I stayed here while attending a party in the area. This is a very welcoming house with comfortable beds and beautiful decoration. Jane is a most friendly woman and provides a great breakfast using local produce and even fruit from her own garden.She did everything to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Will definitely stay there again. There is even a park two minute walk away with an outdoor gym.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne50820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JANORCROSS, Owner at Holly House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. It was an absolute pleasure to look after you. I'm pleased that the stay in my home added to your party weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews